We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A room with a (great) view"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"A room with a (great) view"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family stayed here the beginning of June, as members of the Vacation Club so the appartment was 'home from home', with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry room. There has been a lot of discuusion about sea views. I had a good idea from TripAdvisor which apartments not to have and which have the best views. Unless the apartment is facing the beach, very few have full ocean view. Most have a side on view and some face the parking lots. If you are not facing the parking lot you are likely to have a garden view. From the balcony, we had a full view of the length of the landscaped gardens, with its pools, lawns, lake, waterfall, river for fishing, jacuzzis, decroative bridges and central area, to the beach side cafe and bar to the Pacific Ocean. What a view!!!! Our room was in Hale 4, I think it was 4308. check the plan as its the room at the other end of the lift on the 3rd floor, in the corner facing the gardens. 3406 (or the room next door) should have a good view too. Beware, the odd numbers in that building face the parking lot! So apart from the view, customer service was very good. There was entertainment for the guests and children but if you want nightlife, go to Maui or the Big Island. Everything at the resort closes by 9pm. We did some shopping for breakfast and snacks but found the food served at the beach bar and elsewhere tasty and reasonably priced so why cook? Although there were many guests none of the pools or jacuzzis were crowded. Plenty of chairs to relax in the sun and the beach was in a bay where you can surf and do other water activities. The water was cooling , a good escape from the heat. Endangered Hawaiian Monk seals took up residence in a particular spot every day, but that is away from the main beach areas. Sunset at the beach bar was a very pleasant way to spend the evening. In fact we did not feel it necessary to go elsewhere to celebrate a birthday. We had good food, sunset, beach view & freshly made cocktails as the environment for our celebration. My family aged between 28 & 64 years and we all enjoyed ourselves at the Marriott.

Room Tip: Hale 4 building, room 4308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    151
    54
    23
    18
See reviews for
309
145
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Don't expect a view of the ocean-- there are few rooms that have one (unless you are an owner, which we are not). We knew this before we went, so we didn't get our panties in a wad about it. We had one of the so-called dreaded "parking lot" views, but let me tell you a bit about this. We were on the 4th floor, so high enough that we didn't really look down on a parking lot, but out across at beautiful trees, and these gorgeous trees were FILLED with birds, so early morning reminded me of Bali -- every bird in the world welcoming the day.

The only downside to a room facing the parking lot is the noise -- people seriously have no sense. The noise echoes and bangs around -- I was awakened many times by idiots who felt they had to relive recent experiences at the top of their lungs whilst exiting their cars in the dead of night. Really, folks? You are NOT the only acorns in the tree, so if it's dark, just SHHHHHHH already! We came up with a sign they should post in the parking lot "Noisy idiots in parking lots will be fed to the feral chickens -- please tamper your enthusiasm after dark." I like it.

The staff was wonderful and this is truly the first place (out of about 12 timeshare stays) were we were NOT pushed, cajoled, or even lightly encouraged to have the "TIMESHARE TALK" -- they just let us be. Heaven.

The only meal we ate on site was the first night, and it was by the pool. Expensive, but SERIOUSLY well done meal. We were amazed! I had a few drinks by the pool during my stay, and they met with my satisfaction as well.

The pools are wonderful, really beautiful and clean, but why go in a pool when you can swim in such an amazing ocean? The beach is LOVELY, and fun to watch the surfers and paddle boarders to the right. Just sitting in a beach chair and hanging out was heavenly.

I cooked the entire time -- kitchen was extremely well equipped and enjoyable. We shopped farmer's markets during our whole stay -- pricey, but everything on Kauai is that way. Such wonderful produce!!!! We lived on fresh pineapple and other fruit.

People need to get over themselves about the feral chickens -- they are a hoot and not a nuisance at ALL. They are all part of the Kauai lore. We loved them.

I loved Koloa Town -- we spent a lot of time there.

It poured heavy rain and stormed and blew -- made the front page of the newspaper -- but we didn't care. The room was extremely comfy, the bed was heavenly -- everything was clean and beautiful. Would we stay here again? YES, YES, and YES -- even with a parking lot view!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Make sure you get a room with an ocean view or that overlooks the pools. We got put in a room that had a view of the parking lot and that was not acceptable. They changed rooms for us after a day and that made the world of difference. The pools, hot tubs and BBQ grills are great. The beach is on a great location. Very convienient if with kids or a family. The kitchens make it nice to do breakfast and lunches. The grills are great to BBQ at night. Makes it nice if you dont want to eat out every meal. We went to Costco and grabbed all the essentials. Don't do the timeshare presentation. It's a waist of time. You can book these places for less than what the maitinance fees are a year and have no initial buy in. Overall it's a good place for an affordable family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please keep in mind that the best views are reserved for owners of the resort and members of the Marriott Vacation Club Destinations program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Full disclosure--my husband and I visited this resort years ago and fell in love with it. We loved it so much that we bought a timeshare. It's the first and only time we've done something that impulsive (and--probably--stupid, since we bought from the developer instead of the resale market), but we visit Waiohai every single year and we still love it as much as the day we signed that contract to buy.

This is not a typical hotel property. It is timeshare villas--two bedroom, two bath units with living/dining area and a full kitchen. Most owners bought here because of the gorgeous location, but also because we're the type of people who love to travel with others and cook meals in our villas whenever we're tired of the restaurant scene. If you like to cook in, do yourself a favor and visit Costco to stock up on essentials (and their fabulously low price wine/liquor). The resort has a beach grill, but if you want the full service restaurant, you'll need to walk about 1/4 mile to a little shopping area with shops and restaurants (even a Starbucks).

The beach is the thing here at Waiohai. You can see so much both in and out of the water. Endangered Hawaiian monk seals love to beach themselves right in front of the resort, and the snorkeling is terrific, too. If you like to surf, you can join the local surfers just off the beach for some great waves. Need lessons? Local boy Kelly sets up every day on the beach, and he'll be glad to give you lessons. The evening ritual is to gather on the grass right off the beach or on the sand to watch the glorious sunsets. I'm getting relaxed just writing this! Waiohai isn't a high energy place with music blaring and something happening every minute.

The ideal visit here, in my opinion, would be two weeks. You can find weeks for sale on RedWeek for much less than you'll have to pay Marriott to stay here. I highly recommend booking through an owner--sometimes you can find a two bedroom villa for less than $200 per night! And the villas will accommodate eight people--four in king-size beds and four on sleeper sofas.

I hope you can visit Waiohai to see if it's your dream vacation, too. For us it's heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Go high. Ask for an ocean view. If you're booking through RedWeek, you can choose between Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this resort in September of 2012 for our 3rd anniversary. We just loved the resort and Kauai itself is the most beautiful place we have ever seen! My husband tells everyone "its the closest thing to heaven on earth he has ever seen."
We were very happy with the resort and employees. We would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at two hotels on Kauai, partly to be on different parts of the island and to reduce driving around.

This hotel was good, but is missing food. They expect you to drive to nearby suburban-like outdoor malls and figure it out on your own. There is some food at the bar near the pool for part of the day. We were happy with that food and drink.

The room was large and clean. We had plenty of towels to use at the beach. (We never used the pools. In fact, one day the pools were roped off. I was curious, and almost asked, but didn't since we weren't using them anyway.)

The reason to stay here is the beach. If you walk on the sand, you'll only get 5% of the experience. If you go for a swim on the water, you'll get another 25%. The real bonus is the tidal pools (bring a camera and some protective sandals) and swimming under the water (bring a water-proof camera, mask, and snorkel).

There are sea turtles occasionally in the water and on the beach.

There is a lot going on under the water. Various fish are plentiful. You'll also see coral and urchins. The coral will remind you that swimming is probably better for preserving the area than walking on the bottom, and the urchins will remind the less cooperative and sharing among us. You'll really only take it all in with a mask, and then you'll want the camera once you see what is there.

In the 80's Hunama bay was similar to this. By 2003, it had been loved to death, I assume with people damaging the coral too much. This is still preserved, and you'll want to leave it in good shape to return to in future years. This Poipu beach is worth the price of the hotel just to see it at your own pace. If you go to the island and don't get in this water, why did you go to Kauai?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Waiohai Beach Club, and I can't emphasize enough what a wonderful trip it was. Disclaimer: we did not stay in a time share condo/villa, but in one of the "hotel" rooms.

Stupidly, we didn't realize that the property was time shares/condos. We arrived in Kauai on a whim and figured we'd find a hotel when we got there. I'd seen a good rate for a room on Marriott's website, and thought it was a standard hotel. It was only when we got there that we found out it was 95% time shares, with only a handful of "hotel rooms." I also found out that we couldn't book a room directly at the desk, and so I had to (somewhat embarrassingly) sit out on the patio and use the wifi to book online right then, and return to the front desk with the confirmation number.

But it didn't matter. The staff didn't treat us any differently, and were wonderfully welcoming towards us, helping us pick a good room and going over some of the features of the club.

Our room wasn't "ocean view," but our balcony looked out over the garden and you could see/hear the ocean. There was a table and chairs and two chaises on it, which was wonderful.

The room itself was huge. Two queen sized beds, a big TV, a mini-fridge, closet, drawer space. The bathroom was massive and had both a stall shower and a tub. The amenities were great and seemingly local, including Hawaiian coffee for the in-room coffee.

Another perk -- the closet had four beach towels in it for use at the beach and the pool.

The property itself is like a dream. The gardens are beautifully manicured and the pool is hands down the best hotel pool I've ever been in, surrounded by rocks and waterfalls and tropical plants. There were two smaller pools on property, as well as a hot tub. Beyond the pool was the outdoor bar. We didn't ever try it (it seemed pretty expensive), but it was always crowded and the grill was always going. At least one of the nights they had live music. The only downside (for us at least) was that it closed really early.

And then there's the beach. Oh, the beach. Just steps from the hotel rooms/villas is Poipu Beach, probably one of the nicest beaches in the world. The sand is just pristine and the water is crystal clear. To have a beach like that at your backyard makes staying at the hotel worth every single penny. It was a little crowded, but not unbearably so, and it was a nice crowd of families. The only caution about the beach (which has nothing to do with the hotel) is that the current and undertow should be taken really seriously; they're not a joke. The front desk gave us that warning on check-in, but I still wasn't prepared for how strong it would be. Be safe in the water, Tripadvisors!

Also... the famous wild chickens of Kauai roam the property! We couldn't get enough of them.

The only downside perhaps to the property was that other than the bar, there was no restaurant. This was really our fault for not realizing it was time shares and so everyone was cooking in their own kitchen. There's a market with a small snack bar, but it was expensive and not "sit down" food. This is NOT a negative point to the property, only something to keep in mind if you really want a hands-off vacation. It wasn't a big deal; there are restaurants just a couple minutes away by car in some of the shopping centers (and some really good restaurants at that), but it's just something to keep in mind. There was a really reasonable grocery store in Koloa Town just up the road though. And again, like the rest of the staff, the snack bar workers were just lovely and so friendly.

Parking was reasonable and underground -- only $10 a day, which really, is nothing.

Again, the lack of restaurant isn't really a downside, it's just a point to consider. There really weren't any downsides to staying here. It was just a dream from start to finish. It's not a question of if we'll go back and stay at Waiohai again, but when we'll get to go back. Hands down one of the top three hotels/properties I've ever stayed in. Absolutely wonderful in every way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.