We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in Kaui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our home in Kaui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We finally had our fourth stay at this beautiful resort back in August. We hadn't been back in three years, and that was way too long. We had two condos, we splurged on one ocean view in Building 7 (well worth it) and my adult nephew stayed in a deluxe courtyard in the building next door (8). Both units were well kept, spacious, and very comfortable. The service here is remarkable, as the Reservations staff and Front Office manager accommodated all of our requests. There was one "hiccup" regarding the room cleaning, but it was clarified quickly and did not effect our stay. The grounds here are so beautiful and lush, the whole vibe is so peaceful and relaxing. It is not high end, which we actually prefer, it's more easy going. The location is convenient, the beach is great, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the staff is helpful, and grounds are amazing - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear mitraSanFrancisco,
We hope you are looking forward to your 5th trip to Kiahuna. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for your feedback. We apolozie for the inconvenience you experienced with your housekeeping "hiccup". Don't wait 3 years to return.
Malama Pono,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    236
    75
    47
    26
See reviews for
210
285
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
orion, Mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in unit 184 for 8 days in Sept. 2012. The grounds were beautiful. The service was excellent. Everybody was so friendly. The location was perfect - Just down the road from the calm waters of Poipu Beach. Plus, it was fun to swim at the beach in front of the residence, although the waves are higher there. We would highly recommend unit 184. It is offered as ocean view, but it is so close to the ocean that I would call it ocean front. The grounds and ocean are absolutely beautiful. It is a corner unit and is wonderfully cooled by the breezes from the ocean. I can't remember when I've slept so well. The unit was good sized, immaculate and had its own washer and dryer, as well as a cooler, a beach umbrella, books, DVDs, 2 large screen TVs and more. We spent many evenings on the linai watching the sunset. We were grateful for the full kitchen and the nearby barbecue grills. And we also walked several times to the restaurants and shops which are just across the street from the grounds. All in all it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear janet k,
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your comments. Glad you had a perfect time.
Aloha,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Kiahuna Plantation the last week of August. These are privately owned condos on South shore’s Poipu beach (next to Sheraton) managed by Outrigger/ Castle. The units’ interior décor and conditions vary, but I think the basic floor plans (1 & 2 beds) are the same. Other variables are location (Garden, Royal Garden, Partial Ocean, Ocean and Beachfront) and floor.

Our unit was a 1-bed partial ocean vu, ground floor, full-width patio. Interior was dated, but clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. Someone had even left beach chairs, umbrellas and a cooler in closet. There are stainless steel BBQ’s located throughout the grounds.

The resort grounds were beautiful – spacious lawns, lush foliage, open views, great location on Poipu. Beach; beach hut had free lawn chairs and beach towels, and rented boogie boards. No bar or snack bar at beach, and the pool is located way back across the main street at the tennis center (inconvenient, but made for a quieter beach & grounds). Plantation House restaurant/bar located on grounds (dinner only). There was another outdoor restaurant located at tennis/pool center (lunch/dinner), and one located at golf course if you wanted breakfast. Having a kitchen, we just stocked up on breakfast and snack food.

Downsides to this resort to consider - depending upon the experience you are seeking - are: (1) no elevators in any buildings – consider if you are handicapped/elderly; (2) NO A/C – can be uncomfortable if it’s 80 at night, and your ground level slider door is locked; (3) inconvenient location of breakfast/lunch restaurants and pool; (4) no room service, daily maid service (once per week), beach bar, nightlife, cabanas or other amenities of the “Big Resort” style hotels. Oh! and ROOSTERS! Lots of ‘em!

Upsides–very spacious and peaceful resort without a lot of hubbub going on; IMO a condo is superior to a confining hotel room; you can take a cooler of beer/whatever to the lawns/beach (try that at Sheraton); no resort fee; relatively easy parking; felt more like “Hawaii” than a hotel; and GREAT LOCATION: right on Poipu beach, long walk/short drive to Poipu Beach Park (good snorkeling) & Brennecke’s Beach – (good boogie-boarding); directly across the street from Poipu Shopping center and restaurants (Keoki’s Paradise, Roy’s, Tropical Burger); short drive to Kukui'ula Village Shopping Center (shops, restaurants, fancy food market/deli). Old town Koloa is a 3 mile drive for other casual dining options and a real market. And a walk to Sheraton or short drive to Hyatt if you need that late night mai tai or $30 breakfast.

I have stayed at some of the big hotels in Hawaii (including Sheraton next door to Kiahuna), and found the experience at Kiahuna Plantation much more enjoyable and relaxing. If you could put A/C in the rooms for the occasional warm/humid nights, and get rid of the roosters, it would be perfect. Also – it was a screaming deal compared to other options on the island ($1800 for week, including full size car, thru Costco). I’ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upper floor so you can keep your patio door open at night for ventilation (no A/C); bring a coyote f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Gardog52,
Thank you for your very thorough review. We hope the upside outweighed the downside.
August and September are usually the only months that guests wish for airconditioning. Otherwise, the trand winds tend to keep the units cool. We have ramped up our rooster patrol so hopefully, there will be less when you return. Please let us know if you can't do stairs, we will make sure you are located on the ground floor. We offer mid stay housekeeping service and there is an ala carte menu if you would like additional services.
Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Aloha,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Aloha from Hawaii,
Last week I spent a few days on the beautiful island of Kauai.
I stayed 2 nights at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation in a one bedroom garden view.
The units are large, the property is clean and I love the Plantations Gardens. The food was amazing. Try the seafood laulau.

When booking this property 4 things to keep in mind.
1. No elevators only stairs. If you have difficulty walking or doing stairs make sure and let them know so they can try and get you a ground floor unit.
2. Pay the bellman or staff to take you to your room when you first arrive. Some of the units are a 4-10 minute walk from the lobby.
3. It does not have daily housekeeping.
4. NO a/c, but they do have ceiling fans.

Marie Glodt

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Husband & I have been to Kauai several times. We've stayed at several resorts and hotels, but Kiahuna is our favorite. We have rented through the office as well as through private ownership. The units are charming, some more updated than others, but always clean. We have stayed at Marriotts Waiohai nearby, which is nice, but miss the "island ambiance" that is lacking at Waiohai. The onsite restaurant Plantation Gardens is a great place for dinner; great menu, fresh fish; wonderful atmosphere and staff.

Room Tip: We do not like building 40, 41 or 42 located behind other hotel buildings. Buildings 16, 17, 18 can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights for our Honeymoon and loved it! The location can’t be beat as far as central location for driving around the Island as well as many great beaches, shopping, and restaurants within walking distance. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the grounds were very beautifully landscaped with flowers, trees, cactus, and ponds. The ocean view from our Lanai was an added bonus and we could hear the breaking waves even though we were not directly on the beach. The lack of air conditioning did make the condo a little warm during the day, but who wants to stay in their room all day when you are in Kauai? With the fans on and windows open, the room was plenty comfortable during sleeping hours. We booked our vacation using Beach Bum Vacations and we received the free upgrade to Ocean View with their help. Thanks Outrigger and Beach Bum for an unforgettable Honeymoon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We rented an ocean view condo directly from the owner here. Location was great. I see complaints about no air conditioning but we had no issues. We had everything open all the time and the breeze along with the ceiling fans made it completely comfortable. Lots of places you can walk to from here. Very accommodating staff too.

Room Tip: Pick a location away from Poipu Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation

Address: 2253 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.