We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a Kauai vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for a Kauai vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Kiahuna Plantation is conveniently located at one of the better snorkeling spots. The gardens and setting is beautiful, although we didn't quite understand why the lawn was watered to a swamp in places. The cozy apartment units are very similar, with basic furnishings, and well equipped kitchens.
At the desk Gayle, the Expedia local expert, was extremely helpful with information, as well as selecting the best tours and activities for our family. Our absolute favorite activity was the Kauai Sea Riders tour with Captain Tara. Even though weather conditions were somewhat bad, we saw turtles, all kinds of fish, and spinner dolphins. It wasn't in our plans to do a snorkeling trip (none of us have ever snorkeled before), we did this on Gayle's recommendation, and we are so glad we did!
The Kiahuna Swim and Tennis Club was a great spot to go to on windy days, the pool was a hit with the kids, and they also provide towels (different from the ones you get at the plantation for ocean use). The Casablanca restaurant served delicious drinks at poolside.
Highly recommend this spot. We wanted something relaxing, something that didn't feel like a hotel. Outrigger Kiahuna was just right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    514
    159
    98
    43
See reviews for
450
664
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Kiahuna Platnation has something to offer for all ages. Young children can enjoy running in the surf, older children love the body surfing or taking surfing lessons right on the Kiahuna beach. Adults love sitting on the beach while watching all the sea life; even an occasional Monk Seal arrives on the beach. Tennis and golf are available. We've watched groups play baseball, soccer, croquet and bocci ball on the sprawling lawns. Some enjoy a quiet time on the lawn with a good book. The condos are beautifully decorated and are most spacious, especially the two bedroom units. Unit 66 is a two bedroom condo with a view of the ocean as well as the beautiful gardens. It is recently remodeled and very spacious.

Room Tip: Room 66 is perfect for a family of four or five. The kitchen is well equipped and it has an incredi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had 4 nights at this resort after a week in Princeville. This was our first time staying on the south shore. We enjoyed the easy access to the beach the most as well as the sunset views every night directly from our lani. The location can not be beat! The units on the lawn are the best! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is the furniture is dated and there were many, many "bugs" in the kitchen, it got to the point that I did not want to cook. I understand this is normal in Hawaii but this was my 6th trip and the worst bug problem by far. We were in unit #21, building 5 for 3 of the nights. Kitchen was smaller then most in the complex but worked fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our 9 nights were a wonderful and relaxing experience. Our condo was very comfortable and well appointed. Although not air conditioned the fans and the breeze blowing through kept it very comfortable. The grounds are kept beautifully and the staff were very friendly. The beach is lovely and great for swimming or just enjoying the sun. Thoroughly enjoyable and recommend it very highly. Tim

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mu husband and I just came back from a short trip to Kaui. We stayed in unit #186 booked through The Parrish Collection. It had everything (basic) but the location of the unit was great. It has a great view of the water and a view of the beautiful green grounds. You can hear the waves and many different birds but not roosters...
The kitchen is small but equipped with enough pans and all... to be able to cook a basic meal. The fridge is big. For those who want to cook, there only is salt and pepper. No aluminum wraps or sarah wraps or spices. No fancy things like a wok...There was a small package of complimentary coffee and filters and a good coffee maker and a hair dryer and small washer and drier.
The bed was comfortable for me but too soft for my husband. The place was very clean and we did feel very secure on that property. They give you red cards to exchange daily for beach towels so you don`t have to bring our own. It is really quiet at night and you can join the Sunset Club... going to sit on the lawn to see the great Sunsets with a cocktail...There is so so much to see in Kaui including the life time experience of a narrated helicopter trip without the doors which we did... Will never forget that one. I am afraid of flying but somewhat did feel secure on that trip. It good to do this one at the beginning of the trip as you get a better orientation of the island if you want to travel to see the various areas worth seeing. We snorkled most places on the island and right at the front of Kiuhana, at the left of the reef is most likely, the best place to snorkle. We saw so so many different types of fish and some were huge!
The only thing we missed is air conditioned as we are used to much colder conditions. Our overhead fan was noisy at time so we had to turn it off when it was acting off. Would we come back to this unit? YES we loved it way more than Maui...

Room Tip: Unit 186 is on the top (second) floor so you don`t hear peole walking on top of your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Kiahuna Plantation the middle of October. This is our second stay at these condos and this was just as good as the first stay in February of 2011.
We really like the convenience of the condos and full kitchen. Gives you the choice of eating out or cooking. It is also really close (on) the beach and the beach is a good one. There is no air conditioning in the condos but in our two trips here that has not been an issue as the ventilation and trade winds have been pleasant and nights are pleasant. For us, the Poipu area has been a good base for exploring the island and Kiahuna has been a good value in our opinion. We have actually had the same unit for both stays and it was comfortable with nice amenities.

What we like:
The staff is friendly and helpful. We like to explore out of the way places and the front desk is always helpful. They have been great on both our stays. Everyone is friendly even when you are just passing the grounds crew.
We like the convenience of the beach and beach hut. Free chairs and towels.
Courtesy room the day you check out if you have a late flight.
Convenience to shopping dining in the Poipu area.
Walks down to Brennecke Beach and sea turtles in the morning.
Beautiful sunsets from the beach.

What we would change
I know this might seem strange but we have had two really nice stays here and wouldn't change anything. We come to Hawaii to spend time in the ocean so the pool distance that some mention is not an issue for us. I also noticed a review where the writer had a problem with security. Not sure what the issue there was because there were always some staff around and this ( and Kauai for that matter) are pretty quiet. Also some negative reviews have mentioned in-friendly staff??? Not sure where they were staying because our experiences have been exactly the opposite.

This is a nice place in paradise with nice people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is one of the best places in Poipu, in my opinion, although as always, 'your mileage may differ' depending on your unit and your neighbors. We had a great unti - a corner on the ground floor, with quiet upstairs neighbors. In the next building over, we saw the 'tourists from Hell' a huge family with many loud kids, and the entire clan hung out front of the unit for a week smoking, swearing, fighting, yelling at the kids, drinking, and making a LOT of noise. We felt sooo sorry for whomever was near them!

We had a great time going to the wonderful beach, reading on the patio, and exploring Poipu. We were back from the beach a bit, so we had to make a 5-minute walk; no big deal. The people in the towel hut were especially nice.

We thought everything about the Outrigger Kiahuna was very nice except one thing: the mosquitoes. We couldn't figure out where they were coming from and then we heard the sprinklers going off every night for a long time. This left a lot of standing water on the grounds and a perfect breeding ground for 'skeeters.' Hawaii has bugs for sure, and this is to be expected in a tropical location, but we had bites all over our legs and were sort of glad to leave. Sounds odd, I know, but we had only a bite or two in Princeville, and were covered with bites at the Kiahuna in Poipu. Other than that, it was terrific!

Room Tip: The rooms are more pricey as you get closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.