We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views, excellent location Unit E2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Makai

Poipu Makai
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poipu Makai
Save
You added Poipu Makai to your Saves list
1677 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, excellent location Unit E2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

There are a few other condos along Pe'e Road that appear to have comparable views, so I suspect that any one of them would be excellent choices, as long as you can be assured ocean front.

Let me assure you that every unit at Poipu Makai is indeed ocean front!

We rented through Parrish Collection. You can also find units in Poipu Makei on vrbo.com. It's hard to tell if prices are comparable, as each bit is individually owned, therefore standards of decorating and general upkeep may differ.
The morning sunlight playing off the palm trees, and the marvellous view down the shoreline toward Poipu Beach, are surpassed only by the breathtaking sunsets. All the while entertained by the giant turtles bobbing in the surf, and the whales breaching just offshore.

The location is very good. A neat little Italian bistro Casa di Amici is easy walking distance ( see my review), also Brennekes Beach Broiler, which we did not try. A short drive to a couple of local small malls, five minutes to Koloa for supplies. And a four minute drive to Poipu Bay golf course, which is a wonderful golf experience with an excellent Asian fusion restaurant.
Plenty of dining options nearby, but don't overlook takeout options, so you can dine on your lanai while the sun sets.

Unit E2 was very nice. Brand new kitchen, very well equipped (never seen a garlic press in a rented condo before!) and decent furniture. Minor complaint about the lanai furniture - bar level seating and table is a bit uncomfortable, but on balance, all the better to be sitting a bit higher so as not to have the lanai railing in the way of the view. There is also a chaise longe that has seen better days. We wouldn't use it, even with a beach towel on it. A new seat cushion would solve that issue.
The pool in the back is lame, but we're not big pool people. If the pool was in the front, we would have spent time around it. A couple of neighbouring condos have the pool in front, but the downside there is that the pool gets between you and the ocean view. If pool is important to you, check Poipu Shores just down the road toward the beach.
As others have mentioned, you will hear the surf all night. For some that might be annoying, we found it soothing, and had no problem getting a restful night of sleep.
Poipu Makei seems to be very good value for the price. If you want five star luxury, the Hyatt is just up the road. You will pay a LOT more, and will not have the ocean front experience. (Ocean VIEW yes, but not right on top of the rocks like at PM)

Sad to be leaving for home tomorrow. We will be back, and we will in all likelihood stay at Poipu Makei again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in this Condo for 2 weeks back in June and had a wonderful time. It was spacious, comfortable and right on the ocean. The view from the lanai is spectacular! The kitchen is newly updated and we really enjoyed cooking our meals there. The condo is also extremely convenient to shopping and dining.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We booked this through The Parrish Collection and found them to be on the ball, making sure we had no issues. This condo has changed the way I will travel. No more crowded hotels. For less money than a 4 or 5 star hotel, we were right on the ocean in a well appointed 2 bedroom spacious condo. I will come back and try to stay in the same suite.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The views are amazing - nothing like waking up and seeing a pod of dolphins while drinking coffee! The grounds of Poipu Makai were well maintained, but the pool was a bit of a joke - slightly larger than a large hot tub - they should actually just make it a hot tub, would make a whole lot more sense. Stayed in A2 and the furnishings were comfortable, as was the bed - our only major complaint were the bugs. Giant cockroaches in the dishwasher and smaller bugs all over the countertops - even afer a thorough cleaning. Probably attributed to the screens around the windows which were loosely secured and most had huge gaps between the windows. If you are looking for a reasonable condo with great views at a pretty good price, I'd recommend A2 - however, if you have more discerning tastes and are adverse to a little bugs, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Rented unit B3 through the Parrish Collection, LLC. Everyone at Parrish was simply AWESOME. Joanne set up our rentals (two condos different parts of Kauai). Pat organized tickets for events and provided information and spot on directions for various activities. We knew we would arrive late after about 24 hours of travel what with flight time, delays, and lay-overs. I asked Pat to arrange for a few groceries to be left in the condo so we wouldn't have to stop and shop for groceries after our long flight. Every thing on my list was left in the condo by Anne. When she couldn't find a specific item she used her best judgment. We were extremely pleased with the service the Parrish people provided.

Unit B3 was great. Nice, quiet location over looking rocky area where people like to fish or explore. Beautiful view from the lanai. The lanai is covered and quite protected so we could sit outside even during the frequent rain showers that bless Kauai. There is no sand beach access but we knew that from the info provided on the unit. Everything was provided for including fans, coffee, and laundry soap. The condo was exceptionally clean.

Only three things kept this condo from being given top rating - There was a strange smell inside that never went away. We purchased several heavy duty air freshener products but they could never overcome the odor. Never did figure out what it was but possibly it was the smell of wet cedar. Once inside we quickly adjusted but the smell was strong upon entering.

The upstairs bed sags in the middle. I looked underneath and it seems the frame is bent. However, I still slept very well on this bed even though it sags it is comfortable just a little odd.

There are two parking areas upper and lower. Lower is extremely close quarters with ill placed support beams. Both parking areas are a tight fit for a full size car. With the low slung car we rented (Dodge Charger) we drug bottom every time we pulled out of the driveway. Rent a small or mid size car instead of a full size one. Travel will be much easier.

Would absolutely stay here again and very much wish the Parrish people could plan all of my vacations!

Room Tip: Pack light as there are no elevators. Seriously all you need is a pair of slacks, or dress, 3 pairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in unit A1 and were greeted with a pod of spinner dolphins and some whale spouts within five minutes of walking in. The view cannot be beaten!

We stayed at Poipu Makai with another couple for a week, and it was just what we needed. It was comfortable and clean with plenty of room for four; furnishings are not luxurious but are certainly up to the standard of a condo rental. The second bedroom is pretty dark (but why would you spend any time in it while the sun's up?). The master bedroom is beautiful but the bed is uncomfortable.

It's a five-minute walk from a couple of small beaches and a five-minute drive from Koloa. Overall a great spot in Poipu.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I'm sure all the other reviews lead with the great view from the lanai, but there is a reason for that. It's absolutely breathtaking in an unambiguously good way. We were able to see dolphins and turtles from our own home. The attached picture is from the living room window! The unit was decently furnished and spacious. No air conditioning, but the fans are good enough for all but the warmest nights. The facility feels like you are climbing through a tree house. There are a lot of ups and downs of small flights of stairs but that configuration adds to the privacy. There is a plunge pool that is unimpressive and is in the front of the property, with no ocean views. Poipu Beach Park is in walking distance and it's one of the nicer beaches on Kauai. In the other direction, there is a great walking path that follows the oceans and winds toward the Hyatt, which has some magnificent public grounds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Poipu Makai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Makai

Address: 1677 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort situated on the edge of a bluff providing spectacular views of the blue Pacific and the entire Poipu coastline. A small property with only 15 Kauai condos, Poipu Makai provides privacy and intimacy while being just a short walk to the world renowned Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach. The sounds of the sea fill every room and each condo has large lanais offering a great lookout for hours of watching turtles, dolphins, seasonal whales and brilliant sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Makai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Makai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Makai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.