We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on Wine Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RumFire

RumFire
Sheraton Kauai, 2440 Hoonani Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go on Wine Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The wine list is pretty decent, and the prices are great when half priced. The food is okay, and it's clear they are trying to improve service. Wouldn't make a special trip, but worth an evening if you are staying in the Sheraton.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    109
    72
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful location that fit with terrain, matched by freshness of food & quality of service. Great bar area with good wine list. Lovely outdoor fire areas.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Expect to spend $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

On the 19th of December, I made reservations for my family at the Rumfire Restaurant for Christmas Eve. Before doing so I looked at the menu and prices - things were expensive ($15-$20) range for meals which was doable. I also asked for a table with an ocean view if possible and was told since I was booking early, it would be no problem. The view was outstanding and located in the Sheraton Hotel which was right beside the condo we stayed in. Christmas Eve night we were seated by the front entrance and beside the kitchen staff. Thankfully, the host was accomodating and moved us to a better location - one with a view. So, if you choose to eat here - don't settle for a cruddy location. The prices Christmas Eve were much different than the menu option I had looked at 5 days previously. Most meals started at $15 and went to $55.00/plate. In short, our meal was delicious. If you enjoy spending lots of money and getting small meals - this is the place for you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angels Camp, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stunning setting, unique menu and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed a spectacular sunset while munching on creative "pupus" and drinks at Rum Fire, the Sheraton Kauai's restaurant. It's situated right on the water at Poipu Beach, a perfect setting for sunset viewing, and the crescent banquettes are placed in prime viewing positions. We found the staff very helpful and knowledgeable, about the menu items as well as the area with suggestions for to-do activities while in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“lovely view of the beach and good service/food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had the seafood risotto and it was DELICIOUS. Also enjoyed the chicken - both meals were wonderfully prepared. Lovely view overlooking the beach - especially when they shine the light on the surf after dark.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RumFire also viewed

 

Been to RumFire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RumFire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.