We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“304A - A little piece of paradise!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Poipu Shores Resort to your Saves list
Poipu Shores Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1775 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Winnetka, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“304A - A little piece of paradise!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Poipu Shores #304A for 12 days recently in August. It was our first trip to Kauai, and to Hawaii, so we wanted everything to be perfect. We rented this condo through Lynn Hufschmid of Great Vacation Retreats, and she was great to work with, helping us find what we wanted, and we were very happy with this choice. The condo was exactly as pictured online. The property is managed onsite by a different group than who we rented from, but we did not have any issues while there and the Great Vacation Rentals office is a short distance away in the Poipu Shopping Village if you need to contact them. We stopped in to say hello and ask a couple questions and they were very helpful. The condo itself is on the third floor (there are stairs or you can take the elevator) and the unit overlooks the ocean. This was why we chose this rental: the amazing view of the ocean. You can't get any closer! After flying 5,000 miles, I wanted to see the water first thing in the morning, and I got my wish. Every day I'd get up early and sit on the lanai, watch the sun rise over the water, look for passing dolphins, and enjoy the breeze from the trade winds. The condo is 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, with a full kitchen, dining area, living room area, laundry room, beach towels, Wifi, and a hospitality basket greets you when you arrive with coffee and various necessities to start you off. They also provide locally-made soap, shampoo and lotions from the Island Soap and Candle Works, which was a very nice little luxury. The entire condo is updated with beautiful cabinets, granite counter tops, tile floors throughout and everything was very clean. My 10-year old son enjoyed the flat-screen TV and DVD player while relaxing at night after a long day at the beaches! The master bedroom is large, has plenty of storage space for clothes, and huge windows with that amazing ocean view. The master bath is en-suite and very nice, with fluffy towels and a large shower. The second bedroom is smaller than the master but was quite fine for my son, and faces the other side of the condo unit (so no ocean view), with a closet and dresser for storage. The second bath is located adjacent to the bedroom, with another large shower (there is no tub is this condo, if that is something you need). The second bedroom is actually quieter for sleeping than the master, as the ocean waves pound the rocks all night long. Some people might love this sound, some might not, so just FYI, if you are a light sleeper, either bring earplugs or sleep in the second bedroom. One big benefit of this condo location: NO crowing roosters! None on the property at all, and trust me, after hearing them all over the island at all hours, it is lovely to not hear them crowing when you want to go to sleep. Both bedrooms have ceiling fans, as does the living room area. The condo does not have air conditioning, and while we did not find this to be an issue, there were a couple nights that it got a little stuffy when the winds quieted down, so we just went and bought a $20 fan from Wal-Mart to move the air a little more, and that worked fine. The condo buildings themselves are older and yes they look a little dated, and while we didn't really care about that at all, it is not like the posh grounds of the Hyatt. But it is private, not overrun with people, very clean and very quiet. The pool is quite nice, also very clean, with a good-size deck area with chairs and tables. It is not overly fancy, but we enjoyed it every day and never felt like it was crowded. We all loved standing on the pool deck and watching the waves crash onto the rocks right below us, and watching the sea turtles swim in the waves. We saw so many, we lost count! There is no beach in front of the property - it is all lava rocks which are fun for watching tidepools and the little crabs scuttling around - but Poipu Beach and Brennecke Beach are a short walk and you can see both beaches from the lanai. (If you are traveling with little kids, I'd recommend driving to the beach instead of walking and carrying all your gear.) They do not provide beach gear other than towels, so we rented from Snorkel Bob's. As for the condo location, we found it to be a great base for exploring the island. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby, Lihue is only a short 20 minute drive and the North Shore is about an hour or so, depending on traffic. Waimea Canyon and the west side of the island are also not far away. While I have not posted any photos on this site, the photos I have seen of the property are exactly how it looks! Overall, we were very pleased with the condo and location - we even extended our trip four extra days because we did not want to go home yet! If we return again, we will definitely stay here again. Aloha!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. We welcome all reviews as they help us improve our guests stay in the future. We hope you get the opportunity to return to the property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I rented this unit from Patricia Biehn. From my first communication to her through departure, she was responsive, available to all questions, patient, and truly full of the spirit of Aloha. The unit 303A, is in great shape. It's fully furnished, including boogie boards, beach towels, washer, dryer, and full kitchen, with dishes, etc. Balcony overlooks the ocean, with pool to your extreme left. All her photos of the unit were exactly as they looked. Sunsets were incredible! There is no beach, but Poipu Beach and resorts are a five minute walk away.

The grounds look great and seem well maintained, considering this is right on the ocean. As others have said, the sea turtles are fun to watch. We were looking for a resort-like location, without the resort-like fees and we found it. This place was great and if I ever return, I will stay here.

Here is the website:

http://www.poipubeachcondo.com/index.htm

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for writing a response concerning your recent stay here at the property. Our ocean front location does provide great entertainment from our family of honu who live in the coves and in season, the whales that pass by. We hope you do get the opportunity to revisit the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I just completed and 11 day stay in Kauai at 4 destinations. John and Janis's unit #103A at Poipu shores was one of our favorite destinations - not just on this trip but in all the Hawaiian Islands.
The unit is on the first floor. Unlike most places, the first floor units at Poipu Shores are the most sought after (I know I compared real estate prices here). For the first floor one can walk out right to the pool or the beach.
The unit itself is very large - 2 nice size bedrooms with laundry and a full kitchen. If one closes the shades during the day (that is when you're not enjoying the view) it stays very cool. The Master bedroom has air-conditioning that we never bothered to use. The main bedroom has a King-Size bed that's very comfortable.
Within the first 14 hours of our stay, we saw a large pod of dolphins, sea turtles, and a seal. During the rest of our stay we saw only a couple of sea turtles so I'm not sure how John arranged the wildlife show during the beginning of our stay.
The rooms are 'quiet' - I put that in quotes because it's quiet from humans. The sound of the waves crashing against the rocks can be loud. We loved the sound so much we didn't dare turn on the air conditioning, instead we opted to sleep with the windows open.I think it's possible to stay closer to the water. One could stay on a boat or a submarine.
The nearby Poipu beach is excellent. Poipu is an excellent location for exploring the western part of the island and Waimea Canyon. We stayed in a highly-rated B&B in the western part of the Island but didn't like it 1/2 as much as we enjoyed Poipu Shores.
After Poipu Shores, we checked into the Hyatt where I had a couple of free nights. I loved the Hyatt but 2 days of the busy resort was quite enough. However, I would have preferred to stay longer at Poipu shores.

Room Tip: Do a private rental so you know what room you're getting. Go to flipkey (by tripadvisor) and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Poipu Shores with all its ocean front rooms offers quite a view. We will always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Poipu Shores Unit 202B. Absolutely AWESOME! I can't think of a more enjoyable, tranquil, place on this whole earth. This ocean front unit is perfectly located directly off the parking lot, NO STAIRS but rests on the 2nd floor ocean side that boasts stunning views of the blue pacific, lazy palms, and sea life abound. The heated pool just below and to the right, is perfect and a must for anyone that would like to escape everyday life for rest and relaxation. The pounding surf, the ocean wildlife, is in itself a treasure rarely available to anyone let alone right outside 3 sliding doors and an expansive lanai.

Owner Tarak, has done a nice job keeping this unit comfortable and up to date. He has it well stocked with beach gear and towels for your use, a real plus. He was a pleasure to conduct business with, very easy going and eager to accommodate.

We are planning another trip back to beautiful Poipu, Kauai next year. Give yourselves a real treat, stay at this condo, you will not be sorry that you did. Totally memorable!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay here at Poipu Shores Resort. I sincerely hope you get the opportunity to return and enjoy our property and all the Kauai has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We rented #106A from John and Janis through www. kauaibeachfrontcondo.com I can not say enough good things about our experience with Janis and their condo #106A. First off the condo is newly remodeled and prof.decorated with local Hawian art great high quality furnature very comfy beds and very clean!and i am perticular about my cleaning .The unit has almost everything you might need,soap,dish soap,dishwasher soap, up scale pots and pans and dishes and silver, spices ,laundry soap full size washer/dryer ,great cieling fans,beach chaires,snorkel gear ,books,flat screen tvs,granite counters and back splash,stainless appliences inc subzero frig, free $30 bottle of champaine,there are nice BBQ grills right outside the condo we BBQ ed 3 nights we were there. Roys is a restaurant near by very up scale but gggggreat ! The pool is very nice and has a great view.The only negitives I have about this property is the pool closes at sunset but we stayed later and no one said anything , you need to use your key to open the pool gate and use your key to get out of the pool area ,the parking lot was full even in the pre high season of June 9-14, 2012 it was hard to get a spot if you come in late. We did the Smith Familys Tropical Luau I recommend it you get a tram ride throu a beautiful 20 acer tropical garden before the dinner great food!!! and a great show in a theater setting instead of watching from dinner tables.

Room Tip: rent unit from John and Janis from www.kauaibeachfrontcondo.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking th time to review the property. Although he did not bok through Caslte Resorts and Hotels we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had such nice things to say about the proeprty. We hope you get the opportunity to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

While the units vary due to the fact they are privately owned - the location is the best ever, even the worst unit we had was just fine - and others are outstanding. Always clean, good staff, and again, I can not stress enough - we love the location and the views. Sea turtles during the day and those awesome sunsets - the sound of the waves - birds in the trees - every day you wake up in love with Hawaii, Kauai and your location on the ocean. We have stayed here four times - and although we have tried a few other places with very very nice units - nicer than the shores in many ways - there is NOTHING like the location...and the quality of the units is fine. Prices reasonable. Its not a five star complex - probably not four star by some standards - but three star with a five star view and location - clean and friendly - it's Hawaii - drink your Mai Tai and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for selecting our property so many times while on Kauai. We apprecaite your comments and will alway strive fulfill your needs and desires. We hope you will continue to visit us in the future and we will always tty to make your stay here in paradise an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers Beach, FL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We loved staying at Poipu Shores. It could not have been more perfect for us. We flew 5,000 miles to get to Kauai and the best part was sitting on our balcony listening to the ocean and watching the turtles. The staff were kind, helpful and friendly. It is not the Hyatt. If you are looking for 4-5 star, this is not it. Our rooms were clean and well stocked. There was a musty smell to our rooms which one would expect in non-air conditioned, open air, beach front properties. We would come back in a heart beat. I'm recommending it to my "5 star, 'fluffy' niece and she loves to be pampered! I'm sure that the continual sounds from the ocean could be a problem for some, but it was heaven for us. Thanks to everyone at Poipu Shores and for the room up grade!!!

Room Tip: We loved the 2nd floor, corner unit in building B. Lots of space and only one neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay at our property.I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and listending to the ocean sounds and seeing our resident turtle population. I hope you have the opportunity to return and mahalo for referring us to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Address: 1775 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.