We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Nirvana for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Vacation Nirvana for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

After a day or two at the Waiohai I realized that we had finally perfected the family vacation. This was vacation Nirvana. Everything about this hotel is attractive, convenient, and fun for families. I will absolutely come back again as often as possible.

We have one daughter (aged 9) and the two bedroom layout was perfect for us. We had space to get out of each other's hair when needed. The booth in the kitchen/dining area was large and comfortable and attractive. I sat there reading and relaxing and just enjoying myself. The bathtubs are large and attractive. And I can't tell you how nice it is to have a washing machine to have clean clothes. The room was so large that my daughter and I played endless games of hide and seek!!!

The pools are perfect. They are heated to the exactly perfect temperature. At some of the larger hotels the pools are so large that they probably really can't afford to heat them to a comfortable temperature. These pools were a tiny bit smaller than the mega-resort pools, but they were large enough to be gorgeous and special and fun.... and warm enough to swim in!!! They also had a "relaxation pool" which did not ban children, it just required quiet. My daughter loved coming to this pool and being on her best behavior. She was silent and well-behaved and appreciated not being totally banned. And it calmed her down before bed!!!!

The Marketplace store provided provisions for us and we ate dinner there nearly every night. This isn't fancy dining, it is edible family fare for a reasonable price. We sat at the outdoor tables and enjoyed ourselves every night and didn't feel like we were having our wallets shaken down. The grill by the pool was also wonderful, with nice drinks, grill food and a gorgeous view. Again, not fancy haute cuisine, just relaxed paradise.

The beach in front of the hotel is pretty and has some snorkeling (it was a bit rough when we were out there, but we did manage to see all the usual suspects of Hawaiian fish). Every morning I would jog up and down the path and have a spectacular run.

Our hotel was listed as "Ocean View" and I see a lot of people did not feel they got their money's worth for that. It is true, that I did expect to see more than a sliver of ocean off to the side. But, the view from our room was of spectacular, lush mountains all the way down to the beach (blocked by trees), and a parking lot. There was a view of a lot of green grass with chickens running all around. The noise of the roosters didn't bother us. We could barely hear it after we woke up. It didn't wake us up at all. The windows seemed to block it out pretty much. The large balcony was gorgeous and a very nice place to sit. On New Year's Eve we had the perfect view from our balcony of the fireworks over Poipu Beach. We couldn't actually see Poipu Beach though because of the trees blocking the view.

This isn't the place for discerning, childless couples expecting to be waited on hand and foot. It isn't a place for elegant luxury, it is more casual and relaxing. It was very quiet though, and there weren't a lot of loud children running around. So, childless couples would still enjoy themselves if they weren't expecting really high end luxury. This is for people who want to have a vacation in paradise with convenience, space, and comfort.

Room Tip: Ocean view does not equal ocean front. We were in the back side of Hale 7 on the 3rd floor and we lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    151
    54
    23
    18
See reviews for
309
147
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We love coming back again and again to the Waiohai. On our first trip for our 25th anniversary in 2004 we were returning to our honeymoon spot. The original hotel there was wiped out by Hurricane Iniki in 1992. We thought it was fate that Marriott called to offer a "preview" trip in anticipation we would buy a timeshare. Yes we went through all the sales pitches, but it was easy to say no. A great time. They asked us back a year later and we like it so much we bought one week.

Now we come frequently and love the place. It has nice pools, a good beach, and access to several other sites close by. (Do not miss Puka Dog!)

All the suites are the same two bedroom with a kitchen. The BBQs are a great place to get to know the other guests as many gather there to cook the evening meal.

Room Tip: Really the best way to get a good room is to be nice to the people when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Upkeep of grounds very nice... Lots of close good restaurants, small but beautiful beach areas... Biggest complaints;not many water view units and the unit we were in really could use some upgrades in bathroom layout and kitchen area.. But the rooms were clean and spacious!Loved having a kitchen with teenagers in tow... Also washer and dryers in unit big plus!!

Saw whales, monk seals and sea turtles right near/on property... beautiful pathways and grounds... Beautiful sunsets right from property....

Room Tip: rooms on higher levels and near front of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I give this resort four stars: And I'll probably never come here again. Why? The "ocean view" parking lot buildings. We're not in one this time--but we could have been. And we could be next time. We've walked by one of those buildings several times, and I totally get why people are so upset. The balconies literally look right out at the parking lot! I've never seen anything like it, and I've been to quite a few resorts. Nor have I seen anyone enjoying coffee or a cocktail out on those balconies. It's flat-out shocking that Marriott would call those "ocean view" rooms and charges MORE for them. And unless you're an owner at THIS resort (we own in California), there is no way to be sure to avoid those buildings.

So if you're an easygoing type and don't care about your unit's view because you'll be down at the pool or out hiking or snorkeling all the time, then go for it. The units are well appointed and comfortable and the property overall is lovely and well located. The service is subpar for a Marriott, but it's passable. But if it would ruin your vacation to show up and find out you have a parking lot view, I wouldn't take a chance. It could happen.

Now to the roosters. Totally obnoxious, totally not charming. They go off at around 4 a.m. and never shut up. If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs or stay elsewhere. Seriously, I'm not a violent person and I'd never own a gun, but I've had a few fantasies about a rooster BBQ at one of the nice gas grills.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for the week of Christmas. The rooms are your typical Marriott Villas. Clean and nice. The grounds were amazing. The staff was very friendly. Loved the beach access. Saw whales, monk seals, sea turtles, roosters (kind of annoying), chickens etc.... We didn't participate in many hotel activities but did love that you could rent boogey boards and snorkel gear right at the hotel. One drawback was that we were in the furthest building and had to walk about 5 minutes to get from our room to the beach. Our ocean "view" was pretty far away. Would not recommend for couples. Perfect for families.

Room Tip: Having an Oceanside room does not guarantee a view of the ocean. It just means you are on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

From the time we checked in until the time we left it was the place to be. Awesome property with fantastic rooms and everyone was so friendly and provided excellent customer service. In addition to the property pets (cats, roosters, chickens) we saw deal monks everyday and one day we even saw a sea turtle sunning himself. Would highly recommend this property...we stayed in points- were not owners to anyone just wanting to get away from it all. The only thing we didn't like was having to pay the daily parking fee.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We returned to the island of Kauai and chose this Marriott again. We were able to get a very good room for each of our two week segments. Everything was wonderful--despite windy, rainy weather this time of year. The grounds are paradisaic, the staff friendly, and the rooms are clean. The beds are great. The hotel was, surprisingly, not overcrowded for this time of year. We will return if possible!

Room Tip: The higher floors have a fuller view and more privacy. Hales one and eight are closest to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.