We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location in Poipu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location in Poipu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and we couldn't have picked a better place. The units are nice, recently upgraded countertops, appliances, and flooring. As a bonus, the owners keep sand toys, boogie boards and beach mats in the closet (flippers too!). Our beach is beautiful and uncrowded, and just a 10 minute walk away is Poipu beach, which is by far one of the best places to snorkel in Hawaii, especially of you have kids. You just float, the fish flock around since there are reefs and rocks all around (so be sure to bring water shoes to protect your feet). The staff was very friendly and we rented off VRBO so it was reasonably priced.

I only had two minor negatives. Their pool is too far away. They have so much lawn beachfront, I think they need a pool there, but their pool is across the street, you pretty much need to drive there. The other thing is, because of the airy, louvered windows and doors, you hear everything your neighbor is doing. I know they need this because of no air conditioning, which isn't needed, but was pretty annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that our staff were friendly and responsive.

While we realize that resonable pricing can be found on VRBO, we also encourage potential guests to call is directly or check our website as we often have great deals available, and offer the advantage of many units to choose from.

Please do come back again soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    503
    152
    92
    43
See reviews for
426
654
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great condo community with beautiful garden surroundings! We loves having all of the convenience of a condo along with the close proximity to the beach, shopping, and dining. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I always saw them working maintaining the grounds. It was very handy to have beach towels to borrow from the hut and although we didn't rent anything, they did have a number of beach items to rent. Poipu beach was great for snorkeling and seeing mink seals. The only downside to this property is that you have to cross the road to get to the pool and it looked a little run down. However even with our two year old we spent most of our time at the beach since Poipu has a great small, protected beach for little ones. Overall we would definitely go back and stay at the Kiahuna.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much! Please come back again very soon, and contact me if I can be of service.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kiahuna was a great resort. The accommodations were perfect for my family of three. The beach was both swimmable and surf able! We stayed in a ground floor unit with one bedroom and a pull out couch. It was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed if we wanted to eat in. The location was accessible to shops, beaches and attractions. We had a rental car and found it very easy to navigate the island and find fun things to see and do. The staff were very helpful and quick to respond to requests. Although we didn't have an ocean view, the view from our patio was very pleasant . We were a very short walk to the beach or to the shops.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in building 7, top floor, corner unit with ocean view. The view of the ocean and the grounds is beautiful. The condo is very functional and well maintained. The staff responded positively to all our reservation requests. We had some ants on the kitchen counter from time to time. The unit included Wifi. The beach is narrow but beautiful. They provide you with beach chairs and you can either sit on the lawn above the beach or directly on the beach sand. You can walk on the beach all the way to Poipu public beach via the the Marriott. We did not experience any noise issues.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor corner unit for best views and ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just spent Christmas week at the Plantation. Our unit was a bit close to the road and the shopping center, so early morning was noisier than we would have liked, but it was well appointed and convenient. We had been told by friends that a car is a must, but they didn't know about the shuttle bus! We toured the south end for fifty cents round trip (the senior fare 25 cents each way) and spent a couple of hours in old Koloa. We could also walk to two small shopping centers and Poipu State Beach Park. The beach at the resort was also beautiful and the grounds were lovely but the very best part was the Plantation Garden Restaurant where the food was fabulous and the wait staff was professional and very pleasant in the very best way!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the beach are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 6 days on the north shore and then move south for a final 5 days. (drive from airport is very easy and with no traffic takes approx 30 minutes). We arrived and were immediately impressed by the stunning well kept grounds. We arrived at check in , where the staff would extremely helpful and very polite and friendly. We were in unit 50 building 10. The apartment was clean , had an excellent balcony facing the garden and was a 3 minute walk to the beach. The beach was clean , free towels and chairs were available . We spent most of our time hiking in the canyon whIch was less than an hour away by car. very close by the resort there were numerous restaurants and grocery shops. There were also BBQs on the grounds which we really enjoyed. Overall we had a very good experience however one area of caution for light sleepers - there is no glass in the windows just shutters with screens - wind / traffic noise could be an issue. There is also a work yard close by and when trucks reverse early in the morning the noise was loud. As I write this they are cutting down branches again the noise is annoying. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and the checkout time of 12.00 was of great benefit. note without the noise factor I would have given 5 stars

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed unit 50. I always like to recomend the Garden Paradise category, as this is one that only Castle offers on property.

We hope that you return very soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in a ground floor unit that had a washer and dryer (room no 320). Although it is on the ground floor you still have to walk down a short flight of stairs. The condo was clean and the large lanai overlooks a cactus garden. The building is across the street from Poi'pu Shopping Village which features several restaurants (Roy's, Poi'pu Tropical Burgers, Keoki's, etc) and a small food market as well as other stores. The building is probably the farthest from the beach, but it is only a 5 minute walk. The room was well maintained and has a safe for storage of valuables. Parking is right behind the building.

Room Tip: there are no elevators so pick ground floor if you have a lot of luggage. Room 320 has a washer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.