We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Plantation Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poipu Plantation Resort
Save Saved
You added Poipu Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Inn and Vacation Rental Suites, 1792 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Poipu B&B and Inns
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before our condo was available in Princeville. We were delighted with our stay here.
We stayed in the Bed & Breakfast accommodations. The room was comfortable; the bathroom,
spacious and clean.
The Hawaiian breakfast was very special-- served by Audrey who made us feel like old friends.
The location is great! Close access to Poipu Beach and a walking trail along the beach to the Grand Hyatt.
This is a terrific value. Don 't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit with us at Poipu Plantation. We are so pleased you enjoyed the stay at our Bed and breakfast Inn and hope the rest of your time on Kauai is special. A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    35
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
103
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Want to send a big thank you to Chris and his staff at the B&B. Chris was a wealth of information as far as places to go, espeically off the beaten track. Thanks to Audrey for putting hot water and cups out for evening tea and congratulations on the new grand-baby. We felt so at home our 3 nights in the B&B-the only suggestion I could give them is-pillow tops for your mattresses. Got spoiled by our therma rests at home!
Excellent location to the beach and watching the sunset. First night there, we were seranaded at sunset by a bagpipe!
If we were to go back, I think we'd try and get space in their condos.

Mahalo Chris and staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha Lynda and thanks for commenting on your visit with us at the Poipu Plantation. We all enjoyed havinig you as our guests. We must thank you for being specific about your bed preferences, this is a difficult choice to find one that suits everyone. I am seeing more pillow tops in the hotels and something we will talk to our Serta experts about. We are renovating this year which includes a completely new bathrorom for the Master Bedroom Suite.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality, Kauai and all the aloha spirit of our island. Until next time, a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After one big welcoming aloha, we immediately felt at home. Small, clean and a great host. They give you all the tips where to go on adventure. Beachgear was available. Parking place, near to the beach, and a restaunt called Brennekes. Bit too crowed place at Easter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha Den Haag, mahalo nui loa for enjoying our place on Kauai. Your pleasure and enjoyment is what makes our work so pleasant. Have a great 2013! Mahalo, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Five of us recently stayed here in an Upstairs 2 bed,2 bath condo.I had stayed here 2 years ago and found the place charming.Go to the Hyatt or Sheraton for a fancy cocktail,a special dinner,but come back to the friendly,quiet comfort of the Plantation so you can afford that second Martini.We found the beds comfortable,everything we needed in the kitchen,but as many others have noted,the staff cannot do enough to help.We arranged our rental car through them,enjoyed the advice on hiking,dining,the daily Market locations where fresh papaya ,pineapples and bananas are a delicious bargain for breakfast at the condo.Location is great,and I have just noticed from other reviews that Javed makes breakfast for the B&B! Next trip.Construction noise nearby.A pool someday would be welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha Pamela and thanks very much for taking the time to review Poipu Plantation and keeping us in your thoughts as a return guest. Not sure we will ever add a pool, but that calm water swimming area at Poipu Beach is pretty nice too. You mentioned construction noise and I am guessing it was our neighbor and his storage shed. Not something that happens often and we will do our best to control their hours if it does.

thank you again for being our guest and A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Positive: Amazing location within walking distance to one of the nicest beaches on the island. Thoughtful staff that always tries to help with a welcoming friendliness. Great value for the price.
Neutral: None.
Negative: Wireless internet quality weak and sometimes unusable (we were fairly warned upon check-in because we had the condo furthest away from the office). Some little aspects of the room showing their age (outlets loose from walls, towel holders about to fall).

There is a review or two here commenting on the "poor" quality of the rooms. Those are incorrect. The rooms are nice to average. Is everything super shiny and new? No. Is everything working, pleasant, and clean? Yes.

Room Tip: The ocean views are well worth the sunsets and rainbows over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha Mirandajjl and thank you for taking the time to review our Poipu Plantaiton. We had read your comments closer to your date of departure and are just catching up with written responses. We appreciate your kind words and constructive comments as well. Each early December, we take extra time to address deep cleaning and maintenance and adressed those loose items you mentioned.

Wifi signals are a challenge here, even being furthest from the antenna. We are currently looking at this with our IT expert and plan to improve the signal strength and reliability. Hopefully the new generation router and access points will help.

Thank you again for being our guests and we hope to see you again here on Kauai! A hui hou, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had never been to Hawaii, and had heard so much about the paradise which is Kauai that we chose it as one of the two islands we visited. Although the beach community of Poipu is most characterized by high end over-the-top resorts and a burgeoning supply of condos, the Poipu Plantation is the great alternative. While there are separate housekeeping cottages, we stayed in one of the B&B rooms, which are all located in the original plantation house. We had the "master suite" which was quite spacious and comfortable. The place, admittedly, is not high style, but it has something much more important: real heart. The motto of the staff is to make you feel at home, and, in that regard, it is one of this most comfortable places we have stayed. They are helpful in innumerable ways when you need them (including keeping us calm during a tsunami alert during our stay), but never overbearing. The breakfasts are always changing and delicious, but the common breakfast room, at its best, is also a place for friendly and relaxed conversations. The Plantation is an easy walk down to an amazing string of beaches, sunsets included at no additional price. You can also stroll to all those giant resorts and their great restaurants, but then come back at the end of the evening to this wonderful home-away from home at, no doubt, a fraction of the cost.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha JoelMarty and thank you for taking the time to comment on Poipu Plantation bed and breakfast Inn. It is so great to hear visitors "get" Kauai and all it's magic. This is true Hawaii with Kauai having preserved that atmosphere and nature more than any other island. It is the Aloha spirit you feel from our staff and others living on Kauai, helping our wonderful visitors.

This year is a planned renovation of our Bed and breakast Inn, we are all excited about. We plan on a full new bathroom in your Master Bedroom suite, furniture in the rooms, new floors, paint, different air conditioning systems and more. The Plantation style and character of our wonderful Inn will be continued with a fresh touch.

Thank you again for being our guests and enjoying what we and Kauai have to offer. For now, A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We are returned guests: our first stay, two years ago, had been awesome - and this one has been even better !

We stayed in the B&B building ( in the Ali'i suite) : at once we found out some new little touches which are very convenient, for instance the small in-room safe.
The lawn around the building is always blooming with fragrant plumeria and other tropical plants and the lovely Audrey leaves fresh plumeria flowers everywhere in the room , from your pillow to the tea-table .

If you are wondering about the quality of service, all the house is sparkling clean and really welcoming !! Of course it is not an Hyatt, but it has a lovely , unique hawai’ian feeling to it: another guest (Ohau resident) told us that in this B&B he feels like at home. And my husband and I think of the same !

Though all the staff goes out of his way to make your vacation memorable, Javed is the “soul” of the small resort : he will greet you every morning with a smile and a tasty breakfast , always served with aloha !! (Every day you get a different kind of breakfast stuff , everything is homemade and delicious).
Javed seems to know everything about the island and is always happy to help every guest with advices: for instance , he told us about the Makauwahi trail on our way to CJM stables, both wonderful experiences we would have missed without his tips.

Thank you very much to Javed, Audrey and all the staff for the wonderful days we spent with them, we will surely be returning as soon as possible !!

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Choose the Ali'i Suite ... it's gorgeous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
LauraDiItaly and thanks so much for being one of our return guests and enjoying Kauai as you do. Javed is Mr. Hospitality, that is for sure. I dont know where he gets the energy sometimes, but obviously loves hosting our guests.

This year will bring a renovation to the B&B Inn that we are looking forward to. Alii suite won't see much in change except paint and air conditioning, any fix ups we need to do. We will be replacing our window a/c units with a more built in and quieter type for those warmer moments. Breakfast room witl get new floor and furniture, and the entire Inn including rooms, lots of work. Rest assured we will maintain the warm, homey plantation style that exists now.

Thank you again for being our 'Ohana guests...A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poipu Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Address: Bed & Breakfast Inn and Vacation Rental Suites, 1792 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Beach neighborhood resort with ten Vacation Rentals and four bed and breakfast suites all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.