We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Overly Expensive Resort Buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Terrace Restaurant

Ilima Terrace Restaurant
1571 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI
+1 808-240-6456
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ilima Terrace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ainako
Transit: Kauai Bus stops at the Hyatt.
Description: Surrounded by tropical gardens, waterfalls and koi fish ponds, this open-air restaurant is a family favorite for breakfast and lunch, featuring both a la carte menus and a sumptuous breakfast buffet with freshly made omelets and pastries. Lunch menus feature fresh salads, sandwiches, heart-healthy selections and more. Offering breakfast and lunch daily.
Patchogue, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average Overly Expensive Resort Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pros: Great omelet station with lots of choices, nice view on the terrace, friendly staff, lots of juice and fruit choices, good turnover meaning choices are fresh.

Cons: Expensive, not local coffee, pastries not fresh.

Overall a nice breakfast as it was included in one night of our stay, but very expensive otherwise.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    52
    21
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt and paid to have breakfast included. We had to pay for my son (which I knew). His breakfast and the tip for all of us was $55 a day. This is a typical hotel brunch with some good options. The made to order egg and omelet station was very good. The other items varied by day. The eggs benedict options were almost always over cooked. The vegetable version one day was on some sort of very dry biscuit instead of an english muffin. The potatoes were better some days than others. It is not a bad breakfast and everyone should be able to find things that they like. I do not think it is worth what they charge and would not pay extra to include it if I come back to the hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The buffet here is really quite expensive for what you get.

No pancakes or waffles in the buffet. Mostly eggs, bacon, sausage, and some fruit. There is an omelet bar but I watched the chef accidentally drop a dish towel he was using to wipe the frying pans clean into the waste basket next to him and then pull it back out and continue using it to wipe frying pans. Pretty gross and luckily my omelet was already on my plate at this point.

The servers were all fabulous and when we were here in late August 2013 there was usually no wait or a very short wait for a table for breakfast around 7-8 AM.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, average food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The view is great. Swans and coy fish. Food is average. Service was average. The wait for a table every morning is frustrating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice brunch with beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Brunch was a self service buffet. Hot food - scrambled eggs, eggs benedict, pancakes, sausages and bacon - and fresh fruit, yogurts, rice, cereals, pastries and lots, lots more! Plus a made to order omelette station. The hot food selection changes daily. Service was very good, friendly and attentive - for our large party of 13. Very family friendly. $31 for adults and half price for children. Good value for the large selection on offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilima Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ilima Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilima Terrace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.