We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for NOT a lot of food!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dondero's

Dondero's
1571 Poipu Rd, 1571 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)
(808) 240-6456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dondero's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $6 - $42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Koloa
Cross street: Ainako
Description: Dondero’s, will satisfy your soul as well as your appetite. Combining elegant ambiance with stellar service makes this a dining favorite for those with discriminating taste. The menu features Italian classics with a fresh twist including a large selection of appetizers, homemade pastas, risotto, fresh fish and beef specialties. This delicious Italian cuisine is carefully paired with wines from all over the world. Delectable desserts and a cappuccino or port round out the repast.
Cranesville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Expensive for NOT a lot of food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very Expensive.......the portions are not big. Very disappointing. Stick with Tidepools instead. We had spaghetti...they offered us each one roll, spaghetti and large meatball. Sub-Par for $26.00 per plate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    91
    64
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great italian, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The food here is outstanding. We ate here twice during our eight-night visit. The service is impeccable. The view of the ocean is spectacular. Make sure you ask for a table outside on the patio.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiruru
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have eaten at the restaurant many times over the years and would recommend it as one of the best meals I've enjoyed. The service is also beyond excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waite Park, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not being a seafood/fish eater, I wanted something different, so we checked out some Italian dining right at our hotel at Dondero's. We ordered a mushroom risotto appetizer - it was wonderful! My husband ordered the lamb, and for someone who's totally into the fish and seafood, he said it was one of the best meals he had on the trip. I had the spaghetti bolognese, it was pretty good. The service was so-so here. Our waitresses assistant seemed unhappy to be at work, and the server was a little scattered, but friendly. We had to ask for bread a few times. Overall, it was a nice place that I would go back to.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“It was just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Being from Chicago we are spoiled with Italian food so this was rather disappointing. Just not really up top par. This is the one dinner restaurant on property we would probably not return to

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dondero's also viewed

 

Been to Dondero's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dondero's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.