We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family vacation at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a wonderful family vacation at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. The condos are perfect for a family of four with a nice, big King-size bed and a pullout sofa bed in the living room. The condo we had in Building 17, was not the upgraded one and we were a bit far from the beach but at a very walkable distance - at night we could hear the ocean waves. The lawn in front of our garden view condo was lush - certainly a nice view. The property location is perfect- close to the beach, restaurants, Starbucks, the Poipu State Park beach (great for kids). The swimming pool is not part of the property but the Kiuhana Swim and Tennis club are just across the street. If you are in one of the buildings parallel to the street, the club is a quick walk. The beach hut gives complimentary towels and sand toys and you can rent snorkeling and other gear for a reasonable price. Wi-Fi quality is great. (a big plus for me) Negatives: condos were not fully equipped, some essentials were missing. Would be ideal to have a washer-dryer in the condo because of the many times you change clothes during the day. House cleaning was not as frequent as I would have liked it to be and no gym. But overall, a very positive experience and I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear FalguniB,
Thank you for taking the time to review Outrigger Kiahuna . We are glad you had a positive experience. Unfortunately, our plantation condos are not equipped with washer/dryers. We do offer an on site laundry facilty. We look forward to your return.
Aloha,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    234
    72
    46
    25
See reviews for
205
278
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I have been to Poipu four times and always stay at the Kiahuna Plantation because it is truly a paradise on Earth. The grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained. We stayed in a top-floor 1-bedroom/1 bath condo with a partial ocean view that really was a FULL ocean view. The condo was spotless and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately, the stove and oven wasn't working; however, the maintenance crew came out IMMEDIATELY (within 5 minutes of our call) and fixed it, then returned the next day to ensure it was still working properly! The responsiveness of the Plantation's staff is amazing and much appreciated. Maid service has been cut to every several days (instead of daily service), but the maid actually came by more often than that to double-check to see if we wanted more assistance in that regard (we didn't need it). The pool and tennis courts are across the street but easily accessible. We don't play tennis, but we used the pool frequently. It is a beautiful area, surrounded by foliage, with a 1 1/2 foot deep section of the pool that looks like a sandy beach, for little children. The deepest area is just under 5' so it is comfortable to swim in, yet not frightening if you don't swim well. Try the water slide! I'm in my 60s and I couldn't stop going down it--it is SOOO much fun! We will ALWAYS stay at the Plantation when we visit because, in our opinion, it cannot be duplicated.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated 3rd floor partial ocean to full-ocean view condo! We've tried different ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear CATraveller,
Thanks for the awesome review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Outrigger Kiahuna. Hope to see you again soon.
E Malama Pono,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm so glad we decided not to stay at a big sterile hotel like the Sheraton. The Kiahuna has the most beautiful landscaping - full of tropical trees and flowers and ponds. Walking through the grounds added so much to our experience of a tropical paradise. And it's within easy walking distance of a nice beach and two shopping centers with restaurants, so we could amble around on foot instead of driving everywhere. The Plantation Garden restaurant on site is excellent and was never crowded. You can even walk to the incredibly beautiful Poipu Beach - it's not that far.

Our 1-bedroom condo at the Kiahuna was comfortable and pleasant inside, with a nice balcony with a view of their cactus garden and a mini-forest full of birds. We could hear the bird song during the day and frogs at night, thanks to the many screened louvers that let in the breeze and make air conditioning unnecessary. Decent TV with a DVD player if you want it, and they even rent DVDs in the main office. Use the kitchen to keep your beer and pineapple wine cold or heat up your leftovers. We never cook on vacation, but we love tropical fruit from the farmers market for breakfast on the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Rattlebrain,
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are glad you chose Outrigger Kiahuana. We hope you return again soon.
Warmest Aloha,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When we arrived at the Kiahuna Plantation we were given a room that left much to be desired. The room had numerous stains and was quite outdated. We went back to the office and asked about changing rooms. They spent a great deal of time trying to find something that worked. They came up with a solution that required us to stay in the old room for 2 days and then they moved us into a new room (they actually did all the moving too). The new room was excellent.

The grounds here are just truly amazing. They must have an army of people to keep them looking so great. We visited several of the upscale resorts and they have none of the atmosphere of the Kiahuna Plantation. You feel as though you are in the middle of a manicured tropical forest.

Everyone we interacted with from the staff was wonderfully helpful and very friendly and courteous. We could not have asked for a better 2 week stay for our 40th anniversary.

Room Tip: ask how recently a room has been updated or renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear dinner-wine-romance,
Thank your for your detailed review. We appreciate that you gave us an opportunity to make sure you were completely satisfied with your unit. We will share your positive comments with our staff.
e Malama Pona,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kiahuna was a great resort. The accommodations were perfect for my family of three. The beach was both swimmable and surf able! We stayed in a ground floor unit with one bedroom and a pull out couch. It was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed if we wanted to eat in. The location was accessible to shops, beaches and attractions. We had a rental car and found it very easy to navigate the island and find fun things to see and do. The staff were very helpful and quick to respond to requests. Although we didn't have an ocean view, the view from our patio was very pleasant . We were a very short walk to the beach or to the shops.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in building 7, top floor, corner unit with ocean view. The view of the ocean and the grounds is beautiful. The condo is very functional and well maintained. The staff responded positively to all our reservation requests. We had some ants on the kitchen counter from time to time. The unit included Wifi. The beach is narrow but beautiful. They provide you with beach chairs and you can either sit on the lawn above the beach or directly on the beach sand. You can walk on the beach all the way to Poipu public beach via the the Marriott. We did not experience any noise issues.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor corner unit for best views and ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just spent Christmas week at the Plantation. Our unit was a bit close to the road and the shopping center, so early morning was noisier than we would have liked, but it was well appointed and convenient. We had been told by friends that a car is a must, but they didn't know about the shuttle bus! We toured the south end for fifty cents round trip (the senior fare 25 cents each way) and spent a couple of hours in old Koloa. We could also walk to two small shopping centers and Poipu State Beach Park. The beach at the resort was also beautiful and the grounds were lovely but the very best part was the Plantation Garden Restaurant where the food was fabulous and the wait staff was professional and very pleasant in the very best way!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the beach are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Kauai/Poipu
Address: 2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.