We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill

Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill
2360 Kiahuna Plantation Dr, Poipu Shopping Village, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
808 742 5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Everything was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Dinner date: February 3, 2013
Location: Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill
My husband and I had dinner at Roy's last night. The food was average (we had the fish duo and the scallops), both raging between 35-40 dollars each. The place was somewhat disappointing and we were not impressed by the service either. It sure reminded us that we were at a chain restaurant.
It is just a matter of expectations, the food was good enough but for the price and reviews, we expected more. We have been to Roy's in Honolulu and the experience was different.

Positive: the dessert was delicious (pineapple tart with vanilla ice-cream)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    254
    133
    73
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unique flavors/Attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed the edimame dish - it was a good starter with justr the right amount of flavor. The BLT salads were delicious. My chicken breasts were perfection - absolutely tender and perfect in flavor and texture. Was disappointed that the spincah was replaced with a crab risotto cake - I was apprehensive, but the waiter assured me it would not be fishy - and he was right - it was delicate and not overpowering. My husbands meatloaf suffered from an overabundance of garlic and it stayed with him for almost 24 hours. Someone missed that out of the kitchen for sure!. He loves garlic, but this just additive because the mashed potatoes were garlic riddled too. Dessert included coconut creme brulee for me and apple volcano for my husband. Both were delicious and a perfect ending with a cup of Kona coffee. This is a must visit if you are on Kauai!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not impressive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hostess was rushed and inattentive. The other staff members (who filled our water and cleared away the dishes) were helpful and solicitious.
The dish that we ordered - seared tofu - was not seared and not marinated and not even warmed up. I have eaten tofu at many restaurants around the country and had it deliciously prepared. Roy's tofu dish was extremely disappointing.
Since this restaurant has received so many awards, I would have expected EVERY dish on the menu to be special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fish and vegetarian - WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our first dinner stop...but only because we were exhausted and it was close. SURPIRSE...it was delicious. So impressed we went back for a second visit. Second verse, same as the first. One of the staff members remembered us almost a week later! Their sauces are incredible, fish always done to perfection and the hearts of palm entre...wonderful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been going to Roy's for a special treat for years. Recently, we celebrated birthdays and an anniversary there and it did not disappoint. Each person was delighted with their meal and Roy's added a special greeting. We tried several different things and each was delicious. It is so nice that year in and year out they maintain their reputation for very good food and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Poipu Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.