We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure and buy the trip insurance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach to your Saves list
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   2307 Nalo Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Be sure and buy the trip insurance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My father died, literally, the day before we were to check in. Herb and Gale offered us a modest discount on a rebooking, but were insistent on keeping our $2500 according to their inflexible cancellation policy.

It would be advisable to consider trip insurance a necessary part of the trip, since compassion is clearly not a part of their business model.

We stayed with them once before, and had a wonderful time. The dolphin suite had AC, was very comfortable. We were sure and stop by Costco or Wal-Mart on the way from the airport to save lots of money from eating out.

The only remotely negative thing I have to say about our stay was that the snorkels did not have nose valves. That's pretty good.

We were excited about making another trip, but had to cancel without a refund. We will not be staying with them again.

Room Tip: Dolphin suite (really only one big room) was very nice. We had not problems with neighbor noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hideaway Man, Owner at Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It is very painful for us to lose a loyal customer under these circumstances. As small business owners, it is impossible for us to take a loss every time one of our guests suffers misfortune. That’s why our cancellation policy is clearly stated and we recommend in writing to every guest that they obtain trip cancellation insurance. Our deepest sympathies go out to this family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
101
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My new husband and I spent our very short honeymoon at Hideaway Cove in Poipu. Herb and Gale had our suite, the Coral Villa (1 bedroom), all set for our arrival. With guidebooks on things to do, a welcome note to have us begin our stay, a Romantic Music CD awaiting to be played in the CD player,delicious juice in the fridge, and the lovely Champagne awaiting our celebration into marriage, they thought of everything! We unfortunately did not get to meet Herb and Gale as they were on their vacation at the time, but felt if we needed anything, we would not be forgotten. The gardens surrounding the suite are lush and tropical - we saw a gardener there almost everyday! It definitely felt like an oasis after spending all day being tourists and going around the island. The suite was clean and comfortable, and the lanai was stocked with a table to sit outside and enjoy the tropical breeze, along with beach chairs and a cooler for the time not spent there. It was definitely hard to leave.

Room Tip: Our suite, the Coral Villa, was private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed in the Beachcomber studio in 10/11. And I still often think about how great the stay was (it's now 3/12). :)
Excellent inn. Great location. Mellow feel. Quiet street. High-end fixtures from top to bottom. The bed is so plush, the kitchen is well-appointed, bathroom and its fluffy towels and range of lotion and shampoos were great. That check-in juice is awesome! Seriously delish.
Wish we could have stayed longer and would love to have met Herb and Gale = they seem like the kind of people you want to hang out with, they did such a great job making the HC feel like a home.
The common laundry area was a great plus & the newer machines cleaned your clothes in no time. Parking in front was perfect. All the amenities you could ever need.
The only thing I might mention was that there was a large, older, wooden bureau in our walk-in closet that took up a lot of space and made it slightly awkward to maneuver around. Maybe an inexpensive, built-in, stacked shelving unit on the hanging side could open the closet up a little more and allow for a small bench for sorting and packing = same storage for less space and a more open feel.
We'll be back for sure. HC is paradise in paradise. Mahalo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Sask. canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We just returned( Feb.10 to the 18th) from staying at the Hide away cove the dolphin Studio, which is a wonderful. When we arrived there was a note from Gale and Herb inviting us to our new place.The tropical juice in the fridge was so refreshing. The bed was so comfortable, the place so clean and everything you could want to enjoy your holiday. The utensils stocked in the kitchen had everything you need to cook a great meal. The bbq on the lanai was clean and if you ran out of propane there was extra tanks. We didn't use Gale's service as Kauai was our last week and we only wanted to go to the beach which was 5 min walk. The beach chair and coolers supplied along with ice packs was an extra we didn't
expect. We will return again as we loved this place. Would like a one bedroom as it just gives you a little more space. Thanks Gale and Herb for this wonderful service you supply.
Barry &Shirley

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Hideaway Cove was amazing , I'm ready to move to Poipu. We stayed in the Seabreeze two bedroom, two bath with an ocean view and we loved it, from the moment we walked in. The place was huge, the balcony very large with large ocean views from everywhere, hardwood floors, HDTV in living room, private parking place right next to unit, and most importantly was the hot tub with an ocean view. Were else can you enjoy a private 100 degree maintained hot tub overlooking the ocean, with jets the massage your every body part after a long day of adventure. We loved the full kitchen to cook in and the stainless steel barbecue on the covered lanai with a view, after a week on the island its nice to grill up some of your own locally bought food. The location was very convenient to the beach and shops and anything else you can think of. This was not our first time staying at Hideaway Cove and will definitely not be the last, we are already planning another trip and planning to sat at Hideaway Cove in 2012.

Room Tip: The Seabreeze two bedroom, two bath is amazing with an ocean view and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Where do you start, with a place like Hideaway Cove on a trip like this. Our expectations were high for our honeymoon and Herb and Gale did not disappoint. We arrived September 7th and dropped our bags..and jaws. In a word...incredible. The Coral room was just so nice! Very clean and had a great shower with glass block and all really neatly appointed. Very comfortable bed, but the coolest thing was the private deck/porch in front. We got fresh caught fish from the market in Koloa town on our first night and never looked back. The marinades they provide with the catch will make you want to eat in every night...and love it. If your grill tank runs out they have replacements. There is absolutely not one thing wrong with this place. We beached it every day and came back to our cool condo, spun up a few cocktails and poo-poos, walked down to the beach to watch the sunset, and grilled our meal on the great BBQ they provide on your private porch. Amazing. Gale helped us out on our arrival day and hooked us up with the greatest activities at a huge discount..heli tour (go with Blue Hawaiian Helicopters), Luau, day sail on the Na'Pali coast (go with Holo Holo Charters..the best!), and use Gale's snorkel package...best deal for the money, and she has an underwater digital camera to photograph the sea turtles...a do-not-miss moment. Get the whole snorkeling package..you won't be sorry.
All in all, just a wonderful place to stay. Laundry on site and most importantly, it is a quiet refuge for an awesome vacation. These folks know how to run a vacation spot...they are just real nice peeps and your comfort and happiness are their first priority. We will be coming back. Soon. Cheers to you, Herb and Gale!!

Room Tip: Coral room is on the ground floor but never heard the people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This property is run by a couple and there are seven units on the property of different sizes and features. The property itself is very compact but very nicely landscaped considering the small area that it occupies.

We were able to get the OceanView suite which is the only one that has an ocean view. You are looking over rooftops but still have a decent view. Thankfully, the bedrooms are air-conditioned as fall is the time it gets humid in Kuai'i. Sleeping was wonderful. The other areas are not and they were warm and uncomfortable after baking in the afternoon sun, but I could always retreat to the bedroom. They were fine in the morning with the breezes.

Unlike other condo rentals, each unit here has it's own gas grill. Very nice, instead of having to grill in a common area. Beach chairs, towels and coolers are provided. You can rent other beach apparel.

Poipu Beach is a short walk away.

Right next to Hideaway Cove is the restaurant, Amici's. The only problem that this presents is that they close late and make all sorts of noise dumping their trash in the dumpster as they clean up.
We did end up eating there once and it was quite nice.

Gale also runs a tour booking business as well and has lots of good information to share.

Note: No Pool

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview ( but it is the most expensive ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach

Address: 2307 Nalo Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Cove is located a short five minute walk to Poipu Beach here on the sunny south shore of Kauai.Each of our studio, one, two, three and five bedroom accommodations features air conditioning, a kitchen, HDTVs in the living room and all bedrooms plus beds with pillow top mattresses and Egyptian cotton sheets. There is a a stainless steel gas barbecue with side burner on each private lanai. We also have off street parking, high speed wi-fi property wide, the use of a computer and printer 24/7 in our office, on site concierge services, beach chairs, beach towels and coolers, plus the use of laundry rooms with detergent and dryer sheets. All are complimentary.We've been welcoming guests to Poipu Beach since 1999 and hope to meet you here at Hideaway Cove at some time in the future!Aloha from Kauai,Herb and Gale ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.