We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bldg 10 unit 80 was very disappointing as there were numerous issues with the unit ranging from the inability to close the screen doors leading to the patio to banging your knees on the tub when using the toilet.....Drive to the pool across the street or walk 10 minutes to the beach...If I had small children it would be a nightmare.....Perhaps my expectations were too high based on others description but this property overall was a complete and utter disappointment....Never again!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for an easy to use and readily accessible beach and pool area....RUN while you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are very sorry that your recent stay was not perfect for you. As you booked directly with the homeowner of this unit (which gets great reviews normally), I shared your comments with them and invited them to respond to you. Below please find thier comments:

"We were very surprised to see this guest's review. I was sad that he was so unhappy with our unit 80. We have been renting our home away from home for the last 6 years and have never had a problem with a guest being unhappy. We have had numerous repeat guests as well as excellent reviews. Please see our December review on TA from a very happy recent guest. I am very surprised at this screen door comment as they are new. The bathroom was also just remodeled. His comment about the beach and pool does not make sense. We rent to a lot of families due to our location. I guess the truth of the matter is that you can't please everyone all the time but we will keep trying. Aloha, Alan and Denise Owners of Unit 80"


Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    500
    152
    91
    43
See reviews for
422
652
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room far exceeded our expectations! Huge 2 story with washer and dryer. Nicely decorated and very comfortable and lovely garden view. Short walk to beach, just an overall great place to stay. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden deluxe is great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Outrigger in Koloa HI now for several days and have founded it to be a very pleasant place. Our condo is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our only disappoint has been the slow and spotty Internet service but since we are on the go most of the time is has not been a big inconvenience and to be fair we have not asked for help from the staff to see if it could be improved. We would recommend the Outrigger has an excellent value if you wish to be on the south shore.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

These are nice condos on a large well landscaped property . We enjoyed our unit that had a view of a grassy area. It was a short beautiful walk to beach . No roads to cross ,just a lovely lawn with flowering trees and shrubs. My husband and I had a 1 BR unit and some of our family had a 2 BR. Both were very nice. Many birds on property . We could see whales from shore.

Positives: beautiful surroundings
Kitchen convenient so we did not have to eat out All the time.
Large comfy room that was a comfortable place to spent the 1 day it poured all day.
Good beach, good location , close to good snorkeling beach, walking trails and restaurants .
WiFi worked fine for us.
Nice area on grass over looking ocean. Many people sat there in beach chairs
Has gas grills that are very popular
On site laundry facilities

Drawbacks : unappealing pool. We avoided it. It was across the street on another property and was surrounded by a rusty fence. If we had brought kids this would have been a disappointment .
Sound proofing in units not so great . We can hear people above us walk, shower, sneeze etc. we were lucky there was not a noisy family above us.

Room Tip: We were in unit 113 Bldg 18. It was lower level with nice view of grassy area and good ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for an island hopping vacation and our first stop was Kauai. Poipu was warm the entire time while drives to the north shore could get pretty rainy. When we arrived to our bottom floor garden view unit my boyfriend saw a sizable cockroach when he was getting a glass of water in the middle of the night and we asked to get moved the next morning. They relocated us to a partial ocean view on the top floor in building 18. The view was amazing and the room had all the amenities. The hotel has its own beach with fine sand and a beach hut. We got snorkel gear there and ended up swimming with a couple sea turtles. the Poipu area is nice and has a lot to see with minimal driving. Although to be honest driving in Kauai is good too. We never went to the pool, but if you wanted to its across the street. The beach wasn't too crowded at this time of year and fireworks for new years were visible from our balcony. Overall I appreciated that they were quick to fix a problem and that it was comfortable and had beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: get a top floor room, very open and breezy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at Kiahuna Plantation, and again we LOVED it. Beautifully maintained landscape and facilities and everyone was so friendly! DEFINITELY go for a room on the top floor (no noise from people above you) and with a view of the ocean. Even on gray days it's a glorious view! You will be awakened by the roosters (and they get up early!), but we were able to adjust. There is a cute shopping center just across the street with plenty of restaurants, shops and even a general store. Really everything you could want was within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossfield, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is officially my favorite place on earth. Everything you could want is here; a pleasant stroll to the beach, amenities within walking distance, friendly service, ocean or garden views and a beautiful tropical room. We were put in the rooms closest to the road, and I still didn't mind. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic or family getaway.

Room Tip: Having a room on the top floors gives you a great view, but if you have kids a bottom floor one will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! As we are now offically your favorite place on earth, we will expect you back soon!

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253-B Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.