We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tidepools

Tidepools
1571 Poipu Rd, 1571 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
(808) 240-6456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tidepools is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ainako
Glendale, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a very good meal here. The crab cakes were great as well as the fresh fish. Great location too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    238
    119
    37
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal On Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We ate at most of the top restaurants while on Kauai, and the best food was at Tidepools. This restaurant is in a lovely setting at the beautiful Hyatt, which is worth seeing itself. It's expensive, but the food was excellent. It has a chocolate molten cake for dessert which was a big hit with my crowd. The Beach House was my favorite restaurant because of the location, but my best meal was at Tidepools.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great environment, encircled by lagoon; great prime rib and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

See my comments for all the best of this resort hotel especially the saltwater lagoon, waterside, Tidepools Restaurant and the ocean view!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“best attraction--feeding the fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

beautiful but very expensive for not so wonderful food. i have never been impressed with this place except for its looks. have not been back in a while but then again, i have not been to the bank to pay for a meal here either. there is nothing wonderful or innovative about the food. ask the waiter for fish food. feeding the fish is the best part of the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, beautiful atmosphere, expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Restaurant built over a man made lagoon, beautiful views from every table. The food was gourmet, fresh seafood was our fare of choice. Note shirts with sleeves required, and the prices are quite high.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidepools also viewed

 

Been to Tidepools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidepools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.