We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Villas, But Construction is a Damper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort to your Saves list
Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Villas, But Construction is a Damper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a 2-bedroom villa. Everything was really nice, I wish we could have stayed longer. We went to the pool and hot tub every night and there was never anyone around. The big drawback was the construction is a big eye sore and no direct access to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    202
    56
    18
    1
See reviews for
456
231
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I expected a lot more for the price we paid. There is currently no beach access from these condos to the beach due to construction fencing. The trail is blocked off. To walk to the beach or the nearby shopping center you have to walk up to the main highway. The fencing also spoils the view (we stayed in the same unit as the last review, building 9, unit 306). Another warning: the "free wi-fi throughout" advertised on their web site is for 2 devices only. Other devices cost $9.95 per day each for wi-fi access. After paying 5 grand to stay here for 8 nights, I didn't expect petty charges like that.
Also, our unit was not ready when we arrived at 2:00, which I understand. We went to lunch and returned at 3:45, and it still "wasn't ready". We wandered around the pool, and magically, at exactly 4:00 it was "ready". I totally felt like they were jerking us around. Towards the end of our stay we saw another family wandering around the pool in street clothes at 3:45. I think they just don't like letting people check in until exactly 4:00, which felt rude, especially for this price.
Other negatives: No restaurant or pool bar. Nobody tending the "bar" in the lobby at any time (now I understand after reading in the last review that they didn't have a liquor license). They only change the bed linens every 3 days, which is OK, but on the days they don't change them, they don't even make the beds. Also no sweeping or vacuuming. I expected closer to full maid service. All they did was empty the trash and change towels.
Positive: The unit was very spacious. It had a great spacious lanai, with nice furnishings. It was pretty clean, except for sticky stuff on the doors of the kitchen cabinets. The staff seems to do their best except for the checking-in part. One day we requested an extra sheet for the sofabed and a remote (we only had 3 for 4 TVs), and they were delivered promptly. Later I found 3 remotes in a drawer under the oven! The pools were very nice, although my husband complained about the lack of depth (4 feet is the deepest).
We stayed previously at Marriott Waiohai Beach Club, for a lower price. The unit was smaller, but we could walk directly from the pool to the beach and back again. We could walk down the beach to Brennecke's in 15 minutes or less. Knowing that their beach access and view are spoiled, I think Wyndham should be charging less for these right now. Location, location, location!

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor so you aren't looking directly at the construction fencing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

As everyone has already stated in their reviews, the nightly rate for a 2-3 bedroom condo is way cheaper than the hotels on the island and the space you get along with the huge deck is worth it. We just returned from spending 5 nights here in building 9 room 306 and were very happy with our stay. Building 9 overlooks the ocean which is about 150 yards away but you'll probably need to be on the 3rd or 4th floor for the view. You'll overlook their grounds and then there are a couple houses outside the Koloa Landing fence line prior to the ocean. The rooms and amenities match what you find on their site. The large lanai is great as you can open up all the windows and enjoy the outdoors. There is a table and chairs to eat and some other comfy chairs to relax outside.
The property has 2 pools, one adult pool that has a couple waterfalls and a hot tub. It's not a pool you'll swim laps in though and is somewhat small. Mainly for just laying out and jumping in to cool off. The other pool is a kids pool and is pretty big. There is a small section that is about 1 ft deep and then the other sections are 3 to 3.5 ft and one area that is 4 ft deep. The pool has chairs and surfboards to rent for the beach. This is definitely a pool you could feel safe letting your kids go around themselves due to the shallow depth. Sure wish they had a slide for the kids though but they didn't seem to miss it.
On the grounds they have a mini soccer pitch, a practice putting green, and a volley ball court (on the grass). They also have a basketball goal in the parking lot. So there are other things to do there.
There is a path to walk on to get to Poipu beach although it was closed while we were there. With small kids I think it's quicker and easier to drive to Poipu beach than to walk in my opinion. I think the kids would be complaining halfway to the beach - at least my kids would be.
We didn't get a meal plan and there's really no reason for it. My wife did go down to the market in the lobby and said it was expensive (not surprising) and it wasn't very good, plus the lady working there wasn't real friendly and got her order wrong.
There is a shopping center with lots of restaurants and stores about a 15 min walk from the complex or you could drive over if you have small kids.
We had a great time here, I wish they had a slide at the kids pool and served some drinks at the pool. Supposedly they got their liquor license the day before we left so hopefully they start offering that. Having a grill on the lanai would be great too but they do have them at the kids pool at least.

Room Tip: Building 9 is at the backside of the resort with no buildings behind/next to it so you'll defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We just returned from a 10 day stay in Kauai and Koloa Landing. There were 6 in our party so the 3 bedroom/3 bathroom fit our needs. At first I was worried about which building, construction, is it too far from the beach??? Set your mind at ease and just go and enjoy! I requested building 6 on a high floor and Ashely really took care of us. We ended up in room 304 facing the ocean, the adult tranquility pool (the waterfall sound will put you to sleep!) and the gardens where we were able to pick limes and mango's. Lovey graciously greeted us upon arrival and gave the story about the Hawaiian lei and then gave us each one. Our condo was beatifully appointed and very clean. The only complaint I would have is the bed in the master is sinking in and should probably be replaced, my back hurt each morning. We arrived on the Costco travel package which meant we got breakfast each morning which was yummy. If you are worried about not being directly on the beach, don't. You will more than likely drive to several different beaches to see more of the island. My husband and I took a walk each morning which extended along the back of the Sheraton, and we remarked how happy we were not to be stuck in such a small hotel room. Highly recommend, you will be very happy! BTW, no construction while we were there.

Room Tip: Building 6, 3rd or 4th floor. I personally think they should make building six an all adult buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My family just completed a stay for one week with hurricane worries at the end which never materialized. Our unit is configured as a luxury condo with three nice bedrooms, though definitely a master bedroom, and three equally nice bathrooms. There is a very nice and useable kitchen, more storage than really needed for vacation stays, and there is a nice living area with a comfortable dining area and living room. The lanai is beautiful with a great deal of space, nice views of the pool and ocean though it is in the distance. The sliding doors open fully to really bring the outdoors inside. Overall, this felt much more like a home than a couple of hotel rooms and allowed our family quality time together as well as privacy if needed. The only issue is the beach is a good distance away though definitely walkable (about 1 mile). On the other hand, there is a very nice shopping area very close with good restaurants and nice, though expensive, market.

Room Tip: Units are generally similar though there is an advantage to the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort

Address: 2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most coveted locations in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Travel & Leisure Magazine ranked Kauai as the #1 Hawaiian Island Destination two years in a row. In 2010, Kauai was #1 in the US as an island destination and #2 in the world, based on the readers choice awards. The rich amenities and luxurious accommodations at the brand new Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort are set among 25 acres of lush tropical oasis. The Resort is located less than a mile from the legendary Poipu Beach and boasts two beautiful resort style pools with meandering lagoons and cascading waterfalls. A paradise of natural and cultural treasures on Kauai´s South Shore awaits you, at Koloa Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.