We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better than Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mu husband and I just came back from a short trip to Kaui. We stayed in unit #186 booked through The Parrish Collection. It had everything (basic) but the location of the unit was great. It has a great view of the water and a view of the beautiful green grounds. You can hear the waves and many different birds but not roosters...
The kitchen is small but equipped with enough pans and all... to be able to cook a basic meal. The fridge is big. For those who want to cook, there only is salt and pepper. No aluminum wraps or sarah wraps or spices. No fancy things like a wok...There was a small package of complimentary coffee and filters and a good coffee maker and a hair dryer and small washer and drier.
The bed was comfortable for me but too soft for my husband. The place was very clean and we did feel very secure on that property. They give you red cards to exchange daily for beach towels so you don`t have to bring our own. It is really quiet at night and you can join the Sunset Club... going to sit on the lawn to see the great Sunsets with a cocktail...There is so so much to see in Kaui including the life time experience of a narrated helicopter trip without the doors which we did... Will never forget that one. I am afraid of flying but somewhat did feel secure on that trip. It good to do this one at the beginning of the trip as you get a better orientation of the island if you want to travel to see the various areas worth seeing. We snorkled most places on the island and right at the front of Kiuhana, at the left of the reef is most likely, the best place to snorkle. We saw so so many different types of fish and some were huge!
The only thing we missed is air conditioned as we are used to much colder conditions. Our overhead fan was noisy at time so we had to turn it off when it was acting off. Would we come back to this unit? YES we loved it way more than Maui...

Room Tip: Unit 186 is on the top (second) floor so you don`t hear peole walking on top of your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    500
    152
    91
    43
See reviews for
422
652
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Kiahuna Plantation the middle of October. This is our second stay at these condos and this was just as good as the first stay in February of 2011.
We really like the convenience of the condos and full kitchen. Gives you the choice of eating out or cooking. It is also really close (on) the beach and the beach is a good one. There is no air conditioning in the condos but in our two trips here that has not been an issue as the ventilation and trade winds have been pleasant and nights are pleasant. For us, the Poipu area has been a good base for exploring the island and Kiahuna has been a good value in our opinion. We have actually had the same unit for both stays and it was comfortable with nice amenities.

What we like:
The staff is friendly and helpful. We like to explore out of the way places and the front desk is always helpful. They have been great on both our stays. Everyone is friendly even when you are just passing the grounds crew.
We like the convenience of the beach and beach hut. Free chairs and towels.
Courtesy room the day you check out if you have a late flight.
Convenience to shopping dining in the Poipu area.
Walks down to Brennecke Beach and sea turtles in the morning.
Beautiful sunsets from the beach.

What we would change
I know this might seem strange but we have had two really nice stays here and wouldn't change anything. We come to Hawaii to spend time in the ocean so the pool distance that some mention is not an issue for us. I also noticed a review where the writer had a problem with security. Not sure what the issue there was because there were always some staff around and this ( and Kauai for that matter) are pretty quiet. Also some negative reviews have mentioned in-friendly staff??? Not sure where they were staying because our experiences have been exactly the opposite.

This is a nice place in paradise with nice people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is one of the best places in Poipu, in my opinion, although as always, 'your mileage may differ' depending on your unit and your neighbors. We had a great unti - a corner on the ground floor, with quiet upstairs neighbors. In the next building over, we saw the 'tourists from Hell' a huge family with many loud kids, and the entire clan hung out front of the unit for a week smoking, swearing, fighting, yelling at the kids, drinking, and making a LOT of noise. We felt sooo sorry for whomever was near them!

We had a great time going to the wonderful beach, reading on the patio, and exploring Poipu. We were back from the beach a bit, so we had to make a 5-minute walk; no big deal. The people in the towel hut were especially nice.

We thought everything about the Outrigger Kiahuna was very nice except one thing: the mosquitoes. We couldn't figure out where they were coming from and then we heard the sprinklers going off every night for a long time. This left a lot of standing water on the grounds and a perfect breeding ground for 'skeeters.' Hawaii has bugs for sure, and this is to be expected in a tropical location, but we had bites all over our legs and were sort of glad to leave. Sounds odd, I know, but we had only a bite or two in Princeville, and were covered with bites at the Kiahuna in Poipu. Other than that, it was terrific!

Room Tip: The rooms are more pricey as you get closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first condo rental and we loved it! We had a second floor ocean view condo that is owned by a private couple that Outrigger rents out when they aren't there. Had all the amenities of home. There is no air conditioning but it wasn't missed because of trade winds that are always blowing. Beautiful beach and outstanding sunsets. Pool was a long ways away across the street from the complex so we never used it. Very good restaurant on the property.

Room Tip: Make sure to pay the extra for a full or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

By far the best place to stay in poipu!! Don't think I would stay anywhere else if my family and I were to return. I traveled here with my husband and 2 boys. its great for kids. but would definitaly be wonderful for couples as well.Although each suite is a little different they all looked up to par. We stayed in room 165. it was beautiful. although the rooms are not air conditioned it wasnt that big of deal because where there are supposed to be windows there are screens with shutters that allow a awesome breez in the evening and theres nothing like hearing the tropical rains in the middle of the night or waking up the the sound of birds. it paradise. The beach Is amaZing and the grounds are well kept. It is one of the only three resorts that are ocean and beach front. Nothing like waking up with the sun and taking a 1.5 minute stroll down to beach to watch the sun com up over poipu in the morning. Other places you have to drive. No thanks!! It's very quiet and clean. Suites have individual kitchens which is really nice as well as the many outside bbq's they have available for use. The location is perfect across the street from a little shopping center where there are shops Starbucks and eateries and next door is the Sheraton a short walk to get awesome cocktails. A lot of reviews talk about the pool being far away. Can't comment on pool much we never used or even went to see what the pool was like my family had to much fun and found more enjoyment on the beach. This place is worth the money!! Don't look any further!

Room Tip: If you can ask for a ground floor room that's ocean front or partial ocean front that way you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We rent out a VRBO at Kiahuna Plantation but it was run by Castle. We were in Bldg 10 which is in the middle of the resort. It was a few minutes from the beach and a few minutes from the shopping center (and pool) across the street. The grounds seemed to be well maintained and the staff were friendly. You receive towel cards which you cash them in at the beach activity center. They also have beach chairs there. The room was a perfect size. It had a full kitchen, tables and chairs, living room with a flat screen tv, bathroom, and bedroom. Our balcony overlooked a grassy area with wild chickens (who crowed around 6ish). Our room was updated with granite, but the actual decor would vary by unit. There is plenty of parking and a laundry building which costs $2.50 per wash and $2.50 per dry.

Our only compliant was our sleep quality. The unit did not have a/c and it was always hot (the lack of trade winds could have influenced this). We kept the ceiling fans going, but had to close half of the windows since we were a ground unit. We're use to cooler temperatures when we sleep so this was very uncomfortable. Also, the bed had extra padding in it so it was too soft for me (most likely different for every unit). Every night I woke up with an aching back. I would recommend this resort if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous, the sunsets from the property are amazing, loved the lanai for morning coffee and evening cocktails, appreciated the complimentary lawn chairs to enjoy the sunsets on the expansive green lawn. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiahuna Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.