We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Bay B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poipu Bay B&B
1663 Keleka Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last min March-May deals
Ranked #1 of 2 Poipu B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This may be advertised as a B and B, but it is so much more. Dan and Lynette welcome you into their home for breakfast, make sure you have what you need, and give great advice on what to do. Plus they share their dog with you!
The property is immaculate, and they are always looking for ideas to make things even better. Dan was installing a hot tub while we were there, and was always asking for input to make our stay even better. We had a hard time thinking of anything! Breakfasts are so filling all you need are some snacks until dinner. The property location is fantastic, a short walk to the beach, and centrally located for day tips. We were able to easily hike Waimea Canyon one day, and get to the north coast to hike there the next.
We definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipubaybnb, Owner at Poipu Bay B&B, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you Paul and VIckie! The hot tub is in and hopefully up and running today. We enjoyed getting to know you both and would love to host you again sometime. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Konni and I returned to Kauai for the first time in 34 years where we spent our honeymoon. We have been traveling & staying in B&B's since we have been empty nesters the past 5 years. Dan & Lynette's Poipu Bay is the best one we have been to. We stayed in the bungalow which was great, although the pool terrace suite looks nice as well. Lynette had incredible breakfasts for us, a pleasurable different treat for all 6 days we were there! And us being from Seattle, would like to commend Dan on his superb lattes! When you feel right at home, together with the relaxing serene privacy if you choose, this makes this B&B stand out from the crowd. We hope Dan & Lynette visit us in Seattle. They are wonderful people and great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipubaybnb, Owner at Poipu Bay B&B, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you! Thank you for the kind words and we hope you don't take another 30+ years to make it back to Kauai :) ~Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 15th Anniversary. In the past, I've had very good luck finding high-end B&B's on Tripadvisor (along with the and old fashioned web surfing). Once again I scored and I'm so glad I found Poipu Bay B&B! From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were treated by every conceivable amenity and kindness. I must emphasize here that the truly excellent breakfasts and conversations with our hosts and other guests were just top notch. In my mind, it's those types of memories in particular that make a vacation seem more genuine and real.

The beach and the Hyatt were about a 2 minute walk away and there was always the beautiful sound of wind and waves coming into our Pool Terrace Suite. Dan has a passion for roasting coffee and being from the Pacific Northwest (and my husband a happy imbiber as well), I am happy to say that we delighted in helping him critique and perfect his signature brews. Lynette is a wellspring of information and bakes/cooks like nobody's business! :-) I cannot recommend them more highly and can't imagine staying anywhere else should I return Kauai. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home and the true meaning of Aloha!

Room Tip: The pool terrace suite is the larger of the two options, but the bungalow is more intimate. Rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for 1 week for our 1 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the detached bungalow.

The pictures don't do this place justice. Everything about Dan and Lynette's property is stunning. The room itself is perfect, the outside patio area is a great place to relax, and the dual shower head in the stone shower is really great. The bed is very comfortable. I can't say this enough: it is a beautiful space.

Dan and Lynette may be the nicest people I've ever met. Lynette's gourmet breakfasts each morning were worth the cost of the rooms by themselves, and Dan's lattes are legendary. They give you the perfect mix of gracious hospitality and respecting your privacy. While we were there, a tsunami warning was issued after an earthquake off the coast of Alaska. Dan and Lynette invited us up to their place, turned on the news and made us tea. We were never in any real danger but they offered to pack up their van and drive us to higher ground if we were nervous. They are such wonderful and caring people. You will feel right at home.

There are two beautiful beaches within a mile, the closest being Shipwreck Beach a few hundred yards away. The sunrise from Shipwreck is stunning. The Hyatt next door has some great restaurants and features a luau. There are a myriad of fun events to do within 20 minutes of driving, so you'll never be bored.

And then there is Kila, Dan and Lynette's dachshund/chihuahua mix. If you are a dog lover you will fall in love with this little princess. She is sweet and playful! We missed our small dog terribly and Kila filled a little bit of that void.

All in all we loved this place and the hosts. If you want a more personal atmosphere and the feeling of staying at a friend's house instead of an isolated room in some hotel. Stay at Poipu Bay Bed and Breakfast. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipubaybnb, Owner at Poipu Bay B&B, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aoha,
Miss you guys, was having tea last night with Kila and Sporto and remembering our friends From San Jose, the weather has been a little cooler lately ( high 70's) so we get to wear sweaters in the evening, wow! winter is here.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Dan, Lynette( Sporto ) and Kila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As Kauai residents, we enjoy getaways to special places. We’ve tried most B&B’s on the island…and this most certainly is THE BEST B&B! We loved the spacious Pool Terrace Suite with the wonderful covered lanai for lounging. Since we didn’t do much sightseeing, we spent plenty of time in the delightful pool area, which seems like your own private resort. It is easy to walk to many beautiful locations nearby. The breakfasts are surfer sized, imaginative and beyond delicious. We especially enjoyed talking story with Lynette and Dan who really put their hearts into their B&B, as well as the community by mentoring local youths. They share true Aloha hospitality. You will be charmed by the hostess doggie, Kila, as well. At Poipu Bay B&B, you’ll love coming “home” from touring to just hang loose and savor time in this tropical oasis.

Room Tip: While the Bungalow is charming, romantic and cozy, we'd recommend the multi-roomed Pool Terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've stayed here 3 times in the past 3 years - we just love it, so we keep coming back! We've stayed in both the Bungalow as well as the Pool Terrace and have really enjoyed them both. They each have their own unique vibe about them.

Dan & Lynette (along with Kila - the cute & friendly Dachshund) are kind, welcoming, fun, accommodating, and give great advice for any questions you may have! We saved quite a bit in gear (beach towels, chairs, boards) as well as every morning with the most AMAZING breakfast we've ever had.

The walk to the beach is short along with a gorgeous pathway. The pool and lounge area at this B&B is more beautiful than any resort, and it's very comfortable and relaxing. The beds & linens are exceptional - we've actually been talking about getting the same ones for our house!

You'd be missing out if you didn't stay here. Not to mention the location (south shore) is the perfect place on the island - always sunny, in the middle of all the activities, tours, dining, shopping - while still giving you the peaceful, quiet paradise that you think of when you say "Hawaii..."

Room Tip: South shore on Kauai is much more happening than any other place on the island. It has the beauty, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and stayed at the Poipu Bay B&B at the end of August 2012 for our honeymoon. (Lynette and Dan, sorry for the late review!) We had decided to go to Kauai, and when we were searching for a place to stay, we spent HOURS trying to find the perfect place. We looked at hotels, resorts, and B&Bs. Since it was our honeymoon, we wanted to stay in a luxurious, beautiful place. After reading the reviews for a lot of the nicer hotels and resorts on the island, we came to the conclusion that they were crowded, full of families (fine, but not ideal for a romantic honeymoon!), expensive and... without breakfast! My Italian husband LOVES American breakfast, so this was a major con for the hotels. I suggested staying in a B&B, but my then fiance' did not like the idea at first because he thought of B&Bs as kitchy and certainly not fancy enough for a honeymoon!

And then he randomly stumbled upon the Poipu Bay B&B.

It was love at first sight! As we looked at the pictures, it seemed too good to be true. It was very different from the other B&Bs we had seen pictures of on the island. Poipu Bay seemed beautiful, classy and luxurious - perfect for a honeymoon. We were especially enticed by the separate Bungalow, the pool and ... the breakfasts complete with lattes!

When we arrived, we were not disappointed. From the moment we got there, we were welcomed with utmost hospitality by Lynette & Dan, the owners. We were in awe of the impeccably landscaped grounds. From the front, the house looks pretty, but normal. Then you take a little path around the side to the back and it opens up into a tropical paradise. The little Bungalow set a little apart from the main house has it's own entrance. It was beautifully furnished and clean complete with a Keurig coffee maker, his & hers sinks and an enormous, gorgeous stone shower with two shower heads. We could not have asked for a more luxurious room, and I am 100% sure that even if a resort we would not have had a room that nice.

The Bungalow has two entrances in reality, a regular door from the path and on the other side, a sliding glass door which opened up to the pool area. Just around the corner there is an outdoor shower and a private patio complete with comfy outdoor furniture and a hammock. Dan's fabulous landscaping has created a lot of little nooks in the yard so that you feel like you have complete and total privacy. Near the pool there are also lounge chairs and umbrellas. You have free access to the pool, which was so nice. Even though other guests were staying there while we were there, we only saw them a couple of times and we had a lot more privacy than we would have had at a large hotel.

And oh, the breakfasts! Every morning, we went up to the main house (also gorgeous!) where we were welcomed by Lynette, Dan and Kila (Keila? Not sure of the spelling!), their cute dog! Lynette is a fantastic cook and she prepared the most incredible breakfasts! They always included fresh tropical juice and fruit, hot, freshly baked muffins or pancakes and some type of egg dish. Some of our favorites were egg and artichoke souffles, ham and egg cups and the banana coconut muffins! Trust me, you will not find this kind of quality breakfast in a hotel. Dan would make us lattes (latte macchiatos!), entertaining us by always interpreting the unintentional "foam art" that appeared. We really enjoyed just relaxing and chatting with them every morning! We still miss those breakfasts!

Finally, Dan and Lynette offered everything you might need - beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, bug spray, plenty of toiletries, coffee in the room, ice, etc. They are some of the sweetest people you will ever meet. We have nothing but good things to say about Poipu Bay B&B and we would HIGHLY recommend it. It is also in a very good location, within walking or short driving distance to beaches and even restaurants). Sound too good to be true? It's not. It was truly the most romantic, luxurious, peaceful, private and relaxing vacation ever - and the perfect honeymoon. We could not have asked for more and we hope to return some day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poipu Bay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Bay B&B

Also Known As:
Poipu Bay B&B Kauai
Address: 1663 Keleka Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air Conditioning, 350 yards from beach,Shares property line with Grand Hyatt and Anara Spa, Private luxurious 600sqft suite with private entrance, a full bath and king size bed. Surrounded by tropical gardens with a private pool and hot tub. Private 275 sq ft patio/pool terrace, top of the line amenities, ten-foot ceilings, private out door shower and garden views. Second suite: detached bungalow, secluded private patio, hammock, outdoor shower, slate floors, granite counter tops, two person shower with double shower heads.Four guest maximum sets the stage for romantic getaways. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Bay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poipu Bay B&B to your Saves list