We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in building 27 unit 242 which is garden view unit. The unit is good, but a bit too far from the beach. If can get a garden view unit closer to the beach, we would stay here next time. The bed is comfortable. The only issue we had was the screen door fell, and made big noise in the early morning. It took us a couple of minutes to fix it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

First I book my stay 2 months out . We arrive on the 26th of Jan 2013. Requested ocean view we arrive at around 10 pm. Told room not ready had water leak in room we will have to put you in another at back of complex.Well at this time of night not much choice. She said room ready in morning to check back at not to unpack. Next morning check in with registration office. Room not ready people have not checked out yet. WHAT? I was told water leak now a room i reserved 2 months ago has someone in it. So they could nothing for me until manager arrived at 1 pm so I said bye-bye. Oh by the way pool is across street not in complex,restaurant only open for dinner any other restaurants are driving distance not walking. Not a good location everything is outside of walking. what i could see of beach I have seen better at South Padre Island in Texas There is no fitness center on complex either.

Room Tip: choose a good room at another hotel the Sheraton is next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jefferyies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week in Unit 324 at the Kiahuna Plantation. The Outrigger staff took care of any issues we had. Wireless internet worked well. The condo was clean. My wife enjoyed visiting the local Farmers' Market on Monday. She was able to cook several meals during our stay. The 5 minute walk to the beach was always pleasant with so many beautiful flowers to see. The beach was very nice with enough "wave action" to be fun. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Koloa Fish Market has great plate lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room 150, Bldg 23. No WiFi! Called for service, Oceanic arrived and the tech noted same problem two weeks earlier. Said new cable had to be installed but owners were not responsive. And they weren't. Since I maintain websites, this was a MAJOR inconvenience (had to use a nearby Starbucks each day).

Except for toilet, all the plumbing needs updating. Faucets are loose. Tub would not drain.

Lest you think I'm just a complainer, I actually found the room clean and convenient. We enjoyed our stay and will return as we've done in the past. Kiahuna is a great location. The Plantation Restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: I'm not certain you can exclude any particular room or demand Wi-Fi. But I'll be doing both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in Bldg. 26 unit 170, to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. It was nice and had a partial ocean view. We walked 2 minutes to the beach. The unit was nicely decorated and clean. The bed was comfortable.

One problem I had was finding the cutting board, of all things. It was under the sink where I never looked for it! The other thing was the refrigerator is old and runs constantly.

Most of the "windows" in these units have no glass, just shutters with screens. We didn't know this. We could hear a man nearby snoring at night and also coughing and sneezing loudly. Other than that, it was quiet.

I would go back but would probably spring for a full ocean view.

Going in the winter is different because the weather is so variable. We didn't spend a lot of time at the beach. This is definitely a nice place to stay if you're in a unit close to the beach like we were. Overall, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Definitely look at the map of the place. Choose a place with an ocean view if possible. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bldg 10 unit 80 was very disappointing as there were numerous issues with the unit ranging from the inability to close the screen doors leading to the patio to banging your knees on the tub when using the toilet.....Drive to the pool across the street or walk 10 minutes to the beach...If I had small children it would be a nightmare.....Perhaps my expectations were too high based on others description but this property overall was a complete and utter disappointment....Never again!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for an easy to use and readily accessible beach and pool area....RUN while you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LAP159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are very sorry that your recent stay was not perfect for you. As you booked directly with the homeowner of this unit (which gets great reviews normally), I shared your comments with them and invited them to respond to you. Below please find thier comments:

"We were very surprised to see this guest's review. I was sad that he was so unhappy with our unit 80. We have been renting our home away from home for the last 6 years and have never had a problem with a guest being unhappy. We have had numerous repeat guests as well as excellent reviews. Please see our December review on TA from a very happy recent guest. I am very surprised at this screen door comment as they are new. The bathroom was also just remodeled. His comment about the beach and pool does not make sense. We rent to a lot of families due to our location. I guess the truth of the matter is that you can't please everyone all the time but we will keep trying. Aloha, Alan and Denise Owners of Unit 80"


Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room far exceeded our expectations! Huge 2 story with washer and dryer. Nicely decorated and very comfortable and lovely garden view. Short walk to beach, just an overall great place to stay. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden deluxe is great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth7026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing