We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to the beach and very Hawaiian feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Easy access to the beach and very Hawaiian feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I liked the location of the condo. We were in number 30 which was a one bedroom one bath. My hubby loved the place. The windows let in plenty of air with the slats. No need for air conditioning. It was a pain to go to the pool though but I heard they are trying to install one in the future which would make this property appealing to the masses. I found the beach access awesome and ocean swimming no problem. I loved the fact that beach chairs were free. We had visitors every night a couple of geckos which was fun for the kids. Otherwise the accommodations are basic no frills. I would ask for this unit again because it was a royal garden view close to the ocean bottom floor. We loved the lanai.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    255
    78
    52
    30
See reviews for
233
297
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Great location has resturant and small shopping village opposite resort , we stayed in a fantastic one bedroom apartment was at back of complex but still had great views across lawns to ocean, beachfront, room was very spacious and had full kitchen, laundry in complex was useful, great spot make sure you have a hire care to explore island .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We rented a one bedroom condo (#143) at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation through VRBO and were extremely pleased with the condo, the grounds and the beach. It is a great location on Poipu and extremely reasonable compared to the hotels that surround it. Only a few of the units actually have ocean views but all the units are within a 100 yards of the ocean and have great garden views. The Plantation is one of the very few locations that has a true sandy beach as well as a fairly well protected cove with great snorkeling right out front. This part of the island has the best weather all year round and is fairly central to all the sites on the island. Check out VRBO for the best rates and Costco travel for the best prices on rental cars.

Room Tip: I would avoid building 38, 39, 40, 41 and 42 if possible as they are three levels an towards the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Kiahuna Plantation is conveniently located at one of the better snorkeling spots. The gardens and setting is beautiful, although we didn't quite understand why the lawn was watered to a swamp in places. The cozy apartment units are very similar, with basic furnishings, and well equipped kitchens.
At the desk Gayle, the Expedia local expert, was extremely helpful with information, as well as selecting the best tours and activities for our family. Our absolute favorite activity was the Kauai Sea Riders tour with Captain Tara. Even though weather conditions were somewhat bad, we saw turtles, all kinds of fish, and spinner dolphins. It wasn't in our plans to do a snorkeling trip (none of us have ever snorkeled before), we did this on Gayle's recommendation, and we are so glad we did!
The Kiahuna Swim and Tennis Club was a great spot to go to on windy days, the pool was a hit with the kids, and they also provide towels (different from the ones you get at the plantation for ocean use). The Casablanca restaurant served delicious drinks at poolside.
Highly recommend this spot. We wanted something relaxing, something that didn't feel like a hotel. Outrigger Kiahuna was just right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Kiahuna Platnation has something to offer for all ages. Young children can enjoy running in the surf, older children love the body surfing or taking surfing lessons right on the Kiahuna beach. Adults love sitting on the beach while watching all the sea life; even an occasional Monk Seal arrives on the beach. Tennis and golf are available. We've watched groups play baseball, soccer, croquet and bocci ball on the sprawling lawns. Some enjoy a quiet time on the lawn with a good book. The condos are beautifully decorated and are most spacious, especially the two bedroom units. Unit 66 is a two bedroom condo with a view of the ocean as well as the beautiful gardens. It is recently remodeled and very spacious.

Room Tip: Room 66 is perfect for a family of four or five. The kitchen is well equipped and it has an incredi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our 9 nights were a wonderful and relaxing experience. Our condo was very comfortable and well appointed. Although not air conditioned the fans and the breeze blowing through kept it very comfortable. The grounds are kept beautifully and the staff were very friendly. The beach is lovely and great for swimming or just enjoying the sun. Thoroughly enjoyable and recommend it very highly. Tim

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mu husband and I just came back from a short trip to Kaui. We stayed in unit #186 booked through The Parrish Collection. It had everything (basic) but the location of the unit was great. It has a great view of the water and a view of the beautiful green grounds. You can hear the waves and many different birds but not roosters...
The kitchen is small but equipped with enough pans and all... to be able to cook a basic meal. The fridge is big. For those who want to cook, there only is salt and pepper. No aluminum wraps or sarah wraps or spices. No fancy things like a wok...There was a small package of complimentary coffee and filters and a good coffee maker and a hair dryer and small washer and drier.
The bed was comfortable for me but too soft for my husband. The place was very clean and we did feel very secure on that property. They give you red cards to exchange daily for beach towels so you don`t have to bring our own. It is really quiet at night and you can join the Sunset Club... going to sit on the lawn to see the great Sunsets with a cocktail...There is so so much to see in Kaui including the life time experience of a narrated helicopter trip without the doors which we did... Will never forget that one. I am afraid of flying but somewhat did feel secure on that trip. It good to do this one at the beginning of the trip as you get a better orientation of the island if you want to travel to see the various areas worth seeing. We snorkled most places on the island and right at the front of Kiuhana, at the left of the reef is most likely, the best place to snorkle. We saw so so many different types of fish and some were huge!
The only thing we missed is air conditioned as we are used to much colder conditions. Our overhead fan was noisy at time so we had to turn it off when it was acting off. Would we come back to this unit? YES we loved it way more than Maui...

Room Tip: Unit 186 is on the top (second) floor so you don`t hear peole walking on top of your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.