We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We are Marriott Vacation Club (timeshare) owners elsewhere and traded into the Waiohai because we wished to return to Kauai after not having visited the island since our honeymoon 28 years ago. This is one of the most desireable properties in the Marriott system and we could certainly understand why after our stay. We arrived Friday night and found our room was spacious (two bedrooms and two baths) for four. For the two of us, it was terrific. We set up the laptop and ironing board in the extra bedroom and that left the living room uncluttered. (There is an ethernet connection in the living room but the WiFi worked great in the extra bedroom.) We had a ground floor unit in the main building that opened onto the lawn with a view of the pools and the ocean. When we wanted to go to the small and overpriced (but very convenient) Marketplace, we could do so just by walking across the lobby. When we wanted a drink or some food, ditto. Very sweet. Our room was clean and there was a towel exchange service on the Tuesday of the stay. We lounged by the pool and walked to the near perfect Poipu Beach in a few seconds. Both were uncrowded.
All members of the Waiohai staff were gracious, friendly, and went "above and beyond" a few times to answer questions or meet our requests. We also had opportunities to meet other people staying there; the atmosphere afforded both complete privacy or the option of visiting with other guests. (We prefer the intimacy of the Waiohai to the larger, more elegant atmosphere of the other Marriott timeshare on Kauai at Nawiliwili.)
All in all, we would rate Waiohai at the very top of our personal scale!

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — all restaurants/bars closed early
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    151
    54
    23
    18
See reviews for
309
147
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

I stayed as a guest of my brother in-law and family. This was a perfect vacation place for a family. The room we had was garden level so we could walk right out to the pool. I feel this is key so you can get to the pools and beach quickly. The room was well decorated and had a full kitchen, living room, master suite, and second bedroom. All in all I'd say we had the space of 3 large hotel rooms, a great value! The money we save buying groceries at Costco more than made up for the price. The hotel ammenities are pretty basic since the emphasis is more on a condo/family atmosphere. If I was comparing this to a hotel I'd say 4 stars tops. However, this place has great pools for the family and probably the best location on Poipu. I can't say a bad thing about our stay.

My brother in-laws unit was a clone of ours but close to the beach and main pool. It had musty smell that I would have been very upset with. As long as they can keep up the maintenance of the rooms consistently this should be tops on your list of Poipu resorts if you have a family or large group. We also stayed at Hilton in Lihue and Hyatt which we liked but we didn't feel we recieved nearly the value we did at the Marriott Beach Club

  • Liked — Quality room, BBQ's, non-watery drinks at the bar, location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed here only one night and I am so glad because I didn't sleep more than 1 hour. There was a rooster right out our window that ear plugs, ceiling fan, closed windows could not drown out. I talked with management in the morning and they were very nice, said they try to move the roosters often and did refund a part of our night's stay but I would not return ever. The condo was beautiful and the grounds nice, though. We were there during Easter vacation and the room rate was quite high so in my opinion, not worth the cost.

  • Liked — The rooms are beautiful and comfortable
  • Disliked — The loud roosters
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Our family of 4 are owners of the Marriott Ko Olina timeshare and we exchanged a week to stay at a 2 bedroom unit at Kauai’s Marriott Waiohai during our spring break vacation in March 2008. The Marriott exceeded our expectations as far as location on Poipu Beach, the condition of the unit and property and overall environment for a relaxing family holiday.

Timeshare Unit – Our 2 bedroom unit was more than spacious and could easily sleep 8. As a family of 4 it really felt like we lived in a beachside condominium as it contained practically everything we needed: beautifully decorated furnishings, lavish finishes in the bathroom, spacious kitchen, and a large balcony allowing the 4 of us to dine ‘al fresco’ with a view to the landscaped gardens, pools and the ocean. We were quite happy and had no complaints about the condition of our 4th floor unit in Hale Seven of the resort.

On one of our excursions we met a family who booked at the other Marriott timeshare on Kauai, the Marriott Kauai Beach Club in Lihue. While they said the property was very nice, the units were re-converted hotel rooms with no full kitchen. The Waiohai 2-bedroom floor plan follows a very similar layout of the newer Marriott timeshares we have experienced in Ko Olina, Orlando and Las Vegas – nicely laid out, spacious and beautifully furnished.

Property Overall – Compared to the Marriott Ko Olina on Oahu, the Kauai Waiohai seemed much more intimate and laid back, a feeling that best describes the island overall. The lobby and public areas were much smaller and subdued, but very well maintained. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. On our first day we hung out by the beach and the pool and decided to have lunch at the beachside bar … over priced for what we got, but convenient. That is when we decided to go to the Costco in Lihue town and stock up on breakfast, lunch and dinner foods allowing us to cook in for a few of the days (and saving a ton of money). The fitness room was small by comparison to Ko Olina and had no windows, but was decently maintained as far as hotel fitness rooms are concerned.

Water and Fun – Poipu beach is a great beach with calm waves and plenty of sunshine. The public beach is adjacent to the one fronting the Marriott Waiohai with a lifeguard stationed there for those concerned about ocean swimming. There were plenty of beach chairs fronting the beach even during spring break. The three pools on property were well maintained and a bit cooler than what I would prefer, but a nice alternative to the beach when the sun was too hot. We did not take advantage of the MAZE activities provided by the Marriott during the week, as there were other activities we did on our own on Kauai (ATV rides at the nearby Kipu Ranch, zodiac rafting to the Na Pali coast, driving to view the Waimea Canyon and kayaking the Wailua River).

Those looking for nightclubs and high priced mainland style restaurants will not really find a lot of choices on Kauai or Poipu Beach for that matter. Stay on Waikiki if that is the kind of Hawaiian madness you prefer. We are glad we started our vacation on Kauai as it really helped to decompress and get our minds and souls into a restful vacation mode.

While the timeshare resort may not have all the “full services” of a regular hotel (room service, bellmen, etc.), you will have a comfortable and spacious 2 bedroom unity that will truly feel like a home away from home on one of the prime beaches on Kauai. We loved it and will return again.

  • Liked — Condition of Timeshare units and overall property location on the beach
  • Disliked — Small fitness room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Went to Kauai for my 50th! We had never been to Hawaii and chose beautiful Kauai. A 9 day trip in mid-January (starting on the East Coast) was almost enough time to see the entire island from Ke'e Beach, Hanalei and Princeville to the Wiamea Canyon. We stayed at the quiet Marriott Waiohai villas on beautiful Po'ipu Beach. The whale watching in January was incredible! The location was perfect for whale watching and sunset each night. (We went to the Hyatt's Luau one evening and missed the sunset. The Hyatt, though beautiful, didn't appear to have a sunset view at all...maybe the mid January position of the sun had something to do with it.). The Sheraton is next to the Marriott Waiohai and also had great open views of the beach and sunset. The Po'ipu Beach area is full of good shopping and restaurants. We liked Roy's. The small historic town of Koloa was perfect for necessities and shopping with 2 grocery stores and local flavor. ..even an organic market. We also went to Hanapepe twice for lunch at the Hanapepe Cafe. Very cute historic town with an artists fair on Fridays (?) Loved the Waimea Canyon drive and Pu'u o Kila Lookout is a must. The Napali Coast is astonishing even from land. (We did not take a boat or helicopter ride.) We also saw a bit of Napali from the north beach of Ke'e. Beware of the hike on the Kalalau Trail after the rain! We got there too late to hike the 2 miles to Hanakapi'ai Beach. As some people were coming back they told us that is was not a quick hike and they were full of mud. We turned back after several great views and a stunning rainbow!
The Ultimate Kaiai Guide Book (Dougherty) is a must. Updates can be found on the internet. We were happy we stayed on one island for the duration of our Hawaii vacation and Kauaii was just the right size and had the relaxed island atmosphere that we craved. Don't miss the local Sunshine Markets. Make a meal out of the local fruits!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I was not made aware of the lack of amenities in this property. Being that it is timeshare focused, there are certain services that are not offered. There is no valet and there are no porters to assist you with your luggage. After a long light in with my pregnant wife, the fact that these 2 particular services were not available were quite upsetting as I had to park my car and carry my luggage with no assistance.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We are owners at Waiohai and stayed there the first time. We managed to get two units the same week and brought my extended family - 6 Adults and 3 Children.

PROS: The resort was very clean and the two bedroom suites are perfect for the families. We were at the back of the resort, Hale 3 & 4 which is the quieter end. Loved the resort grills, they cleaned them every night. The "adult" quiet pool area was perfect for some down time. The less adventurous kids played mostly in the larger pool while the youngest ocean baby (age 4)played non-stop in the waves. The beach was very nice, it could get a bit crowded. We ate at the restaurant (not bar) one night and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality and innovative menu choices. The kitchen was in the Marketplace and small so we were nervous about eating there. Our server was excellent and we took her recommendations and had a very memorable meal while watching the hula show. The Owner Services staff were very helpful and made wonderful recommendations as to restaurants & activities.

MINOR CONS: The buildings are somewhat institutional looking, although who lingers in the hallways anyway. Unlike our other Marriott timeshare, there is no bellhop service - am unsure why. Also, the front desk is not very helpful. For example, I had scheduled a massage and was uncertain as to which cabana to go to. I stopped at the front desk to ask directions - the person at the front desk rudely sent me to the Concierge. I thought it was very strange, not knowing where things were in the resort. This happened repeatedly whenever we had questions - were always sent to the Concierge, even if the questions were fairly simple. The front desk is NOT separate from the rest of the resort and needs to take ownership of guest satisfaction.

I would highly recommend this resort to my friends and my family wants to go back. This is a very laid-back resort that fits with the island style.

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the rooms and laid back
  • Disliked — Service at the Front Desk
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.