We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for several reasons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
san francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommend for several reasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Although there were a few initial problems -- my husband and I were not booked into the same building as my daughter and her family -- they were fairly quickly resolved or became unimportant. My appreciation for this site was elevated because of the contrast to the property next door: a Marriott timeshare that looks like a fortress. The Kiahuna Plantation is old plantation architecture: oriented toward the trade winds, plantation shutters, fans, NO AIRCONDITIONING (HURRAY!!!) because it is completely unnecessary. Great for families -- a 10 minute walk or two minute drive from Poipu County Beach that has a baby beach and life guard and, for us, a monk seal! We got a package deal from Pleasant Hawaiian vacations so I don't really know the per condo cost, but the condos were well equipped and comfortable. High speed internet was mostly available. I think it's really ideal for families, and probably less so if you want to have that faux rich person luxury/spa/pampered experience.

  • Liked — Architecture and infrastructure that minimized visual and carbon impact.
  • Disliked — Did not market their own services -- restaurant, bar, etc. -- sufficiently.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    255
    78
    52
    30
See reviews for
233
297
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We enjoyed all aspects of the Outrigger Kiahuana Plantation. The hotel was spotlessly clean both inside and out. Our room was spacious well supplied and all inclusive of home equipment. The proximity to all southern shore amenities was excellent. The grounds were a vision of tropical beauty. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. Perfect place to stay for the native flair feeling!

  • Liked — full service room
  • Disliked — pool proximity
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed in a one bedroom condo with a royal garden view for our two year anniversary (We were married in Maui in July, 2005)This place was so romantic and cozy. Lots of room for two people and it was great having a fully equipped kitchen. We saved quite a bit of money packing our lunches and eating dinner on the lanai. It was a bit of a walk to the beach, but walking through the paths and gardens was relaxing and beautiful. The check-in staff were friendly and the maid service did an excellent job. When my husband was having problems with the grill, staff was there within 2 minutes! The beach this hotel is set on is beautiful and rated one of the 10 ten beaches in the world! The only thing is that this beach is pretty rough in the summer....big waves and we got knocked and banged around quite a bit attempting to snorkel. The snorkeling on the North Shore is very calm and it was worth a drive up there. I'd love to snorkel and spend more time at Poipu Beach in the winter though when it is more calm. We were worried about not having air conditioning, but the breezes kept us so cool and comfortable at night. The roosters would often wake us up in the morning, but we got used to them. Overall, I love this place and would stay here again. I've been to all of the islands and Kauai is my favorite for it's scenic beauty.

  • Liked — The roominess of the condo, having a fully equipped kitchen, the location near Poipu Beach
  • Disliked — Wish the walk to the beach was a little closer.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

My family of four stayed at the Kiahuna Plantation the last few days of July. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded from a "partial ocean view" to an "ocean view" room--we were no more than 25 yards from the beach. Needless to say, this made quite a difference in our experience! We had a one-bedroom unit that was in excellent condition--clean, new appliances, etc. Having a kitchen helped keep the costs down considerably during our four days on Kauai. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were impressed by how carefully maintained the grounds were. The beach at Poipu was also a very nice one, although the shore break at high tide was far too strong for our eight year old.

We booked surfing lessons for the boys through the hotel (Garden Island Surf School) and they had a great experience--excellent instructors and a nice long lesson in the gentle morning surf right in front of the hotel.

If you plan to stay here, try to book an upstairs unit, as they have better views and are a little quieter.

We ate at three nearby restaurants. The food at the Poipu Broiler was good but the service was incredibly slow. It took close to 50 minutes from the time we sat down until the food arrived--and that was for breakfast. I wouldn't go there hungry! We also ate in the Pizzeta in Koloa and enjoyed it a lot. The best food we got was from the Koloa Fish Company--a hole in the wall on the main drag in Koloa that has carry out plates only. We brought dinner for four back to our room for $21 and it was excellent. I'd challenge you to accomplish that anywhere else on Kauai!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

I stayed here with some friends while vacationing in Kauai. We picked Poipu because I had heard the South Shore was sunnier in the winter. We stayed in a 1-bedroom condo which had a pullout sofa, so it could accomodate four adults. This was actually one of the lodging cheapest options I could find (still over $200/night, but not so bad divided by four).

When we checked in, the front desk insisted all four guests had to register and get "guest ID cards", although no one ever checked for those ID cards again. On the bright side, there was a nice beach right in front of the property, which is shared with the Sheraton. There is towel service at a small hut near the beach, and there is a DVD/VHS rental at front desk, although it costs money.

I mostly liked that we had a condo rather than a hotel room, so the space was pretty large even for four adults. Having a kitchen and dining area was key; we must have saved tons of money by cooking our own dinners and making our own breakfasts. Since we were hiking a lot, it was also convenient to have a refrigerator to store our sandwich-making materials.

The condos are walking distance from Poipu Shopping Village, which has a bunch of restaurants and a general store, although groceries are cheaper elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

We reserved this for 3 nights after reviewing photos and write up on website. Grounds are pretty, restaurant good. Our unit was well kept and very clean. Two big problems - no air conditioning in ANY of the units! VERY HOT AND HUMID! The only way to cool down is to open the windows which allows all the noise in. The other issue is that in Building 35, we were on the main road, near registration, parking and across from a loud restaurant and bar. Noise was bad! We checked out after 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

This was our 4th stay at the Kiahuna and we probably won't stay again. The grounds are still beautiful, but the interior of the condos were run down and not too clean. There was construction in the condo below us -- started at 7am and continued until dark, including Saturday. Outrigger did move us, but to a downgrade in room. As in other reviews, the open shutters and tropical breezes can be romantic, but during our stay, several loud, late-night parties in other condos made sleep impossible, especially since lack of AC makes leaving the shutters open essential. Also, this is supposedly a non-smoking facility, but the policy is not enforced --

  • Liked — Great location, beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — Rundown interiors, not clean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.