We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach Hotel in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Beach Hotel in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Kauai is the most beautiful of the Hawaiian Islands, and Poipu is Kauai's best beach area. There are several fine resorts along the stretch of coast constituting Poipu, but Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club has the best beach and its accommodations are ideally suited for families or a couple of couples. The sand, surfing and snorkling are all right there (as well as a great pool). The waves hitting the beach are gentle (surfing takes place out past the reef). Even at high tide, there is plenty of sand. There is no better location for a beach vacation.

Each room is a suite consisting of two fully contained king size bedrooms. One has its own bathroom with a separate shower and jetted tub. The other adjoins a full bathroom with a shower in the tub and a surprisingly large capacity stacked washer and dryer. Access to this bathroom is also possible from the front hallway but the door of course can be locked ensuring privacy. This bedroom also has a fold out sofa bed. Each bedroom has its own flat screen TV, closet and large window. Between the bedrooms is a full kitchen, dining area, and sitting area with another fold out sofa bed and a large flat screen TV. This opens out to a patio with table and chairs.

There is plenty of grassy, open space at the resort for sunbathing, much of it close to the water's edge. The resort has a coffee shop and small store, but it is a short walk to some of the best restaurants on the island -- Roy's or Keoki's Paradise at Poipu Shopping Village or an even shorter walk to Brennecke's, Plantation Gardens or Red Salt. Less than a mile farther (best to drive) The Shops at Kukui'ula house Merriman's, Lappert's Ice Cream and other good restaurants. Don't miss the Gourmet Farmer's Market there on Wednesdays 4-6 pm (be sure to hit the Right Slice pie booth).

Underground parking is plentiful at the Waiohai resort. One of my favorite jogs (be sure to start early before it gets too hot) is from the resort beach path to Hoone Road, past Brennecke's and the Poipu Beach Park, turning left on Pe'e Road. Continue past several hotels and a larger resort (whose name I can't recall), right down a wide paved path through a large grassy area, and then along the Hyatt Resort beach path and back.

Monk seals beach themselves on Waiohai's beach. Snorkeling, I have seen every kind of Hawaiian fish, turtles, and even a large eagle ray. See if you can find the peace sign made of rocks out there in the middle of the cove. You always will want to return to Waiohai.

Room Tip: The action is by the beach. Try to get a room in one of the three buildings closest to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    142
    53
    22
    17
See reviews for
288
136
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Marriott waiohai Beach Club was the perfect setting for our perfect Hawaiian vacation. The units were beautiful, clean and spacious. The property had lots of fun things to do for the whole family. The food was good, the staff was wonderful and the facilities were well kept. The pools were fun and the property is right on beautiful Poipu Beach. There is nothing I would change. Even the location was convenient to shops, restaurants and old Koloa Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

On one of our visits we renewed our wedding vows down by the kids pool next to the crashing waves of the ocean. We have been here for romantic anniversaries, family celebrations,& get away with close friends.
Whatever the occasion this is the perfect place! It's our first choice for a return trip.

Room Tip: We like the unites overlooking the pool or near the pool. Buy anywhere is great just to have the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went with our friends through their timeshare and I would like to say that I don't think I could say enough good things about this resort, it was truly a wonderful place to stay. The two-bedroom, two-bath villa we stayed in was elegant, very clean, everything looked brand new and was tastefully decorated. The grounds were lush with beautiful flowers and there were beautiful pools and hot tubs to enjoy. Situated right on the ocean the views were gorgeous and offered beautiful sunsets every evening. The staff was awesome and was always willing to accommodate anything you ask for. The only problem we had was we had to leave when vacation was over. Awesome place!

Room Tip: Even though our room was on the parking lot side we still had a beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What could be better than a trip to paradise? From the minute you arrive top draw service is at your disposal. Beautiful pools, blue ocean waters, lovely gardens, and even a quiet pool area to relax in after the luau.
First class rooms which are large and fully equipped kitchens. Views are perfect. Daily activities are well thought out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This has to be one of the nicest Marriott properties. This is our third time and hope to come back soon. The people are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very nice and comfortable. There is a small marketplace for quick needs, a nice gym and oceanfront bar. There are several excellent restaurants within walking distance along with a small market, clothing store, hot dogs, hamburgers and jewelry.

Room Tip: Obviously the view rooms, or any room with a view of the inner pools, ponds and ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location for the family to escape the fuss of normal life. The resort is very family friendly and gives all the essentials for an extended stay. Daily activities at the resort and a beautiful beach to relax on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.