We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the bugs out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253-B Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
archer fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Get the bugs out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife , adult daughter and I stayed in unit #69 for 5 nights in Dec 2012. The grounds and location are great, and shopping is very close. Our problem was with the unit itself. The first problem was the cleanliness, or lack of, of the bathroom. My wife went into to shower and discovered an open and used bar of soap in the shower. Also the shower was not clean, there was a large clump of hair on the shower floor, so the shower had to be cleaned before it could be used. The second concern was the roaches in the apartment, I saw the first one running across the floor and second one inside the silverware drawer. When we checked in we were advised that the bug man was coming on Thursday, not a day too soon! We found two other roaches in the apartment and one even fell on my wife while we were in bed one night! Part of this problem may be due to the poor housekeeping in general. During our stay the beds were made twice, the trash was emptied daily, but that was the extent of housekeeping. The floors were never cleaned, the bathroom was never cleaned, shower, sink and toilet. My wife was there when the bug man arrived on Thursday and she told him of the problem, he treated the place with some gels and suggested we wash all the dishes and silverware before we used it, which we did. However, this was a major pain in the butt and after a while I washed everything in the dishwasher and we used the dishes from there. There is no ac in the apartments, which I thought would be a problem, however with the prevailing winds it was fine except for one night when the wind died down. There are no washer/dryers in the apartments but there is a laundry facility on the grounds. Because we were called by security on the first night to remind us lock the doors at night and when we were gone I did not feel comfortable leaving the clothes in dryer, so I stayed until they were done. We did call the front office about the bug problem and were told to be sure to put all food away, we also relayed to them the condition of the bathroom when we arrived but never heard anything from them about it. When I checked out I was asked how we enjoyed the stay and I said except for the roaches and poor housekeeping , it was OK. The woman's response to my comments were, " oh it is the year of the roach" and she chuckled, when I mentioned the cleaning, she said "so sorry" , she could have cared less. I want to mention the furnishings as well, very uncomfortable, granted we were gone most of the time but in the evenings it was hard to spend much time in the sitting area. We loved Kauai and the Poipu area, but we would check out the Outrigger side the next trip. Bob S

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    500
    152
    91
    43
See reviews for
422
652
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just returned a week ago from our third visit to Kauai and our third stay at the beautiful Kiahuna Plantation. We don't even consider staying anywhere else. We were in Unit 157 and really enjoyed the open, airy feeling of this condo. It is complete with beach chairs, snorkel gear, umbrella, boogie boards and coolers. We would have appreciated a few more items in the kitchen, however, such as an electric kettle for boiling water to make tea, and a cookie sheet. We always find the staff quick to respond to anything we need, friendly and professional. They work hard to keep the lawn and gardens beautiful, and always have a friendly smile. We love having the beach an easy 2 minute walk away and the restaurants and shops right across the street. If you want a quiet place to hang out, sunny Poipu and the Kiahuna Plantation is the perfect combination!

Room Tip: We found that early morning road noise was a bit of an issue when we stayed in a unit closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Condo stay is exceptional in Hawaii. This place is great, reasonable priced, fantastic service, private beach and super clean! Unit 94 also has a washer & dryer which is fantastic! 3 minutes by foot to A Starbucks, general store & little mall with a Roy's Resturant - everything you need for a perfect stay! Plus it is 3 minutes to the public beach of PoiPu - Love it here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

An amazing place! This was great the beach is only a minutes walk, and if your there for the beach then this is the place to go. Right across the street is a general store and a couple shops and restraunts. This is the best hotel in Kauai because it's grandfathered in to the beach! You have to boogie board and the grass is so lush that it's practically a blanket! Go here!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wonderful property, the grounds are beautiful with gardens,a gorgeous beach and great lawn with palm trees and shade. sunny side of the island. Place where we stayed was great with view of the ocean. Highly recommend this place, one of my all time favorites inthe world. Have stayed multiple times and it is always wonderful and very relaxing, Plus Kiaui is a great island for outdoor adventure.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice, but some garden or partial view are a better value, and still can view the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, 5 year old son and I stayed here for 8 nights in November and we were very pleased with our choice. The property is made up of privately owned condominiums spread out in these 2 to 4 story buildings but which are also managed as a resort by Castle Resorts. (Outrigger Resorts manages a number of the units as well).

What this means is that there are, or can be, slight differences in the units themselves. We stayed in unit 72, building 13, which is considered ocean view. It is, but you also overlook the gardens and is about a 2 minute walk to the beach. The lanai was a great place to have breakfast and supper, though it got a bit hot and sunny for lunch as there was no shade.

The units come with a full kitchen (fridge/freezer, stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher), dining room, sofa (with a pullout bed), flat screen tv, dvd player, iPod docking station, free wifi (worked well), small beach umbrella, folding table, vacuum, separate bedroom, room safe, plenty of drawers and a nice sized bathroom.

The units don’t have a washer/dryer but the resort does have a self serve laundry facility, which was located really close to our building, so that wasn’t too bad. One thing though is that the machines only take quarters and the change machine was out of order. Luckily, a member of the staff was there who just had enough for us ($5 worth).

There is no air conditioning but that was not an issue at all for us, and I am someone who LOVES AC! There are two ceiling fans and they have these shuttered screens that let in the ocean breezes. On a few occasions, I even had to lower the fans because it was getting too chilly during the night! On the other hand, you may want to stay away from those units that are close to the road, which might be a bit noisier.

There are a number of communal bbq’s, available on a first come first serve basis, but I never had an issue using one. Not sure how this would be in a busier season though.

For groceries, your closest, best option is Big Save in Koloa but around 10 to 15 minutes away, there is a larger Times Supermarket as well as a Kmart and a Costo, and a bit further off is a Walmart. You will pass all of these on your way from the airport, so you might as well stock up.

The beach area is really nice, and the resort provides lots of chairs. You can also rent equipment from the beach side concierge, which is also where you get/exchange your beach towels. Note, this is not Poipu Beach Park, but you can walk through the adjoining resorts if you really want to but we found our beach to be just great. There is also pool area across Poipu Road with a small water slide that my son just loved. No need to bring your towels here as they are provided at the shop.

It is also possible to take surfing lessons and rent surf boards. When you hit the beach, take a right turn and walk around 25 to 50 meters. You can book through the concierge or you can book directly (I used Kauai Surf School, which I loved and could not be booked with the concierge, and which accepts credit cards at the beach).

We also had dinner at Keoki’s Paradise (not affiliated with the resort) twice during our stay, which we really enjoyed, hence why we returned for a second go Both times we ate in the more casual, bar section. There are also a number of shops, including a Whaler’s Village, in the same complex. We did not try the restaurants on the resort.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My visit to Kauai last week was beautiful, thanks to Kiahuna Plantation. The whole place is so pretty and lush. I will definitely stay there again, except not in building 39. Building faces a restaurant with nightly live music show and they play loud and late into the night. Not good for people that enjoy quiet while on vacation. Beach in front of the hotel is one of the best in the area.

Room Tip: stay away from any room in buiding 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253-B Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.