We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a vacation for three generations, including a 5 and a 2 year old. The resort has beautiful grounds, great pools for children and the beach is very convenient. One comment about the pool, beware of the VERY slippery deck surface. I understand the pools were recently re-done, but the deck surface is downright dangerous! I saw numerous people slip and two actually fall.
We were exceedingly lucky in the location of our unit, we were adjacent to the pool and steps from the beach, I don't know how we got so lucky, but we were very grateful. The unit was quite nice, not brand new, but certainly comfortable and acceptable. Everything seems to be well maintained. With our location, I watched the grounds crew early morning daily cleaning the pools and the walkways, even to using a floor scrubber on the walkways. The front desk staff and the other staff we had contact with all seemed exceedingly nice, remembered us and were eager that we were enjoying our visit.
Poipu is a great location, with lots of restaurants with lots of options for style and price, we found very little reason to leave the area with two little boys wanting nothing but to swim and play on the beach. It was absolutely perfect for our needs on this trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    151
    54
    23
    18
See reviews for
309
145
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This resort is smaller than most of the Marriott Vacation Clubs, but is an outstanding destination for a well-balanced vacation. The villas measure up to Marriott's great standard, the location on the Island is perfect, and the seaside opportunities are vast. This is not the place for singles or people on business because the orientation is families and "living in" the villas. However, the drinks at the oceanside bar are terrific. We got stuck on the special - "lava-flows" the first day and had them all week. The fitness program is the best around for minimal cost-the same program that's offered at KoOlina on Oahu. Since this is a timeshare resort, renters should look into the villas rather than hotel rooms, since they are much more numerous, and probably cost about the same. As a Marriott owner, I always make note of the resorts I would visit again, and this one is on my list.

Room Tip: All the garden views are great, and most offer at least a glimpse of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Almost the entire resort is condo style rooms with all the amenities , the are very few straight hotel rooms. The grounds are very well landscaped and pools that flow into one another. You are steps from the ocean and fantastic beach . The snorkelling and surfing is fabulous right here, no need to drive anywhere and sea turtles play right here ! Depending on the time of year you can whale watch from the poolside or see a monk seal sunning its self on the clean beaches. The Honu bar offers snacks and refreshments with the added bonus of catching the game so you don't miss a thing in paradise. The is a central bar b q station if you want to eat in. The rooms offer everything in a clean well layed out Hawaiian fashion. Ours had a parking lot view, but that is not a big deal when you have paradise just steps away. You could request a better view but we really didn't miss it. The beds were amazingly comfortable ! If you want to eat out there are several great places accross the street in the mall as there is nothing other than the bar ( closes at sunset ) and a small takeout / breakfast snack area in the gift shop. The only problem we had was very poor internet ! There is a Starbucks in the mall accross the street but on property it is very rough !! So if you really want to get away and enjoy the aloha this is the place for you !

Room Tip: Don't forget your snorkelling gear ! Some of the best areas right here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom condo. It had no view whatsoever but we knew that going in. The location is fantastic being near excellent restaurants and golf courses. The beach is great. Excellent snorkeling just off the beach. We enjoyed the yoga and water exercise program associated with Marriott. The bar is right on the waterfront with excellent sunset views. The bar has a limited menu and closes very early. There was no pressure for timeshare presentations and it was only mentioned. Some reviewers complain about the views from the rooms but it is always true at timeshares that the premium views go to the owners, most of whom paid $50,000 or more for the privilege. I felt fortunate to trade here. I can't wait to return here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We did a lot of research before deciding on this hotel, and we nailed it! Beautiful accommodations, right on a magnificent beach with spectacular sunset views (late October), outstanding beachfront bar and grill with great food, friendly staff, clean as a whistle throughout, amazing grounds and pool. Best part is to be able to walk out of your room, and down to the beach with snorkel gear in hand and snorkel in warm, clear waters where we swam with giant sea turtles and about 40 species of fish, or explored the many lava tidal pools. Only 25 min from Lihue airport, and a fantastic restaurant within 200 yards called the Red Salt, reasonable prices, excellent food and great staff. Perfect vacation!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms in the hotel that aren't time shares, and they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Never, Never, Never stay at a Marriott. We just checked into Marriott Waiohai Beach Club on Kauai in what was supposed to be an Ocean View Room and there is NO ocean view. We are very disappointed. We were in the elevator and another guest was checking out because they too were very disappointed with their room. We have talked to the manager and they say there are no other rooms available. At more than $400.00 per night we should have gotten what we booked online. So sad that you can get ripped off from such big name companies like Marriott. This is an injustice. When we ask why do we not get the ocean view we are told that they were booked a year in advance by owners. Why then did they take our reservation 2 months ago for an ocean view room? $1650.00 for 4 nights should include the ocean view we were told we reserved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a nice ocean front property on a beautiful beach, but has one major flaw that all who are considering this property should be aware of. If you are not a vacation timeshare owner, and are "only" a paying hotel guest (only paying $400-600 a night), it is unlikely you will get a room with a decent view. Even if you pay for a "ocean view" room, it will probably not be what you are expecting. Your "ocean view" will likely only be from the balcony, and at a fair distance across a parking lot or through the trees. The hotel calls any room that can have a glimpse of the ocean from a distance an "ocean view" room. The property is fairly nice, but getting a bit tired and in need of upgrading the rooms. There is no full service restaurant on-site, but there is a beach bar with a limited menu open limited hours. There are outdoor BBQ's on the property, so your best bet is to plan to eat in. Kauai is a wonderful island with much to offer, including a lot of vacation rentals and hotels. As with any place you rent, even though this is a Marriott, it is still "Buyer Beware".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Address: 2249 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Waiohai Beach Club Hotel Poipu
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Poipu
Marriott Poipu
Poipu Marriott
Marriotts Waiohai Beach Club
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.