We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush, gorgeous landscape needed, limited ocean views available.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Lush, gorgeous landscape needed, limited ocean views available.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent a little over 2 weeks staying on 5 different islands. Kauai, the island itself, was our favorite island due to it's laid back, very lush, less developed atmosphere. Even though this property gave us everything it advertised, we felt it was pricey as was our rental car compared to what we had on the other islands.

The accommodations were as shown online. Clean, in great condition and quiet. The master bedroom is completely open to the double sink and garden tub. Only the shower and flush are behind a pocket door. The second bedroom had a pull out couch and a queen bed. That bath contained the small stackable washer and dryer.

The kitchen/living/dining area had sliding glass doors that led out to a small balcony. We are not owners in the vacation club. We did a non changeable/non refundable pre-pay rate so I am not sure if this has anything to do with where our room was located. We could not have been further from the beach and pool, which wasn't a problem for us, but if you are looking for a specific location, the pre-pay option might not be the best choice. When we asked for a location closer to the pool/beach we were told they take care of their owners first and they had no other rooms available.

Our view was the parking lot and a buffer of trees that separated this property from the one behind us. The other side of the building which did overlook the gardens was amazing. The man made waterfalls, koi pond and one with a swan swimming in it were all so well kept and just gorgeous. Even if you don't get an ocean view, there is something nice to look at when on your lanai. There are a couple pool areas that we saw. One designated for quiet time. We also saw a couple hammocks by the grill area. There is also a small playground area (geared towards toddler-3rd grade). The island has lots and lots of wild roosters which roam about freely.

There is a small bar and pub food place between the beach and the pool. The food was okay, as was the service, but I wouldn't eat there again. I felt the prices were high, $7 for a regular size non alcoholic smoothie fruit drink. The fish tacos were very dry. There are not a lot of tables but we had no problem finding a seat, (probably because it was overpriced and not great.) The only other "on property food option" was in the market area. They had some sandwich stuff and a Starbucks coffee shop. With a full size kitchen and shared gas grills, preparing your own meals is easy. We saw lots of people were arriving with a luggage carts full of food from the Lihue Costco and there is a very small grocery market just a 5-10 min. drive away. If you want to dine out without having to drive, Sheraton, a beach stroll away appeared to have a nice waterfront restaurant and just down the road there is a small shopping plaza with other casual dining options.

There was plenty of uncovered parking close to the elevators by our building. They did charge us $10/day and your room key was needed to enter the lot.

We stayed over a weekend and the beach was very busy. The sand is soft, almost a golden color and you really sink in it when you walk. It slopes quite a bit near the Marriott property limiting the space from the back of the beach to the water and Marriott's property does abut the public access path. A lot of non hotel guests use that access and perhaps their dogs too. We saw a couple dogs roaming around and one in the water. Security was standing nearby to make sure it didn't become a disturbance. We were seated quite close together on beach towels along the beach while the other non property guests arrived early with tents, umbrella's, chairs and coolers. The hotel lounge chairs are above the sandy area along grassy overlooks of mostly the rocky areas, none were directly on the beach.

We did have the pleasure of seeing a Hawaiian Monk Seal snoozing away on the beach every day. The volunteer rescue team sets up ropes around the seals and everyone is asked to not swim directly in front of the seal area nor should anyone ever try to approach the wild animals. One day when the surf was quite rough there were half a dozen sea turtles playing in the waves.
It is on a great part of the island that often sees sunshine when others have rain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    142
    53
    22
    17
See reviews for
288
136
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been coming to Lihue for 14 years. Obviously we love it. For the last 6 we have been at Waiohai. We have been here all seasons. Not much variation in temperature and a slight variation in rain. We have had a lot of rain in the summer, but this year there is very little. We did not like the winter season as the days are too short. One of our greatest pleasures is getting up at dawn and walking along the shore or just surf watching with a cup of coffee

14 years ago, the dining scene in Poipu was bleak, but that is no longer true. One of the reasons we like Waiohai is that we have a full kitchen and a Costco is within range. There is a snack bar, but no restaurant at Waiohai. We find the resort staff to be friendly(How can you be upset when the receptionist greets you with: Welcome home.

If you want a full service hotel, this is not for you. If you want a family friendly, relaxing place, this is it. A final piece of advice. We usually buy some beach chairs. There are usually some available, but I am sun sensitive and need shade. We also go to other beaches.

Have fun

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We brought our 2 kids to this resort. If we were not with Kids or retired I would not suggest this place. It is very clean, has a great beach, pretty good pool, great beach and kid activities, and was extremely clean. The two things I did not like was the mediocre food and the location of my room which looked over the parking lot. Apparently if you are not a timeshare owner then you do not get preferential treatment as to where your room is. I was very bummed since we paid almost $500 a night and out balcony looked over the parking lot and was not "garden/island" view like we has requested. You really should ask on the phone when you make a reservation if your room looks over the great cenetr gardens or the crappy parking lot. Other than those two issues I would say the resort was great and our room was super clean and comfy. Overall it was a great vacation and we spent a lot of time at the hotel. I did not get a massage because the massages were given outside and it was hot...not very relaxing to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I think my title sums it up nicely. We rented a small cottage about a 10 minute walk to Poipu Beach. We don't normally stay at resorts but love a good hotel bar. After a morning of snorkeling we plunked ourselves down at the large outdoor bar, near the family pool. The bartenders were friendly, there is HI beer on tap and to my husband's great delight, a variety of mixed "beachy" drinks. We ate lunch there and the food was unsurprisingly expensive but well prepared.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Once arriving, it was obvious the resort employees have been well trained and the grounds are maintained beautifully. Here's all of the positive aspects:

1. The front desk (Anna) was prompt and didn't waste our time checking in and gathering information previously given at so many other resorts.

2. Our luggage arrive at our room within 60 seconds of us arriving at our condo. A pack and play (crib) arrived within 5 minutes of us arriving at our condo.

3. The 2 bedroom condo was spacious, comfortable with a well thought out floor plan....and very clean.

4. A washer and dryer was located inside the condo WITH laundry detergent. Salt and pepper were also available in the kitchen. These were nice touches that we have not seen at other resorts. You don't think of salt and pepper being a big deal until you are making bland eggs for your family of 6 and everyone is complaining. (Can you tell it's happened before?)

5. In Hale 2, they had an area where you can get pool toys to play with that others have left. We ventured into Lihue and bought pool/beach toys and knew we'd not be able to bring them home due to luggage room, so it was nice knowing someone else would enjoy them after we were gone.

6. They had very nice, well maintained BBQs with clean tools for grilling. Each morning a crew was cleaning and/or repairing the grills.

7. A nice sandy beach was within view, rather than many of the other resorts that have no swimmable beaches.

8. Their store/Marketplace was well stocked with a myriad of choices and the prices were the same as local stores.

9. The Concierge located within the Marketplace was eager to help with ideas for a family with children which were appropriate for their ages.

10. There were constant interesting activity choices for children and adults.

Overall the stay was really enjoyable. There are a few things they might consider to make this a fabulous resort:

1. Michael at the bar/grill doesn't appear to be very happy and almost made you feel like he'd rather be somewhere else, the service was mediocre there. The food was worse.

2. If the pool hours begin at 7am, then the pool maintenance crew should be done cleaning well before that. A garden hose was left running in the pool near the main steps until after 8:30am and kids were squirting other kids in the face with high pressure. Other carts with vacuums/filters were seen sitting around with the hoses in the pool and no maintenance personnel to be seen.

3. Masked and full-arm double-gloved garden maintenance were seen spraying chemicals on the gardens immediately surrounding the pools around 10am. Those chemicals were dripping into pool water immediately on the edge if the pool and kids were stepping in them. Our family left the pool immediately. Better timing and more caution need to be exercised here.

4. I know it's not the Four Seasons or the Ritz, but having bar attendants come around and offer food and beverage would have been nice. They are missing increased revenue on this one. I only had 2 Mai tais in the 4 nights/6 days we spent there. If I didn't have to leave the pool because I was watching my 4 kids, I would have ordered 2 (spread out all day) everyday, rather than 2 total. Also refer to #1. I had NO longing to go to the bar.

Once again, these were the most obvious issues. The resort was quite nice and most if the employees appeared to enjoy their jobs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had a great time with the family. We had 9 people stay and fit comfortably. Love staying here. Lots to do in the area. The grounds are beautiful and the beach so close. The Honu Bar is perfect with great drinks and service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have returned twice to the Waiohai Beach Club for multi-generational get-togethers. It is a beautiful setting with nice grounds and great beach. The pools are fun and the workout room was spacious and clean. On our trips, each "family unit" reserved two bedroom, two bathroom suites with kitchens. The rooms are well thought-out and we appreciated the separation of space/privacy from our children. For the second trip, we had a ground floor room to the left side of resort. Although it did not have a beach view and required a short walk to the pool, it worked well for us because there was a large expanse of grass that our kids and other kids could play on while we sat in our lounge chairs and chatted. Our kids had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.