We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Condo stay is exceptional in Hawaii. This place is great, reasonable priced, fantastic service, private beach and super clean! Unit 94 also has a washer & dryer which is fantastic! 3 minutes by foot to A Starbucks, general store & little mall with a Roy's Resturant - everything you need for a perfect stay! Plus it is 3 minutes to the public beach of PoiPu - Love it here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    507
    154
    96
    43
See reviews for
436
660
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

An amazing place! This was great the beach is only a minutes walk, and if your there for the beach then this is the place to go. Right across the street is a general store and a couple shops and restraunts. This is the best hotel in Kauai because it's grandfathered in to the beach! You have to boogie board and the grass is so lush that it's practically a blanket! Go here!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wonderful property, the grounds are beautiful with gardens,a gorgeous beach and great lawn with palm trees and shade. sunny side of the island. Place where we stayed was great with view of the ocean. Highly recommend this place, one of my all time favorites inthe world. Have stayed multiple times and it is always wonderful and very relaxing, Plus Kiaui is a great island for outdoor adventure.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice, but some garden or partial view are a better value, and still can view the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, 5 year old son and I stayed here for 8 nights in November and we were very pleased with our choice. The property is made up of privately owned condominiums spread out in these 2 to 4 story buildings but which are also managed as a resort by Castle Resorts. (Outrigger Resorts manages a number of the units as well).

What this means is that there are, or can be, slight differences in the units themselves. We stayed in unit 72, building 13, which is considered ocean view. It is, but you also overlook the gardens and is about a 2 minute walk to the beach. The lanai was a great place to have breakfast and supper, though it got a bit hot and sunny for lunch as there was no shade.

The units come with a full kitchen (fridge/freezer, stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher), dining room, sofa (with a pullout bed), flat screen tv, dvd player, iPod docking station, free wifi (worked well), small beach umbrella, folding table, vacuum, separate bedroom, room safe, plenty of drawers and a nice sized bathroom.

The units don’t have a washer/dryer but the resort does have a self serve laundry facility, which was located really close to our building, so that wasn’t too bad. One thing though is that the machines only take quarters and the change machine was out of order. Luckily, a member of the staff was there who just had enough for us ($5 worth).

There is no air conditioning but that was not an issue at all for us, and I am someone who LOVES AC! There are two ceiling fans and they have these shuttered screens that let in the ocean breezes. On a few occasions, I even had to lower the fans because it was getting too chilly during the night! On the other hand, you may want to stay away from those units that are close to the road, which might be a bit noisier.

There are a number of communal bbq’s, available on a first come first serve basis, but I never had an issue using one. Not sure how this would be in a busier season though.

For groceries, your closest, best option is Big Save in Koloa but around 10 to 15 minutes away, there is a larger Times Supermarket as well as a Kmart and a Costo, and a bit further off is a Walmart. You will pass all of these on your way from the airport, so you might as well stock up.

The beach area is really nice, and the resort provides lots of chairs. You can also rent equipment from the beach side concierge, which is also where you get/exchange your beach towels. Note, this is not Poipu Beach Park, but you can walk through the adjoining resorts if you really want to but we found our beach to be just great. There is also pool area across Poipu Road with a small water slide that my son just loved. No need to bring your towels here as they are provided at the shop.

It is also possible to take surfing lessons and rent surf boards. When you hit the beach, take a right turn and walk around 25 to 50 meters. You can book through the concierge or you can book directly (I used Kauai Surf School, which I loved and could not be booked with the concierge, and which accepts credit cards at the beach).

We also had dinner at Keoki’s Paradise (not affiliated with the resort) twice during our stay, which we really enjoyed, hence why we returned for a second go Both times we ate in the more casual, bar section. There are also a number of shops, including a Whaler’s Village, in the same complex. We did not try the restaurants on the resort.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My visit to Kauai last week was beautiful, thanks to Kiahuna Plantation. The whole place is so pretty and lush. I will definitely stay there again, except not in building 39. Building faces a restaurant with nightly live music show and they play loud and late into the night. Not good for people that enjoy quiet while on vacation. Beach in front of the hotel is one of the best in the area.

Room Tip: stay away from any room in buiding 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhododendron, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

lush beautiful well maintained gardens, lots of space, right on the beach and the sunny side of Kauai. We stayed in condo 187 which had a beach view. What kept it from a 5 rating was that the condo was a bit long in the tooth. bedroom door had a broken track, shower head in master bedroom was hanging on a hose and could not be secured to the holder. handle fell off the oven door when we opened it to bake. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are a foodie like us, bring a knife sharpener and a wooden cutting board, they provided a cutting board made of glass, and knives that were like very thin sledge hammers. But this is a foodies paradise, lots of fresh seafood at stores, locally grown fruits and vegetables can be purchased at small stands. Markets have all the needs, good wine selection. The beach was a bather's paradise.

Room Tip: try for a recently remodeled condo for more up to date amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
334 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great beaches in this area. This property, which shares grounds/building plots with Outrigger, has one of the best stretches of sand in the area. Nice ~10yd sand area at low tide, about 3yd at high tide. Ocean is has some sand and coral, but simple to navigate because the water is so clear. Location to shopping food is fantastic, walk across the street for a plethora of options, notably Puka Dog, Roy's, and Keoki's Paradise. Property is about 30min drive from Lihue airport. Not a bad jumping-off point either for traversing counter- or clock-wise around the island.

Check in is a smooth and simple process. Rooms are grouped in separated blocks, typically 6 per block, 3 up, 3 down. This review focuses on Unit #33 - labeled as ocean view. Ocean view is up for debate, as we could not see the beach or breakers, but you do have some line of sight to the water and palm trees that front the beach area. Most notably for the grounds, the groundskeeping - unbelievable, rivals Augusta National. Every time we walked the grounds, it felt like we were traversing a golf course, one gentlemen was even playing plastic range balls from his lower lanai one evening. The grounds are immaculate - swept every day.

As for our room, the setup was odd for a family of three; luckily, the 3rd is a toddler, so the free pack n play provided by the resort was placed in our bedroom. Had it been an older child, it would have been odd, even if a sofa-bed or roll-away was available - not sure where it would have gone. Quarters are not that cramped, but there was a lot of furniture and furnishings in ours. About the decor, the unit was furnished to a throwback 80s beach house - complete with faux teak/wood furnishings. Jalousies are common to every unit and really do a nice job of cooling the units night or day - some reviews comment they make the units a bit dark, which if closed they do, but most times the are open 50%+ during your stay. Bathroom was newly renovated and had a spacious walk-in shower, but cramped toilet space. A second sink would have been nice considering the occupancy. My BIGGEST gripe was the bed - totally AWFUL. About as firm as quicksand, very restless nights, but at least was able to easily nap on beach a few days in compensation. Terrible 'body grooves' on both sides of the bed.

Units have fridge, range, sink, microwave, and in most cases small appliances such as blenders and toasters. The lanai is large, enough for a lounge chair and table of four. Housekeeping varies depending on the rate/room booked, ours was a daily towel/trash/toiletries replenishment with new linens every three days.

Were we to come back to Poipu with our immediate family (as this case) or larger party, this location is certainly tops on list for value and experience. More recently updated units are on property as well, based on our walks and conversations with other people, but also older or less tasteful furnished units too. Most guide books are correct to call this a mixed bag, but a lot of that can be avoided by choosing Castle over Outrigger, and also requesting known room numbers if a repeat guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.