We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean, comfortable & fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean, comfortable & fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

You won't be disappointed here. Check out the website and book your next vacation!

All units and very comfortable and clean with a full kitchen, comfortable beds, linens, washer & dryer, large dining table, nice living room, multiple TVs, amazing views, multiple pools & hot tubs and large sandy beaches with coral reef for snorkeling right out your unit. Beach rental equipment, coffee & snack shop, activities and friendly customer service.

So much to see and do on this island. There is also a local Costco to get the foods you need in your kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    139
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
283
134
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I own two time shares here and every year the service and the property exceed my expectations. the staff calls you by name the entire week. How do they all know your name. They make suggestions for excursions and provide entertainment for the kids. Everything is always just perfect and if it doesn't meet your expectations, speak up, because they will fix it.
I can't thank the entire Waiohai staff for helping me put together a memorial service on the beach for my recently departed wife of 40 years. Poipu was here favorite place to visit every year. Thank you Marriott and the staff at Waiohai beach club.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same except for the views. Ask for an Ocean view. No matter where you are, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This property is FANTASTIC! Our party had 2 two bedroom suites with balconies and full kitchens that accommodated everyone comfortably. Lots to do on the resort but nightlife is limited due to this island (KAUA'I) being a very spiritual and family oriented island. The staff is very courteous and attentive to our needs. There are 3 swimming pools and 3 hot tubs and 10 BBQ grills onsite, fitness facilities, etc.

The only complaint i have is that the Bar by the swimming closes at 6:30p every night. If you want to drink after that time you have to find another resort that has a bar open later.

All and all on a scale of 1-10 i give this resort a 9.5!

Room Tip: All the buildings are right on the beach....We stayed in Hale One, suites 1211 and 1213! All the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain green, utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a villa we shared with another couple. It is set up perfectly for this. Great rooms, great location and beach. We love Poipu and Kauai and this was our third trip to the island. It was our first stay here and it is by FAR the best hotel we haves stayed at there. I can't wait to go back. I have no negatives even small ones about this place. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

this is a great suite property and the best location - walkable and right in the middle of everything - 20 minute walk to Hyatt , 20 minute walk to shopping , restaurants all within a short walk. The pool is realy nice for families and the beach is perfect .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Marriott Waiohai is right on the beach and had all a family needs for a great vacation in Hawaii. There is fine swimming and snorkeling right there. The staff were very helpful. Poipu has less rain than the other side of the island and seems to have more sunny days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Waiohai Beach Club with another couple and had a very good experience. The resort is very pretty and the grounds are well maintained. Services are minimal (a beach bar, a convenience shop, spa services, a workout room), but perfect for the location. Restaurants and shops are right down the road, some in easy walking distance. Unlike many resorts, there seems to be a glut of pool-side chairs. What most distinguished this resort from others is that it blends into its surroundings well so that you don't feel isolated or walled off from areas outside resort. It abuts a public beach and is a short walk from a larger beach with life guards. A path runs through the resort that connects the Marriott to the public beach (to the east) and to other hotels (to the west). On one side of the resort is the public parking lot for the public beach. To me, this was all a plus and made staying here more fun than staying at more isolated resorts. This is a matter of taste, though, so you should decide what you are looking for.

The rooms are very well equipped. We ate in many nights and ate on the deck. It was a bit small for four adults, but manageable. The kitchens have a good inventory of pots, pans, storage, and utensils. Overall, I would say that Marriott has figured out how to serve time share guests. We were at the resort for six nights and didn't feel like we were in too close quarters with the other couple.

The pool areas were pretty and never particularly crowded. We took several of the free water aerobics classes. There are grills on the property (that get a lot of use at night) and a few hammocks. Like all of Kauai, there are chickens all over the property. There was plenty of parking and the spaces with wide enough for modern cars (unlike other resorts).

Our one complaint -- one that you will see in other reviews -- is that many of the "ocean view" rooms are at best partial, small ocean views (and in some cases are primarily parking lot view). I suspect that Marriott is locked in because of the way that these units were originally sold, but some/many of the ocean view units should be advertised and booked as Island view. Were I to return, I would book a less expensive "Island view" room. Many of these had very pleasant views of the property, which, as I mentioned is very well maintained and quite pretty. We were told that guests could not voluntarily downgrade to Island View.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.