We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Restaurant

Beach House Restaurant
5022 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9618
+1 808-742-1424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $7 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Known as "one of the most romantic restaurants in the world," this breathtaking oceanfront, open-air restaurant has earned the prestigious Honolulu Magazine's Hale Aina's Best Restaurant award, 15 years in a row. Other notable achievements are Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and Zagat Survey's "Recognized for Excellence" award. The restaurant boasts a progressive Pacific Rim cuisine with an Asian influence. If you are looking for a memorable dining experience, be it lunch or dinner, the BEACH HOUSE offers it all: food, service, an extensive wine list and a spectacular view. Vegetarian, Gluten Free, Children Menus Available
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The view from the restaurant is wonderful and it is all open to the ocean! Try to get a reservation during sunset!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    1,148
    469
    270
    146
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“love the Thai-style crab cakes n the fresh yummy fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very well-run restaurant with a huge team of friendly and well-trained servers. We went on a whim without reservation, since we happened to be sightseeing nearby n I've been recommended this place by a friend. So we were feeling lucky that we got a table at all without waiting, on a Saturday night, even though it was right at the end corner of the restaurant. Sunset view is okay, there are better sunsets elsewhere, though it is perfect combined with the yummy fresh seafood :) I enjoyed the wasabi-crusted Opah (moon fish) VERY much. The broad-billed swordfish served with black rice n Thai curry was also yummy. The highlight for me were the excellent Thai-style crab cakes, really superb balance of flavors n texture!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunset Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Tasty cuisine, nice server, but my steak & asparagus arrived cold. They apologized and "comped" us 2 desserts, both appropriate and appreciated. Exquisite view, but a little pricey at $43 for steak.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our wedding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fabulous food, great service. Beautiful table set-up. All the staff were very welcoming and accomodating to our needs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schaumburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Get there early to enjoy cocktails and the view and photo opportunities from the ocean front lawn off the lounge area. Good variety of menu selections, and can't go wrong with any of the fresh fish options. Salads are huge, we split a small caesar salad, and it was plenty. Good wine list, and ask for a table on the restaurant perimeter to enjoy the outdoor air, and ocean ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.