We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great condo community with beautiful garden surroundings! We loves having all of the convenience of a condo along with the close proximity to the beach, shopping, and dining. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I always saw them working maintaining the grounds. It was very handy to have beach towels to borrow from the hut and although we didn't rent anything, they did have a number of beach items to rent. Poipu beach was great for snorkeling and seeing mink seals. The only downside to this property is that you have to cross the road to get to the pool and it looked a little run down. However even with our two year old we spent most of our time at the beach since Poipu has a great small, protected beach for little ones. Overall we would definitely go back and stay at the Kiahuna.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much! Please come back again very soon, and contact me if I can be of service.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    508
    156
    96
    43
See reviews for
438
662
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kiahuna was a great resort. The accommodations were perfect for my family of three. The beach was both swimmable and surf able! We stayed in a ground floor unit with one bedroom and a pull out couch. It was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed if we wanted to eat in. The location was accessible to shops, beaches and attractions. We had a rental car and found it very easy to navigate the island and find fun things to see and do. The staff were very helpful and quick to respond to requests. Although we didn't have an ocean view, the view from our patio was very pleasant . We were a very short walk to the beach or to the shops.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in building 7, top floor, corner unit with ocean view. The view of the ocean and the grounds is beautiful. The condo is very functional and well maintained. The staff responded positively to all our reservation requests. We had some ants on the kitchen counter from time to time. The unit included Wifi. The beach is narrow but beautiful. They provide you with beach chairs and you can either sit on the lawn above the beach or directly on the beach sand. You can walk on the beach all the way to Poipu public beach via the the Marriott. We did not experience any noise issues.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor corner unit for best views and ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just spent Christmas week at the Plantation. Our unit was a bit close to the road and the shopping center, so early morning was noisier than we would have liked, but it was well appointed and convenient. We had been told by friends that a car is a must, but they didn't know about the shuttle bus! We toured the south end for fifty cents round trip (the senior fare 25 cents each way) and spent a couple of hours in old Koloa. We could also walk to two small shopping centers and Poipu State Beach Park. The beach at the resort was also beautiful and the grounds were lovely but the very best part was the Plantation Garden Restaurant where the food was fabulous and the wait staff was professional and very pleasant in the very best way!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the beach are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 6 days on the north shore and then move south for a final 5 days. (drive from airport is very easy and with no traffic takes approx 30 minutes). We arrived and were immediately impressed by the stunning well kept grounds. We arrived at check in , where the staff would extremely helpful and very polite and friendly. We were in unit 50 building 10. The apartment was clean , had an excellent balcony facing the garden and was a 3 minute walk to the beach. The beach was clean , free towels and chairs were available . We spent most of our time hiking in the canyon whIch was less than an hour away by car. very close by the resort there were numerous restaurants and grocery shops. There were also BBQs on the grounds which we really enjoyed. Overall we had a very good experience however one area of caution for light sleepers - there is no glass in the windows just shutters with screens - wind / traffic noise could be an issue. There is also a work yard close by and when trucks reverse early in the morning the noise was loud. As I write this they are cutting down branches again the noise is annoying. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and the checkout time of 12.00 was of great benefit. note without the noise factor I would have given 5 stars

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed unit 50. I always like to recomend the Garden Paradise category, as this is one that only Castle offers on property.

We hope that you return very soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in a ground floor unit that had a washer and dryer (room no 320). Although it is on the ground floor you still have to walk down a short flight of stairs. The condo was clean and the large lanai overlooks a cactus garden. The building is across the street from Poi'pu Shopping Village which features several restaurants (Roy's, Poi'pu Tropical Burgers, Keoki's, etc) and a small food market as well as other stores. The building is probably the farthest from the beach, but it is only a 5 minute walk. The room was well maintained and has a safe for storage of valuables. Parking is right behind the building.

Room Tip: there are no elevators so pick ground floor if you have a lot of luggage. Room 320 has a washer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in building 7, top floor unit. Excellent views, condo well maintained and provisioned. Noise factor sometimes irritating, given wood frame construction and shutters, and over Christmas/New Year lots of commotion during the day, but very generally quiet at night. Staff responded quickly to any requests we had re the condo, but not terribly helpful about other aspects of the island/information/booking in the Plantation Restaurant on the property. Plantation Restaurant is just "ok", service slow and perfuctory for what is supposed to be a fine dining establishment, food was mediocre for the price point. A bit of an odd mix of Outrigger resorts and Castle resorts - Outrigger will not guarantee a specific room till check in, but Castle will, apparently. A beautiful island, lots to see and do, and a great visit.

Room Tip: Buildings 30,31,28,27,25,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 all have good beach views. Avoid anything in 15 to 19 or abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.