We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tidepools

Tidepools
1571 Poipu Rd, 1571 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
(808) 240-6456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tidepools is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ainako
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Rocks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great stop for dinner. Unique seating and great menu. Service was superior.

The fish dishes we had were good as was the steak. Appetizers we amazing. The Calimari was awesome as were the scallops.

I was surprised by it. I'm not a big hotel restaurant fan but this feels special. No brainier if your in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    238
    120
    37
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Order the Mahi Mahi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place exceded my expectations. We all loved our crab cakes, the scallop appetizer, mahi mahi and husband's steak was perfection. Great service, romantic and fun to watch the koi jump our of the water.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, service & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

What can I say? The food, service and atmosphere are all excellent. Yes, there is a price to that, but worth it. You can make up for it with a cheap plate lunch at a local dive the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Upscale Food/Location but Children Diners can ruin the mood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Our four entrees were all very good...not a bite left. We then split a couple of their Molten Lava Cakes...these were worth the wait (if you know you want this preorder with your dinner).

Our server was fantastic...very professional and she had actually learned our name from the reservation so she called us by name all evening. She was attentive to the point that she took one our desserts off the bill...I think she felt guilty for not giving us as much attention at the end of our meal due to a huge party that started demanding her time. Very proactive for a server.

Finally, the atmosphere...outside sitting in a koi pond watching the fish, tropical breezes, and tiki torches is a very "hawaiian" way to spend an evening.

The only downside to our visit happened to be some of the other patrons. Despite being "upscale" we were surrounded by several tables that had younger, loud children whose parents let them misbehave with no thought of other diners...bit of a mood killer.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Really special place but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great food, excellent service and a beautiful location in the Grand Hyatt. Entertaining to watch all the koi in the pools. We had an excellent meal with fresh seafood and the crab cakes were to die for. My wife expressed that the mango salad was outstanding. However, all this came at a price. Probably the most expensive meal we've ever had - but then we could have skipped that bottle of wine. Highly recommend for that "special occasion".

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidepools also viewed

 

Been to Tidepools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidepools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.