We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nihi Kai 833” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nihi Kai Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nihi Kai Villas to your Saves list
Nihi Kai Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1870 Hoone Road, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nihi Kai 833”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After climbing up the narrow staircase we opened the door and said WOW! This unit was remodeled 4 years ago and showed it. Stainless steel appliances and granite in the kitchen and new carpets throughout. This is a 2 bed 2 bath unit that is very spacious and very homey. We felt extremely comfortable. Our dishwasher was running when we first entered the unit and the only way we could turn it off was the circuit breaker. This unit is managed by Great Vacations and after we called them they called the owner and they okayed a new replacement. The owner actually called us and apologized for our inconvenience. We had a new one 2 days later.
The grounds are immaculate and beautifull. Plants even have I.D. placards. Small pool area was also very nice. Oh by the way, this unit has no air con but believe me you will not need it, constant trade winds are very comfortable. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: Just beware there is no elevator.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
46
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is located right on Poipu Beach on the southern tip of Kauai. Two beaches within walking distance of the resort. Both are excellent. Our condo was well maintained. We stayed in unit 300. Rated as ocean view. Not really..... All the accommodations were there. No AC, you don't need it with the trade winds, you'll be reaching for a blanket before the night is over. This unit is right next to a local residence with little kids. Can be a little noisy at times. Other than that, this resort is well worth the money. We shared the condo with another couple. One week is long enough.

Room Tip: unless this unit 300 is the only one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great Location, we rented this unit through RCI during the week of Christmas. Take note that it is two flights of stairs to get up to this 3rd floor unit. A very decent view over the private residents to see Poipu Beach. The nice part was it was a single floor unit, very quiet. It is a little older unit, but location makes it all worth it. The bed was fairly comfortable, the master has a great view of the beach. We enjoyed the tennis courts and the BBQ's, it would be nice to have a hot tub. The pool, was heated and was in a good location on the complex. The unit has its own internet router, which was very nice. The washer and dryer in the unit, worked very well and very convenient. In December we had no problems with having no AC, plenty of ceiling fans and box fans(only used the ceiling fans).The furniture is not the most comfortable, but we made due. Would I stay here again, for sure. It is in a prime location in Poipu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The location of this unit is its greatest strength. Nice partial view of the ocean from the deck and short walk to Poi Pu beach. The unit itself is in dire need of updating! No covers on bathroom light fixtures, bedding(blankets, and bedspread) are possibly originals from when the unit was built. The closet doors fall off. My husband had to put one of the sliding glass door screens back on. Not even a salt and pepper shacker! Lots of dusty fake flowers and other gaudy pictures grace the walls. I would be embarrassed to rent this unit out. The unit was fairly clean aside from the bathrooms. Luckily, this unit is in Kauai so much can be overlooked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParrishKauai, Manager at Nihi Kai Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Kim,

Mahalo for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We always want to ensure that our guests are satisfied with their accommodations and are sorry that this unit did not meet yours. The owner does take great pride in their property and we will pass on your comments and look into making any corrections that are needed. We provide photographs and detailed descriptions such that each guest can pick a unit that suits their needs. Next time, hopefully we can match your needs better with a different unit. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope we can again host you again at Nihi Kai.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Rented through Parrish. They consider this 2B/2Ba as a premium plus rating, their highest. It was remodeled in most of the unit. The 2nd bedroom & bath looked older but clean & working condition so fine for us. New kitchen, living room furnishing, free wifi, wall mounted LCD TV, washer/dryer with a starter pack of soap. Newer coffee maker with filters. Good ice maker in freezer. We did have a problem with visitors in the kitchen (a few roaches) under the sink cabinet & in the drawers. Reported it to management & hopefully they'll exterminate. We were only there 4 nights so didn't see the effects. Just kept everything in the refrigerator.

We worried that it might be hot at night with recent October hot weather & no trade winds. But when we arrived, it was just fine. We kept the screen covered louvered windows open all the time for a fabulous cross breeze. It actually felt cool at night! Didn't even need the ceiling fans. They also have two tower fans for extra air circulation.

Unit had 4 boogie boards (2 were cracked), two small beach umbrellas, one working beach chair (3 others broken), a plastic cooler, beach towels, and one mask/snorkel. I think we saw some sand toys, too. We ended up buying one beach chair at WalMart in order to have two. No problem.

View from this 2nd floor (of three floors) in Building 8 are very nice. It's up high so you see over the tops of the trees & other property buildings. Plus it's set back so the loud wave crashing won't keep you up at night. And it's on a private driveway so no through traffic. And there isn't much open space around for roosters...no 3am crowing concert like at other properties!!! I didn't remember roosters in this number on the island 17 years ago on our honeymoon. Nobody was in the 3rd floor unit, or at least we didn't hear them.

The complex is a stumble across the street to Brenneke's Beach, add one more grassy block to Poipu Beach. No need to drive. Best location we found. Half way to Waimea Canyon & Princeville where we day tripped for hikes & golf. Bought groceries at Big Save in Koloa Town, about 10 minute drive through the Tree Tunnel, turn right, then on your right 3 blocks down, across from the bank. Also shopped at Walmart in Lihue for souvenirs. Ate at The Plantation (best meal), Keoke's (just ok), and Brenneke's at the bar (good) for our dinners.

Not sure why anyone would stay at a hotel for double the price & a quarter of the space. Sure the Hyatt has beautiful grounds that we walked through, but to pay $400+ per night didn't make sense for a 400 sq ft no view hotel room.

Go & enjoy,

SeaBass

Room Tip: Higher floors get better breeze & ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location to access beach and park. Quiet setting with gorgeous landscaping. Pool and tennis courts on property and convenient parking. Two bed and two bath unit with awesome views of the ocean. Perfect lanai setting for coffee or dinner.

Room Tip: Building #8 offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Where to start . . .

The good - nice view of the pool and ocean. Office staff was okay. A safe was provided as it seems that they have had problems with break-in in the past.

The bad - Location was very low key and, for us, boring. We went off to other parts of the island each day.

The ugly - this unit should not be in rental inventory. It was advertised by the rental agent as "Although not recently updated, these unique properties provide value and comfort for your family, yet still meet Parrish Kauai's minimum quality standards." Apparently, Parrish has no standards. It was extremely poorly stocked; I had to wash dishes and utensils after each meal because there wre only a few to be had. Cookware was minimal. Beach towels were actually bath towel sized (beach towels were given to use upon request), no beach chairs, no cooler. The unit was dirty. My kids did not want to sit on furniture because it was ratty and I'll let my pictures speak for the rest of the place. Mold growing in the agitator of the tiny washing machine. When we arrived, there was a dirty soda bottle under the TV console (one small TV from the 1980's that could only be viewed if you were directly in front of it). Light switches were filthy and needed only be wiped to be cleaned up. I knew that there would be no air conditioning but I was assured by the rental agent the the unit stayed cool but the heat was unbearable and the the ceiling fans didn't do much. To say that it has not been recently renovated is an understatement and implies that, at some time, this unit has been updated. Very deceptive. The draw liner in the kitchen and bathrooms is clearly from the 1970's (yes, the draw liner). The bathrooms are older than time. They tried to make is smell decent with horrid vanilla air fresheners that made me sick. The entire place needs to be gutted. We spent as much time out of this condo as possible. Stay away from this unit.

Room Tip: The Nihi Kai complex itself was okay but stay away from Unit #201. The view from this unit was actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParrishKauai, Manager at Nihi Kai Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Patti,

Mahalo for taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry Poipu Beach was boring for you but are glad you were able to find some other exciting things to do while on Kauai.

In terms of the unit, we take great pride in presenting detailed descriptions and photos, including a four tiered rating system. As you note, NK201 is clearly labeled as an “island casual” as it has not been upgraded. Since you specifically picked this unit, in the future, we suggest if you want a more updated interior, you pick a Premier or Premier Plus unit.

In terms of stocking, if there was anything that you needed a simple request to our office would have resulted in us supplying anything you needed. We actually have over sized beach towels and apologize that they we not in the unit. If there were any cleaning oversights, we certainly would have addressed them had we known. We tried repeatedly to reach you upon your arrival and during your stay to welcome you, but no calls were answered or returned. Note, our office is in the same building you were in and you had to walk by our office to get to your entrance. We sincerely wish you would have advised us of any problems you felt needed to be addressed. The few maintenance items that you mention have since been fixed. Mahalo for pointing them out. For any inconvenience, we do apologize.

Lastly, we are happy to note that the kitchen and both bathrooms are now undergoing a complete updating and remodel. We are sorry that it was not in time for your visit, but all future guests will not get to enjoy the new improvements.

Mahalo, Parrish Kauai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nihi Kai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihi Kai Villas

Address: 1870 Hoone Road, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nihi Kai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nihi Kai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihi Kai Villas Hotel Poipu
Nihi Kai Villas Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nihi Kai Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.