We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time. Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Plantation Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poipu Plantation Resort
Save
You added Poipu Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Inn and Vacation Rental Suites, 1792 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free housekeeping
Ranked #2 of 2 Poipu B&B and Inns
San José del Cabo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A step back in time. Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you're looking for a "state of the art" 21st century resort, Poipu Plantation is not for you. It felt more like the late 40's or early 50's, which was perfect for us. This is a small property, only 3 units in our building. It was tastefully furnished, spotless and more than met our expectations. It has a very tropical, lush feel. Our unit did not have an ocean view, but it was a quick walk to the beach. The closest spot is where folks gather to watch the sunset. There is a large public park nearby as well.
Poipu is a good base camp for exploring Kauai. We spent 4 days. Poipu and nearby Koloa are small towns, so shopping for some basics on arrival at Lihue makes sense. We would return.

Room Tip: There are some second floor rooms with a view, but you are close enough to the Pacific so if you wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Aloha BajaBeck and thank you for reviewing our property last year. While very late in recognizing your review, we just wanted to say Mahalo for enjoying our little property here at Poipu Beach and our entire island of Kauai. We hope to see you again on Kauai in the future, A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    36
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
113
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Everett, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Poipu Plantation B & B. we stayed the the Queens room which was very nice and quiet but slightly dated. It had a walk-in type closet area with a safe for your valuables (no cost to you just type in your 4 number password) and a double sided chest of draws. The brunch that is made every morning is excellent!!! Always something different every morning served with juice, tea, and coffee which is served on the lanai. The service is also WONDERFUL! Jarvid (sp ?) is absolutely excellent; giving advice on the best beaches and making sure you consider every detail including giving you maps, best time of day, proper shoe wear, and letting you take the extra sunscreen that they have there in the office. Also they have extra beach towels, a small selection loaner snorkel gear and beach bags and back packs as well as travel books. We come to Javid for advice and assistance, he was always gracious and helpful, making our stay peaceful and easy going! Thank you!
The location is excellent since it is an easy walk to Poipu Beach and Brenneck's Restaurant. Excellent choice for a condo or resort alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Aloha ChelseyS and thank you for taking the time to review our bed and breakfast Inn. We really appreciate your kind words and having enjoyed Javed, Mr. Hospitality! It is very gratifying when our guests make use of our services and extras that we feel only make your valuable time on Kauai the best. We are excited to be doing a full renovation of our Inn later this year. We are restoring this 1938 building to include removal of carpet and bringing out some original wood floors. New a/c system, furniuture and so much more, you've got to come back and see. Thank you again from our entire staff with lots of Aloha! A hui hou, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the Sunset Kahili condo across the street for a week in May. It was charming. Don't expect anything fancy, but it's a nice, big condo with hardwood floors. The king size bed was comfy and view was amazing. Everyone was very helpful at the Poipu Plantation across the street and when we had trouble with the washer one day, someone came over to help out right away. The pool was small, but nice and warm and not too noisy (it was mostly older people there). We liked it so much, we would consider buying a place there if we could!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Aloha Chillytoes and thank you for your review of our Sunset condo. We are very happy you enjoyed our place and service. We are fortunate to own the sunset condo, being a place we have referred our overflow to for years. It is a great value property and as you say, nothing fancy but certainly like home and clean. We hope to see you in the future and let us help make the most of your visits to kauai. With aloha, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Sunset Kahili condo across the street for a week for our Honeymoon. We had an absolutely amazing time. We wanted to stay somewhere that was not a resort since we wanted to be out and experience the local Hawaiian culture more. The location was great as we were walking distance to piopu beach park. The condo was clean and the view from our lanai was amazing for the sunsets. We really appreciated the staff who were happy to give us recommendations of places to go during the day. I highly recommend making a trip to Kawailoa Bay. It was the most beautiful beach I have ever been to in my life. I definitely recommend staying here especially if you are looking to to have a great time and save a little money for more fun activities. My wife and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Aloha EmersonH and thank you for taking the time to review our Sunset Condo. We are so pleased that you guys enjoyed yourselves not only at our condo, but this wonderful island of Kauai. It has so many treasures we all love to experience, even after 20+ years here, I never get used to it. We will look forward to you returning to visit us and get your Kauai fix! A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here just for one night during our week on the island. I was pleasantly surprised at how spacious, clean, and updated the room was.

Pros: Appeared to be newly renovated, VERY spacious, very clean, quiet, full kitchen to use, great location!

Cons: Bed was a little too firm, only one pillow each (we got there after anyone was at the front desk, so they might have been able to get us another).

So the cons are pretty nit picky...I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Aloha Ellen D and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Poipu Plantation here on Kauai. We were happy to have you as our guests. We hear our beds are firm from some guests. We are looking at a more cushioned top to add a more soft touch. While comments / compliments vary on beds, firm but soft seems to be the concensus! And more pillows on checkin, can do!

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again and maybe for a few more days to enjoy the sunny southshore! With aloha from all of us. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for one week in the Plumeria room. Our accomodations were very comfortable. Javed was very helpful--every morning, I would tell him what we planned to do and he would offer suggestions and directions. He gave many details and seems very knowledgeable about Kauai. Also, they had items available for the guests to use: beach towels, guide books, coolers, beach chairs, etc. This is so handy since most of us cannot pack all of these things when we go to Hawaii.

The location was great--close enough to the beach but very quiet, the only sounds were the birds. The grounds are beautiful with tropical plants and flowers. We had rain when we went to the northern shore but it did not rain when we were in Poipu.

I cannot comment on the breakfast as we stayed in a guest cottage, not in the B & B.

The Wi-Fi was quite slow in our room but signal was good if you went to the office. It would be helpful if they could put provide wrap or zipper bags in the kitchen--we packed picnic lunches almost every day.

This was our first trip to Kauai. The Poipu Plantation was the perfect spot for us, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Aloha Luvtoread and thank you for taking the time to review our property here on Kauai. We really thank you for your nice comments, mahalo nui loa! We are going to follow through on your suggestionn for plastic bags or wrap in the kitchens to preserve left overs and wrap lunch for the day. It is a great idea we have no problem in doing.
You will be happy to know that wireless for each suite is on the way. These days, too many guests struggle with our out of date wireless signal and it's timeto move into the 21st century! The modems are being installed over the next few weeks and it is still free!
We hope to see you in the future and with lots of Aloha from all of us, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks in April 2013. We booked a "scenic room" at one of the lowest rates in Poipu. The room was clean, attractive, large, and the AC was great. The little things add up. The staff and owner working at the front desk were a great help for planning day trips. The location is about 5min walk to beach. You had a small view of the ocean. They lent you towels, beach toys, other beach accessories. Only complaint was no pool - but we knew that booking the place. Would definitely recommend to other families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Aloha Lucyc2008 and thank you for taking the time to write about your visit with Poipu Plantaiton on Kauai. We really appreciate your kind words and most of all having enjoyed our place and wonderful island of Kauai. We hope to see you in the future, a hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poipu Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Address: Bed & Breakfast Inn and Vacation Rental Suites, 1792 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Beach neighborhood resort with ten Vacation Rentals and four bed and breakfast suites all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.