We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to great beaches and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach to your Saves list
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   2307 Nalo Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake Tapps, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Walking distance to great beaches and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We love Kauai but this was our first time staying on the south shore. We will be back. The ocean view suite was even better than it looked in the video. Our only complaint was the missing coffee grinder but Gail solved that for us too! The grounds are gorgeous and lanai with a sunset view and the trade winds made our BBQs a treat. The location was perfect. Even the rocky cove at the end of the street held a swarm of sea turtles that we snorkeled with on our last evening. Can't wait to return next year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for your perfect score in evaluating your stay with us. We appreciate your coming to us to ask about a missing item, which we were able to replace right away. Hope to see you again soon at Hideaway! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
101
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first trip to Poipu, and the location of Hideaway Cove was wonderful. The small complex is carefully tended, the grounds are lovely, and the units are well appointed.
The Beachcomber is on the ground floor, and has everything one might need for a comfortable stay. It is quite dark, but it's also nice and cool - so that worked for us. The sound transfer from the adjoining suite was significant. We could hear every word that another guest yelled at her family in the mornings. That was a bit unlucky, but it would only happen if you had inconsiderate guests next door.
On the whole, the room and the location and very, very good - and we'd love to go back again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Happy to hear you had a good time and would return. Next visit, please let us know immediately of issues like darkness (dimmers needed to be turned up) and noise (housekeeping neglected to insert sound insulation baffle between double doors). We are very responsive to guest issues. Hope to see you back again soon! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wild West
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked into the Beachcomber studio at Hideaway Cove Poipu based on the excellent reviews we had read on trip advisor. Its location near lovely Poipu Beach is really good, the grounds are lush with flora, and the amenities in the unit are everything one would need for self catering. The problem for us was that we found the unit dingy and it smelled musty after being closed up for the day, so we didn't want to spend much time there. We had to close the curtain over the patio doors to have privacy from the occasional person walking by outside. The only windows are on the patio side, so the unit was quite dark inside and had no flow through of air. The little patio felt very closed in by the wall of foliage surrounding it. We also felt that there was too much stuff inside the unit (a loveseat, large, heavy coffee table, big bedside tables, large TV unit) so it felt crowded. There was no change-out of bath towels over 6 nights, and the three towels that we had (for two people), never seemed to completely dry out after usage. The bathroom is small with very little counter space to place toiletries.We had friends staying in the area in much better accommodations, for not too much more money, so we felt the Beachcomber studio was overpriced.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool and no room service as it is set up for self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us. Most all of your issues could have been solved had you contacted us during your stay. Although we have three washers/dryers with free detergent on property, we'd have gladly switched out your towels had you asked. Many of the lights are on dimmers, so were probably not turned up. Windows above sliding doors can be opened for more air circulation. The overwhelming majority of our guests find it to be a great value because of the air conditioning, Jacuzzi tub, HDTV, king bed, granite counters, walk in closet, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, British Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is our second stay at Hideaway Cove in Poipu. This time we stayed in the Royal Palm. Our first visit I gave it 4 stars as sometimes I find the first time everything seems perfect when it necessarily isn't. This time I gave it 5 stars because I am sure now it deserves that rating. Herb and Gale and very accommodating and extremely helpful. I don't think you can beat the location if you are staying in Poipu. 5 minute walk to Brennecke's beach and 7 to Poipu beach. Spend your time boggie boarding at Brenneckes or relaxing and snorkeling at Poipu beach. Sun always seems to be out there compared to the other side of the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Happy to hear your second stay with us reinforced your impression from the first visit. Thank you for increasing your rating from four stars to five stars. We work really hard on every aspect of our business and it's always nice to learn that our guests appreciate our attention to every little detail. Looking forward to seeing you on your third visit! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

the location is so close to the beach. the house is clean and well equipped. the beds were so comfy. every room has a separate air conditioner so you can control the temp by room. we had our 21 month old and she did great. property mgmt suggested a place to rent all equipment i needed for our daughter so we didn't have to bring anything with us. the grounds for the property is so lovely and well kept. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your five star review of our property. Glad to hear you appreciated the individual room controls for the air conditioning, it does make a difference when you travel with little ones. Our comfy beds are the result of purchasing top of the line mattresses with pillow toppers. I'm always working to improve the appearance of our landscaping, which is no small task with over a half acre. Happy to hear the efforts are noticed. Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This place is immaculate! Full kitchen (for those who would prefer to cook) with large dining table/area and huge living room with incredible views. TVs in all the bedrooms and living room with the most exquisite shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotions we've seen anywhere in the world, all on the house. My wife is way into lotions and natural products as she's worked in the massage and skin care industry for over 20 yrs, and she was incredibly impressed with the quality, seemingly barring no expense for the skin and hair care health of anyone who stays at Hideaway Cove.

The attention to detail is evident not only in the accommodatons, but the grounds are pristinely groomed with gardens and walkways throughout of exquisite tropical and botanical reverance. The owners have an obvious passion and pride in providing the very best experience for every guest as even the laundry room has some of the finest appliances I've ever used anywhere.

Hideaway Cove has some amazing views and is truly only an easy 1/2 block walk to the water. We cooked as well as dined out while there but found the ambiance better at Hideaway Cove than the mediocre food at expensive hotels and local rated restauranst we tried. The Grand Hyatt is great for their meticulous gardens and spa, that you can tour on your own and have a drink, but the food there was far less than 'grand' at their restaurant venues. If you can cook at all at home, Hideaway Cove provides absolutely the perfect kitchen and BBQ you need.

Herb and Gale are the best hosts ever!!!! Not only do they send out regular newsletters about the island and travel ideas, but once you get there they are the most helpful ever! Best snorkling place, they'll map it out for you. Where to shop for anything you need...they know where. Best restaurants if you care to dine out, they know them all. Their pride of ownership and dedication to incredible service is genuine, from the heart and second to no-one of anywhere we've traveled in the world.

You can't help but enjoy your stay at Hideaway Cove!

Room Tip: Great for small families or Girls Vacatons (3 bdr's - a master, one double and one with 2 single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Wow, your review of your stay with us covered just about every aspect of our business and was very much appreciated. We work very hard every day on all the little details, so to have someone really notice that attention is rewarding. Hope to see you again soon! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Two couples sharing the Aloha suite for 2 weeks at the end of Feb 2014, and we found it to be spacious , well equipped and clean. The landscaping on site is superb. It is not ocean front but is a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say you enjoyed your stay with us. The Aloha Two Bedroom where you stayed is our only accommodation with ten foot ceilings and has special meaning for me. Prior to our purchasing the building, it was a long term rental and I stayed in it twenty years ago when I first arrived on Kauai. Please come back and see us again in the not too distant future! Aloha, Herb and Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach

Address: 2307 Nalo Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Cove is located a short five minute walk to Poipu Beach here on the sunny south shore of Kauai.Each of our studio, one, two, three and five bedroom accommodations features air conditioning, a kitchen, HDTVs in the living room and all bedrooms plus beds with pillow top mattresses and Egyptian cotton sheets. There is a a stainless steel gas barbecue with side burner on each private lanai. We also have off street parking, high speed wi-fi property wide, the use of a computer and printer 24/7 in our office, on site concierge services, beach chairs, beach towels and coolers, plus the use of laundry rooms with detergent and dryer sheets. All are complimentary.We've been welcoming guests to Poipu Beach since 1999 and hope to meet you here at Hideaway Cove at some time in the future!Aloha from Kauai,Herb and Gale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.