We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Poipu Kai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Poipu Kai Resort to your Saves list
Poipu Kai Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1941 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
A TripAdvisor Member
“Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2005

Stayed here for five days back in September of 04. The unit we stayed in was very nice aesthetically, updated and clean; however, we were on the bottom floor and our bedroom faced the parking lot. You cannot close the windows so, cars coming and going all night was very disturbing and loud. Additionally, the noise in the unit above was very loud. I've lived in apartments, but the footsteps were awful. I could track exactly where a person was in the unit above just by listening to each foot step. Pools were very hohum. Really just a pool. No foliage, just concrete and a hole in the ground filled with water. In general, I really liked the area of Poipu. I'd stay in Poipu again, just not at this facility.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    105
    22
    17
    18
See reviews for
119
129
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2005

Just returned from a week's stay in February 2005--Rented a house in the Poipu Kai resort. Do NOT stay here during the winter months if you want to use the swimming pool--it was NOT heated--it was maybe 70 degrees and too cold to swim in. Even if it was heated the pool area is very ordinary and dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2005

We had a really great vacation on Kauai -- and the accomodations provided by Suite Paradise were exactly as promised. The condominium was light, airy, nicely decorated, well equipped and clean. It felt like someone who cared owned it and prepared it especially for us. And the people at Suite Paradise were warm and welcoming when we had questions -- very hospitable and clearly committed to helping their guests have a great time. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

Was just on Kauai in Dec. and so glad that I booked through Suite Paradise's web site. We checked out other hotels and condos in the area while we were there and for our money, Suite Paradise Poipu Kai was the best. The Hyatt is right next door, which is a good sign, but their prices are much higher and then you'd be stuck in a room. There are some time share condos in the area, but they look like Holiday Inns by comparision. Our condo with Suite Paradise was very clean and spacious with a big bathroom. It had a well stocked kitchen and lots of bath towels. Loved that we had ceiling fans over all of the beds. The grounds are so lush and tropical, and there must be acres of lawn. It felt so open and peaceful. The pools were fine, but not extravagent, but who goes all the way to Hawaii to swim in a pool? Poipu Beach Park is a short stroll away with clear blue water and pearly white sand. It was perfect for swimming, snorkeling and boogie boarding and it has a great lagoon for kids. We saw lots of sea turtles just up the road, what a thrill. We loved Kauai and can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2005

This is truly paradise found! The rooms, amenities, and staff far exceeded expectations and we will return here whenver we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2005

Our family recently stayed at Poipu Kai (through Suite Paradise) and had an incredible time. The condo itself was clean and very comfortable and well furnished. It had everything we needed - and then some! The folks at Suite Paradise were helpful and professional. A big thumbs up for Poipu Kai and Suite Paradise!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2005

What a week! Everything was perfect, from the warm greeting we received at check in to our tearful goodbyes to the staff of Suite Paradise. Poipu Kai Resort is spectaular and its beauty is only enhanced by the personal attention we received from everyone at Suite Paradise. Our unit was spotless and remained that way throughout our stay thanks to the efficient and friendly housekeeping staff. When we needed dining suggestions or where to go/what to see there were wonderful suggestions and even assistance in making reservations. Everything was delightful and we owe a great deal of that to Suite Paradise. Poipu Kai Resort is wonderful; Suite Paradise is terrific.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poipu Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kai Resort

Address: 1941 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poipu Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kai Resort is a 70 acre property starting at Poipu Beach Park and sprawls over to Shipwreck Beach which we share with the Grand Hyatt Hotel. The expectational large privately owned condominiums and villas are furnished as complete vacation homes with complimentary high speed. Full home style kitchens and washer and dryers are included. The private lanai is off the living room. The resort has several swimming pools and a large tennis center with both soft and hard courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Poipu Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kai Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poipu Kai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.