We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#223 has New Owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikomo Stream Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Waikomo Stream Villas to your Saves list
Waikomo Stream Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2721 Poipu Road, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“#223 has New Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Waikomo Stream Villas #223 has new owners and the problems previously noted for this unit are long gone. We had a fantastic time! The suite is large and was a great value. My favourite part was falling asleep to the nature sounds (crickets?) in the lush inner courtyard, and waking to birdsong. I don't think we could hear any frogs from this unit. The kitchen overlooks the pool, and the lanai overlooks the large Wyndham development next door, but it is okay - still palm trees to look at and fairly quiet as it is the back of the development. The proximity to the wonderful Poipu beach area is great for families. You have both choices - a calm sandy bay for swimming and snorkelling, and the exhilarating waves of Brenneke's Beach across the park for boogie boarding. The unit was well stocked with everything you need in the kitchen, towels and linens, and washer and dryer with all supplies, wifi, beach chairs and boogie board. The pillow top king size bed was super comfy. We put the pull out mattress on the floor in the living room where you could get a real cross-breeze at night by opening the sliding glass door and windows. Even though there is no air conditioning, the place was kept cool by the wonderful breezes. Having Netflix was great too for when the kids had enough sun for the day. Plus there is a Lapperts ice cream at the ritzy Shops at Kukui`ula next door! Nice place to window shop or eat out, however nearby Koloa has more character for shopping and eating. If you are on a budget, I'd recommend getting groceries at Costco or Walmart in Lihue as the grocieries in Poipu are pricey. Kristen at Aloha Condos is a phone call away for any questions or problems. The owner called us midway through our week there to make sure we were happy with everything too. We were very happy! Waikomo Stream Villas is a wonderful choice in the Poipu area, especially if you are looking for a more affordable rental in this area. The grounds are lovely. It's quiet and family oriented. Great location for exploring the west side, Waimea Canyon or taking a boat trip to see the Napali coast. A longer drive to Hanalei and the North area, but not to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our family stayed in unit 130 @ Waikomo stream villa's, and we loved every minute of it ! We really didn't want to leave. It's not "fancy" , but feels so much like home. We love the idea of a condo, and this is just what we were looking for, and it was such a great price ! I would stay again !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed in this condo. I specifically asked for this one when I came back to Poipu. It is a 2 story loft, the upstairs has a queen size bed, and bathroom, and you can look over the ledge to see the downstairs. It has high ceilings, original wood beams. It was recently updated, cool lighting, modern kitchen, bright colored accent walls, 2 flat screen TVs, great sound system, dining area with glass table. 1500 square feet. The best part is the setting and the view from the lani, you overlook lush private gardens, and hear the birds and the stream, you feel very secluded, yet you are walking distance from the beach, and the shopping center where all the great restaurants are. Definitey worth getting this unit, I will always stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have stayed in this condo several times. The place is immaculate, elegant and at the same time, feels like home. The owner recently updated it and it is now even more special than before. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We chose to stay at a condo this time for its advantages (i.e. Kitchen, washer and dryer, no "resort fee", free parking). After searching the web, we found that Waikomo was having an anniversary special on a "premier unit" for only $70 a night. We checked out the photos, unit locations and the reviews of the available units, and we initially selected unit 223. It was listed as "premier" unit, which means it was remodeled within the last 5 years. The website had the older photos, but it stated that the photos would be "updated" soon. We reviewed other premier units and liked what we saw. When the reservation staff verified that unit 223 was a premier end unit, we booked it for 7 nights at the fantastic price. The reservation staff was friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, we checked in at the front office, picked up our room keys and proceeded to our room. Upon entry, we were shocked at how dated unit 223 was. It wasn't even close to the already dated photos on the website. It was obvious the unit hasn't been remodeled at all. It was still stuck back in the 1980's. The kitchen was run down with the cabinets fading and it's doors misaligned. The refrigerator was old and stained as were all the appliances. The living room furnitures and the bedroom set were worn and old as well. The bathroom was clean, but it was stuck in the 1980's also. We're not nit picky people, and we're usually tolerant about minor things, but this place was just too dated, run down and intolerable. Furthermore, we were upset they booked us this unit was a premier. This part was absolutely intolerable. When I called the front office and complained, they said they would have the main reservation office contact us. After about 10-15 minutes, they called, and I addressed all the issues. They said they usually don't refund or change units, but when I complained about the misleading photos, it being listed as a premier and their staff confirming that during booking, they gave us a choice of discounting $10 per night at the same unit or changing us to a different unit. It wan't really about the money, so we chose to relocate. The front office then met us and immediately apologized stating that they had just downgraded unit 223 to a "deluxe" last Monday. Now, a "deluxe" was suppose to a unit that has been remodeled within the last 10 years. But it was absolutely evident this unit has not been remodeled since it was built. So it should have been listed as a "island casual",
which basically means it's really old and dated. This just left a bad impression about the Parrish Collection, which manages the Waikomo Villas. They were deceptive and misleading.
They did relocate us to another unit, which was much better and an actual "premier".

Would we stay here again? Probably not. We only stayed here, because of the great anniversary price. But if we had to pay full price, we wouldn't have booked it (even before we became aware of all the issues). However, if you have a family or want to avoid the resorts, then it can be an ideal place. But make sure you select the right unit, then double
and triple verify the status of the unit.

Room Tip: Make sure you select the right unit, then double and triple verify the status of the unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked Waikomo Stream Villas 333 through Parrish Kauai from their website. We usually stay at the Poipu Sands (which we really enjoy) when we visit Kauai but were intrigued with the look of this unit and the lower cost/night. We were not disappointed with our choice at all! Unit 333 is decorated beautifully, is very spacious and has lots of windows/light. The master bedroom was on the lower level and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. We had double closets and a big dresser and lots of space to move around in. Our 15 year old son had the upstairs loft area and separate bathroom which he found great - even though it opened to the living/dining room below it felt very private. The living room has a Sony flat screen tv and the living area has comfortable furniture to hang out in and/or watch tv/movies. The kitchen and bathroom counters have all been upgraded (granite). The kitchen area wasn't huge but was more than adequate. We loved the high ceiling and high windows. There is no air conditioning but there are lots of trade winds blowing through so we didn't need any even though we were there in August. There are lots of trees in the area and we felt we were elevated and staying in a treehouse. There was a small view of the ocean from the balcony and kitchen which was nice. The lanai was small compared to the Poipu Sands but had a table with 4 chairs that was sufficient to eat comfortably at. The complex had a nice pool (deep to 8' which is getting harder to find at accommodations) and although not large had a number of lounge chairs and umbrellas surrounding it. Everything was cleaned and maintained well. We enjoyed the convenience of the Waikomo Stream Villas to the new shopping complex close by - we could walk over for lunch/dinners and not have to bother with the car. The only potential negative that we experienced were the roosters that roam through the property and can wake you up. We got used to this very quickly and could sleep through their occasional sound. Parrish Kauai was easy to deal with and we would go through them again as well as rent this unit again. We also really enjoyed Parrish Kauai supplying the great bath soaps and shampoos - that was a nice treat!

Room Tip: End units are brighter with more windows. We enjoyed being on the top floor (3rd) for the vaulted c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times, in different units, and I love it. There's lush greenery around, the condos are massive, and the sense of privacy is much more noticable than many I've been to. Plus the units I stayed in had everything you could think of for a holiday - beach gear, washer/dryer, full kitchen setup, guidebooks etc.

A friend stayed at the Sheraton, paying 3 times as much for a small room with worse views - there's really no contest. The prices you get at Waikomo are incredibly good value. Really it comes down to whether you insist on a sea view. Personally I'm not bothered, so Waikomo is hard to beat for South Shore accomodation.

Room Tip: Would recommend middle/top floor for better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikomo Stream Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikomo Stream Villas

Address: 2721 Poipu Road, Poipu Beach, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikomo Stream Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best kept secrets in the Poipu Beach Resort area, Waikomo Stream Villas is a lush garden resort containing just 60 units located on the sunny side of Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Waikomo Stream Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikomo Stream Villas Hotel Poipu
Waikomo Stream Villas Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikomo Stream Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.