We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Bay B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poipu Bay B&B
1663 Keleka Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Poipu B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Special and Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We wanted a special and memorable place to stay in Kauai for our anniversary and milestone birthdays. We found it at the Poipu Bay B&B. Luxurious, comfortable, intimate, friendly, romantic, are just a few of the adjectives to describe this wonderful place. The private lanai was one of our favorite spots, where we spent many evenings enjoying a bottle of wine and marveling at the lush surroundings. Dan and Lynette are charming and attentive hosts who make you feel like part of the family. Lynette's outstanding breakfasts were the highlight of the day, and Dan's lattes were a real treat. We appreciated their knowledge of the island and on-target recommendations for activities that suited our interests. We thank Dan, Lynette, and their adorable dog Kila for helping us fall in love with Kauai.

Room Tip: We loved the Pool Terrace Suite, which became our home away from home for nine days. Very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipubaybnb, Owner at Poipu Bay B&B, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous words, we truly enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you again soon.

Dan, Lynette and Kila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a wonderful, wonderful place. The cottage and grounds were so relaxing, we couldn't have asked for anything more. Listening to the wind in the palm trees and the light music playing in the backyard felt like I was at a spa. Dan and Lynette were very nice and gave great advice as to where to go in Kauai. The beach was only a 5 minute walk away, and they lent us all that we needed to sit out and enjoy the beach. We couldn't ask for more with a pool, hammock, lounge chairs, hot tub and amazing breakfasts. We hope to come back and definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I LOVE this B&B and cannot recommend it highly enough. The room was gorgeous, the grounds beautifully landscaped, and Dan and Lynette (the owners) are warm, friendly, and engaging to talk with. Lynette's breakfasts were the best meals we had during our stay on the island, and Dan's lattes are top-notch. The location is fantastic - a quick drive to several beach and right next to the Hyatt. My only regret is that we only stayed 2 nights - we could have easily stayed several more nights. Staying at this B&B was the perfect start to our honeymoon. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller room - it was plenty of space for us and had a gorgeous outdoor area with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipubaybnb, Owner at Poipu Bay B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Wow, thank you you so much, We do tend to get attached to our guests, it was so nice to get to know you, please come again soon.

Always,
Dan, Lynette, and Kila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We measure a B&B by the degree you can remember the experience months later. So we could now arrive at the Poipu Bay B&B and feel like we never left. Dan would be up the tree applying a machete to coconuts, Kila escorting us to the Bungalow (and wondering why we left), and Lynette checking if we had enough towels for the beach or a relaxing swim. Awesome hospitality, local flavor permeates the scrumptious breakfasts, and truly gracious innkeepers.

Yes, the other reviews for this B&B are all true. Stop looking and stay here. A few tips - do hike the Kalalau trail, rent a jeep to visit Pohalie state park, and climb the cliffs past the Grand Hyatt and hike to Mahaulepu beach. Oh and try the taco stand on Hanalei Bay.

Room Tip: Select the Bungalow to truly disconnect and be closer to the banana trees for a snack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipubaybnb, Owner at Poipu Bay B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your gracious review, it was so wonderful having you and we hope to see you again soon.

sincerely,
Dan, Lynette, and Kila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldtown, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

By far the best B&B we have ever stayed at. We planned our anniversary on Kawai because we had never been to that island before. Dan and Lynette's B&B is in a great location, where we felt we had easy access to everything we wanted to do. This included deep sea fishing out of Port Allen, about 30 minutes away from the House (caught a 180 pound Yellow fin tuna). We did the helicopter tour of the Island, about 30 minutes from the house. We snorkeled in Poipu Bay and saw a lot of tropical fish, seals, and sea turtles within walking distance. It is a short walk to Ship Wreck Bay where we enjoyed fine dining at Tide Pools, and great walks on the beach. We also enjoyed nearby golf courses, hiking trails, and exploring the island. But the one thing my wife and I enjoyed most was waking up and having a great breakfast to start the day. Lynette made something different every day, and we couldn't wait to see what was next (it was all excellent). My favorite was the sliced almond French toast with coconut syrup. My wife loved the fresh bananas and papayas pick fresh from the yard in the fruit salad every morning and Dan’s fancy custom made “hibiscus flower” design latte. Lynette and Dan thoroughly enjoy what they do and made our stay outstanding. We are already planning our trip back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location, fabulous food and hosts Dan and Lynette are very knowledgable about the island. Dan's special latte's made to order every morning were a highlight as well as the beautiful gardens, hot tub and pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After reviewing all the wonderful reviews we decided to stay here for a few days. We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast and were on our honeymoon so concerned about privacy. Not to worry, this was a perfect experience! We had total privacy other than a shared breakfast which was very enjoyable. Like all the other satisfied customers you will not be disappointed in fabulous food and yummy lattes complete with artistic designs of Dan's daily imagination! If you need him to put on his concierge glasses he has no hesitation moving into this mode! Dan and Lynette are really super people, warm, sincere and engaging. We had a fabulous experience with them, their beautiful place and the central location. We are already planning a return trip!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipubaybnb, Owner at Poipu Bay B&B, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Aloha from your little garden Isle,
we so enjoyed having you as our guests and thank you so much for your generous review.
Looking forward to your next visit, please come soon.

Dan, Lynette, Kila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poipu Bay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Bay B&B

Address: 1663 Keleka Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air Conditioning, 350 yards from beach,Shares property line with Grand Hyatt and Anara Spa, Private luxurious 600sqft suite with private entrance, a full bath and king size bed. Surrounded by tropical gardens with a private pool and hot tub. Private 275 sq ft patio/pool terrace, top of the line amenities, ten-foot ceilings, private out door shower and garden views. Second suite: detached bungalow, secluded private patio, hammock, outdoor shower, slate floors, granite counter tops, two person shower with double shower heads.Four guest maximum sets the stage for romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Bay B&B Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Bay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poipu Bay B&B to your Saves list