We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Southern island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 6 days on the north shore and then move south for a final 5 days. (drive from airport is very easy and with no traffic takes approx 30 minutes). We arrived and were immediately impressed by the stunning well kept grounds. We arrived at check in , where the staff would extremely helpful and very polite and friendly. We were in unit 50 building 10. The apartment was clean , had an excellent balcony facing the garden and was a 3 minute walk to the beach. The beach was clean , free towels and chairs were available . We spent most of our time hiking in the canyon whIch was less than an hour away by car. very close by the resort there were numerous restaurants and grocery shops. There were also BBQs on the grounds which we really enjoyed. Overall we had a very good experience however one area of caution for light sleepers - there is no glass in the windows just shutters with screens - wind / traffic noise could be an issue. There is also a work yard close by and when trucks reverse early in the morning the noise was loud. As I write this they are cutting down branches again the noise is annoying. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and the checkout time of 12.00 was of great benefit. note without the noise factor I would have given 5 stars

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed unit 50. I always like to recomend the Garden Paradise category, as this is one that only Castle offers on property.

We hope that you return very soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    506
    153
    93
    43
See reviews for
431
658
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in a ground floor unit that had a washer and dryer (room no 320). Although it is on the ground floor you still have to walk down a short flight of stairs. The condo was clean and the large lanai overlooks a cactus garden. The building is across the street from Poi'pu Shopping Village which features several restaurants (Roy's, Poi'pu Tropical Burgers, Keoki's, etc) and a small food market as well as other stores. The building is probably the farthest from the beach, but it is only a 5 minute walk. The room was well maintained and has a safe for storage of valuables. Parking is right behind the building.

Room Tip: there are no elevators so pick ground floor if you have a lot of luggage. Room 320 has a washer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in building 7, top floor unit. Excellent views, condo well maintained and provisioned. Noise factor sometimes irritating, given wood frame construction and shutters, and over Christmas/New Year lots of commotion during the day, but very generally quiet at night. Staff responded quickly to any requests we had re the condo, but not terribly helpful about other aspects of the island/information/booking in the Plantation Restaurant on the property. Plantation Restaurant is just "ok", service slow and perfuctory for what is supposed to be a fine dining establishment, food was mediocre for the price point. A bit of an odd mix of Outrigger resorts and Castle resorts - Outrigger will not guarantee a specific room till check in, but Castle will, apparently. A beautiful island, lots to see and do, and a great visit.

Room Tip: Buildings 30,31,28,27,25,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 all have good beach views. Avoid anything in 15 to 19 or abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Castle has a lot of reviews- I think because they send you an email the second you check out, asking you to do a Tripadvisor review if you've had a positive experience. In any event, my mom and I stayed here in mid-October 2012. We rented on vrbo, but our one bedroom unit was managed by Castle. We had an upstairs corner unit in building 36. Our unit was not fancy, but it was very comfortable and clean. Units are not large (and have one bathroom)- perfect for two people or a family with one or two small children. We loved the large lanai, and we were fine without a/c. And we fell in love with the beautiful grounds of Kiahuna Plantation. It was wonderful to be within walking distance of the ocean, and the shopping center across the street was handy. We had a little noise from neighboring units, since there are no glass windows- just screens and louvers. We knew this ahead of time, and brought our earplugs. One night there was a very noisy wedding at the Plantation Garden restaurant, with amplified music. We called Castle and they said the wedding could make as much noise as they wanted until 10pm. We ended up walking down to the Sheraton, where the music could still be heard! Things did improve somewhat at 10
pm. The folks who staff the little beach shack were very friendly. And did I mention how much we loved the grounds?! Their gardening staff does a wonderful job (and they are also very friendly folks). We went over to the pool to check it out. Unlike an earlier reviewer, I didn't think it was depressing! It was perfect for kids or anyone else wanting to relax, but we preferred being at the beach.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Mahalo for your kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back very soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were in bldg 39. We paid an upgrade to "deluxe garden view"Yes, it faced a cactus garden but the view from the lanai could not make up for the incredibly loud traffic noise from the"road" a probably 50 feet from the entrance to our room. I did speak with management about the situation an unfortunately there were no rooms available due to the holiday season. When I booked, through Travelocity, I even called the property office to ask for a third floor room (which I did get) but at no time did they mention the incredibly loud noise from the road, I would have changed my room then. My booking was over 6 months before I was to arrive in Kauai! Having said all this, the condo was spacious for two and the grounds were nice. The Garden Restaurant was lovely and we enjoyed New Years Eve dinner there.The pool which is off site is depressing and if you have young children wanting a pool I would not even think of going here.

Room Tip: As they cannot guarantee your room or bldg except by price in general area of grounds, I would look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I remember you well - I again apologize that the traffic noise bothered you. We rarely get complaints about it, but we do understand some folks are very light sleepers. As we discussed, I am just really sorry that as we were so full I was unable to offer you an alternative location.

May I suggest that if you return to Kiahuna in the future that you consider renting a Garden Paradise category unit? These are located in the center of the property, and are only slightly more expensive. They certainly don't have the premium pricing that goes with anything "ocean view or beach front".

This is a category only Castle offers - Outrigger does not have it.

Alternatively, you may feel free to contact me for personal assistance in setting up your next stay.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family stayed in Building 7 for 10 nights over Christmas vacation. We booked a hotel/car package with Outrigger and felt that the price was a great deal considering the high rates over the holidays. The location was the best it could be without paying extra for an ocean front unit. The staff were all wonderful and accommodating to my special requests. The beach was rocky in front but it was an easy walk to the right or left to sandier spots for swimming in front of the Sheraton and Marriott. The concierge desk was helpful for booking tours and providing information on activities.The large grassy area was filled with families playing together and grilling. Outrigger does try to honor your requests and the only thing I would request next time is a remodeled unit. The only other 2 negatives are that the pool is a long walk away and across the street and the windows are louvered so you can hear everything going on in all the units close to you. I am looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Ground floor is nice for families. A corner unit provides more air flow. Away from Poipu Road is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love this property. Beautiful lawn and lovely beach. Staff are friendly and happy to please.
We were fortunate to stay right on the ocean.. was a little concerned at first due to being right next to the beach store and access.. but, as soon as the sunset, everyone goes and the beach became all ours!

Room Tip: Pick one of the ocean view or ocean front rooms! Worth the extra dollars and less road and chicken n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Mahalo for your visit (and the previous visits as well)!

We hope to see you back for your 4th stay in the near future. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.