We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VRBO run by Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“VRBO run by Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We rent out a VRBO at Kiahuna Plantation but it was run by Castle. We were in Bldg 10 which is in the middle of the resort. It was a few minutes from the beach and a few minutes from the shopping center (and pool) across the street. The grounds seemed to be well maintained and the staff were friendly. You receive towel cards which you cash them in at the beach activity center. They also have beach chairs there. The room was a perfect size. It had a full kitchen, tables and chairs, living room with a flat screen tv, bathroom, and bedroom. Our balcony overlooked a grassy area with wild chickens (who crowed around 6ish). Our room was updated with granite, but the actual decor would vary by unit. There is plenty of parking and a laundry building which costs $2.50 per wash and $2.50 per dry.

Our only compliant was our sleep quality. The unit did not have a/c and it was always hot (the lack of trade winds could have influenced this). We kept the ceiling fans going, but had to close half of the windows since we were a ground unit. We're use to cooler temperatures when we sleep so this was very uncomfortable. Also, the bed had extra padding in it so it was too soft for me (most likely different for every unit). Every night I woke up with an aching back. I would recommend this resort if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous, the sunsets from the property are amazing, loved the lanai for morning coffee and evening cocktails, appreciated the complimentary lawn chairs to enjoy the sunsets on the expansive green lawn. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 15th anniversary and our second stay at Kiahuna. We were first there on our honeymoon. Our condo was updated and very convenient to the beach. Lots of amenities. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant there is excellent. The sunsets were awesome; you can view the sunsets from the beautiful manicured lawns or the beachfront, your choice.
We had a wonderful Lanai overlooking beautiful tropical gardens, so relaxing and so much paradise!
The units are not air conditioned but the trade winds, efficient fans, and open plantation style windows kept it cool enough for us (almost 100% of the time). We were there in Oct both times so i'm not sure if it's much hotter in the summer.
The owners of our unit left info on their favorite things to do which was helpful to us.
Some of our favorites were kayaking the Wailua, visiting Atherton botanical gardens, hiking the first 2 miles of the NaPali trail, and beaching & snorkeling at Mahaulepa beach.
We will definitely go back and we will definitely recommend this resort. It's 4 star!!

Room Tip: End rooms near a walkway may be noisy with foot traffic. Choose a room away from Poipu Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quiltandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driggs, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved our stay at the Outrigger! Because we didn't stay a whole week, we only had housekeeping come in and change towels one time. We were there 5 days. It was just two of us adults, but I can see where you would need housekeeping to come in more often if you have a family and they are tracking in sand, etc. I don't remember why they said we didn't get maid service each day, but I think it is because it is a condo and you are to stay for the week? You might want to check on that. Overall, it was a clean place. Be prepared to listen to Roosters crowing all hours of the night. Haha!

Room Tip: You can't see the beach from any of the rooms. So, it doesn't really matter where you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Kathleen B,
Thank you for the review. We are more than happy to provide additional housekeeping services at a small additional charge.
We are trying to control our rooster popluation Hopefully, there will be less next time you visit.
Aloha,
Chris A Gampon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had room #228 in building 35. Very near the office and garden. Within walking distance of
the pool and beach.
The site is immaculate and so was our unit. Well equipped and everything seemed new.
Housekeeping service was first class, also very helpful and friendly.
The office staff and concierge were excellent. We took their recommendations for some events and we were delighted with all of them!
We would definitely return and would also recommend to friends.
A washer/dryer would have been nice. Being on the second floor was good and bad.
Good for privacy, bad for climbing 33 steps! Good exercise tho!

Room Tip: Second floor is nice for privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Ray B,
We appreciate your complimentary review. 12 nights in Poipu is a real treat.
Hope you are able to return again soon.
Thank you so much.
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just got back from Castle Kiahuna Plantation in Kauai and I highly recommend it. Our first floor unit was spacious, with a wonderful lanai. It was well-appointed and had the amenities that we wanted. Our unit overlooked a spacious lawn facing the ocean, with the beach just steps away. There were numerous restaurants in Poipu Beach and Koloa and many activities originating there. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatelover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I, along with our 9yo daughter stayed a week at the castle portion of the kiahuna plantation resort. We found it via VRBO.com and stayed in a newly remodeled condo. It was a short walk goths beach, and you can get towels from the beach shack at two locations. There are new gas BBQ's all over the property, convenient for cooking your own dinners. Great unubstructed sunset views and a large manicured lawn with palm trees to enjoy them on. The beach is narrow, but soft sand and lots of snorkeling to enjoy. Overall, the place is great and I would recommend to anyone traveling to the south shore of Kauai.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing