We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for our 14 day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation to your Saves list
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
st. paul
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable for our 14 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

These are nice condos on a large well landscaped property . We enjoyed our unit that had a view of a grassy area. It was a short beautiful walk to beach . No roads to cross ,just a lovely lawn with flowering trees and shrubs. My husband and I had a 1 BR unit and some of our family had a 2 BR. Both were very nice. Many birds on property . We could see whales from shore.

Positives: beautiful surroundings
Kitchen convenient so we did not have to eat out All the time.
Large comfy room that was a comfortable place to spent the 1 day it poured all day.
Good beach, good location , close to good snorkeling beach, walking trails and restaurants .
WiFi worked fine for us.
Nice area on grass over looking ocean. Many people sat there in beach chairs
Has gas grills that are very popular
On site laundry facilities

Drawbacks : unappealing pool. We avoided it. It was across the street on another property and was surrounded by a rusty fence. If we had brought kids this would have been a disappointment .
Sound proofing in units not so great . We can hear people above us walk, shower, sneeze etc. we were lucky there was not a noisy family above us.

Room Tip: We were in unit 113 Bldg 18. It was lower level with nice view of grassy area and good ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    248
    78
    51
    29
See reviews for
226
291
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for an island hopping vacation and our first stop was Kauai. Poipu was warm the entire time while drives to the north shore could get pretty rainy. When we arrived to our bottom floor garden view unit my boyfriend saw a sizable cockroach when he was getting a glass of water in the middle of the night and we asked to get moved the next morning. They relocated us to a partial ocean view on the top floor in building 18. The view was amazing and the room had all the amenities. The hotel has its own beach with fine sand and a beach hut. We got snorkel gear there and ended up swimming with a couple sea turtles. the Poipu area is nice and has a lot to see with minimal driving. Although to be honest driving in Kauai is good too. We never went to the pool, but if you wanted to its across the street. The beach wasn't too crowded at this time of year and fireworks for new years were visible from our balcony. Overall I appreciated that they were quick to fix a problem and that it was comfortable and had beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: get a top floor room, very open and breezy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a wonderful family vacation at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. The condos are perfect for a family of four with a nice, big King-size bed and a pullout sofa bed in the living room. The condo we had in Building 17, was not the upgraded one and we were a bit far from the beach but at a very walkable distance - at night we could hear the ocean waves. The lawn in front of our garden view condo was lush - certainly a nice view. The property location is perfect- close to the beach, restaurants, Starbucks, the Poipu State Park beach (great for kids). The swimming pool is not part of the property but the Kiuhana Swim and Tennis club are just across the street. If you are in one of the buildings parallel to the street, the club is a quick walk. The beach hut gives complimentary towels and sand toys and you can rent snorkeling and other gear for a reasonable price. Wi-Fi quality is great. (a big plus for me) Negatives: condos were not fully equipped, some essentials were missing. Would be ideal to have a washer-dryer in the condo because of the many times you change clothes during the day. House cleaning was not as frequent as I would have liked it to be and no gym. But overall, a very positive experience and I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear FalguniB,
Thank you for taking the time to review Outrigger Kiahuna . We are glad you had a positive experience. Unfortunately, our plantation condos are not equipped with washer/dryers. We do offer an on site laundry facilty. We look forward to your return.
Aloha,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I have been to Poipu four times and always stay at the Kiahuna Plantation because it is truly a paradise on Earth. The grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained. We stayed in a top-floor 1-bedroom/1 bath condo with a partial ocean view that really was a FULL ocean view. The condo was spotless and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately, the stove and oven wasn't working; however, the maintenance crew came out IMMEDIATELY (within 5 minutes of our call) and fixed it, then returned the next day to ensure it was still working properly! The responsiveness of the Plantation's staff is amazing and much appreciated. Maid service has been cut to every several days (instead of daily service), but the maid actually came by more often than that to double-check to see if we wanted more assistance in that regard (we didn't need it). The pool and tennis courts are across the street but easily accessible. We don't play tennis, but we used the pool frequently. It is a beautiful area, surrounded by foliage, with a 1 1/2 foot deep section of the pool that looks like a sandy beach, for little children. The deepest area is just under 5' so it is comfortable to swim in, yet not frightening if you don't swim well. Try the water slide! I'm in my 60s and I couldn't stop going down it--it is SOOO much fun! We will ALWAYS stay at the Plantation when we visit because, in our opinion, it cannot be duplicated.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated 3rd floor partial ocean to full-ocean view condo! We've tried different ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear CATraveller,
Thanks for the awesome review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Outrigger Kiahuna. Hope to see you again soon.
E Malama Pono,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm so glad we decided not to stay at a big sterile hotel like the Sheraton. The Kiahuna has the most beautiful landscaping - full of tropical trees and flowers and ponds. Walking through the grounds added so much to our experience of a tropical paradise. And it's within easy walking distance of a nice beach and two shopping centers with restaurants, so we could amble around on foot instead of driving everywhere. The Plantation Garden restaurant on site is excellent and was never crowded. You can even walk to the incredibly beautiful Poipu Beach - it's not that far.

Our 1-bedroom condo at the Kiahuna was comfortable and pleasant inside, with a nice balcony with a view of their cactus garden and a mini-forest full of birds. We could hear the bird song during the day and frogs at night, thanks to the many screened louvers that let in the breeze and make air conditioning unnecessary. Decent TV with a DVD player if you want it, and they even rent DVDs in the main office. Use the kitchen to keep your beer and pineapple wine cold or heat up your leftovers. We never cook on vacation, but we love tropical fruit from the farmers market for breakfast on the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Rattlebrain,
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are glad you chose Outrigger Kiahuana. We hope you return again soon.
Warmest Aloha,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When we arrived at the Kiahuna Plantation we were given a room that left much to be desired. The room had numerous stains and was quite outdated. We went back to the office and asked about changing rooms. They spent a great deal of time trying to find something that worked. They came up with a solution that required us to stay in the old room for 2 days and then they moved us into a new room (they actually did all the moving too). The new room was excellent.

The grounds here are just truly amazing. They must have an army of people to keep them looking so great. We visited several of the upscale resorts and they have none of the atmosphere of the Kiahuna Plantation. You feel as though you are in the middle of a manicured tropical forest.

Everyone we interacted with from the staff was wonderfully helpful and very friendly and courteous. We could not have asked for a better 2 week stay for our 40th anniversary.

Room Tip: ask how recently a room has been updated or renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear dinner-wine-romance,
Thank your for your detailed review. We appreciate that you gave us an opportunity to make sure you were completely satisfied with your unit. We will share your positive comments with our staff.
e Malama Pona,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kiahuna was a great resort. The accommodations were perfect for my family of three. The beach was both swimmable and surf able! We stayed in a ground floor unit with one bedroom and a pull out couch. It was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed if we wanted to eat in. The location was accessible to shops, beaches and attractions. We had a rental car and found it very easy to navigate the island and find fun things to see and do. The staff were very helpful and quick to respond to requests. Although we didn't have an ocean view, the view from our patio was very pleasant . We were a very short walk to the beach or to the shops.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Address: 2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.