We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner with a sunset view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RumFire

RumFire
Sheraton Kauai, 2440 Hoonani Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner with a sunset view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Innovative, modern menu and a beautiful ocean front view. $100 for a dinner for two (appetizer, two entrees, and cocktails). Definitely would recommend to friends!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    109
    71
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was ok...nothing spectacular. I would say the French toast and bread pudding were great. The omelette was a little too oily for our liking. Don't forget to steal an extra slice of bread for the fish. The fish love bread and they are pretty awesome if you feed them.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our breakfast. There is a wide selection of buffet items to choose from. The Hawaiian fried rice was super. Wish I had the recipe! The staff was personable and helpful in regards to our visit to the island. Also, you can't beat the view!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great but isolated from the nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

For those who know the location – it is the place where The Point was, surrounded by the ocean, few meters from the surf. It is now the new restaurant, completely renovated. Large, spacious, but divided into levels and zones, with large circular bar in the middle. Open, modern, industrial type kitchen. Nice selection of cocktails and food. Excellent, fast and friendly service. Prices moderate, particularly considering that dishes are quite big. But from my point of view there is a drawback. Restaurant is placed in one of the most beautiful ocean front locations on South Shore. One can expect it to be exposed to the view and sound of waves and trade wind. Wrong – the restaurant is carefully isolated from the surrounding, with closed windows all around, blocking not only fresh air and ocean sounds but at the night also vision. So if not Hawaiian food you might think that you are anywhere on the Mainland, not on Kauai. And the CD music is to laud, almost that talking is difficult. In this respect old The Point was much better with its outside tables.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It was awesome...the first time we tried it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I went here on the second night of our trip, I ordered the steak and she had the prime rib special. It was great, the server Mitch was very friendly, kept checking on us to make sure we were ok. The food was perfect also. It was so good that we decided to go there again on the last night of our trip. It was a totally different experience. The server was quick to get us our drinks and take our order. She brought the food and then she disappeared. My wife and I ordered the exact same thing as before and my steak was a dry over cooked chunk of meat and the wife who ordered her prime rib medium, got the very end cut, which was also well over done. When the server finally showed up and noticed she wasnt eating the prime rib, she asked in a rather rude manner, "what's the problem?" She got the manager who in the end took the prime rib off the bill. In a nutshell, I really hope this restaurant gets consistent, because it has the potential to be excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RumFire also viewed

 

Been to RumFire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RumFire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.