We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort

Save Saved
You added Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Wonderful property in Poipu. Granite counters, Wolf appliances, Subzero fridg. We stayed in building 1 condo 404. 180 fantastic ocean view. It is the newest building and these are condos for sale, not timeshares. Our unit is on the market for 1.89 million. The amenities were well above par. Excellent taste in design. It was a three bedroom with two kings and one queen. The bathroom in the king rooms sported separate showers and baths. One overlooks the ocean and one is mountain view. All have their own lanai's.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I really highly recommend this property.

The downside: Building 1 and building 9 overlook a pool construction site before the stunning ocean views. You just need to look beyond it. They are the best location for ocean views however. I was told the new pool is being fast tracked, whatever that means there... There is a secret to getting drinks served at the pool. You need to ask the rental hut for them and they are happy to order and deliver. We found that out the day before we left. There seems to be a bit of disorganization on what the property offers yet. Still, we very much enjoyed our stay.

It is not the Hyatt in terms of a resort like getaway, but my sister who stayed there last year says this place is far nicer in comfort and relaxation. The spa was fine for a massage better than some. The $125 was worth it.

The only reasons this didn't get a 5 was because of the building out.

Room Tip: building 1 or building 9
See more room tips
Green Features: Go for the "green Kauai. They safe on housekeeping and you get $50 resort credit toward stuff at the marketplace. (No booze).
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    178
    44
    14
    0
See reviews for
405
211
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed with 5 people total in our party from September 15th through the 20th. I can't say enough how much the room exceeded my expectations while the location was just perfect for us! The rooms were more than spacious with three full bathrooms and a wonderful full kitchen! The wrap around balcony which opened up completely was amazing. You are able to rent beach chairs and gear right on site, which was a plus.
While this is not on the beach, it is a short walk or a short drive to it, which is no problem.
This location also has everything you may need close by, with the cute old town of Koloa worth a trip.
Would definitely recommend this place, or stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I can't say enough about the grounds and rooms at this hotel. I think they are still under construction, so part of the view is not so very pretty,but every room has a view of the water. The pool is phenomenal; there are gas BBQs for your pleasure in the pool area; the kitchens are fully stocked and better than my kitchen at home! Our room had two bedrooms and THREE bathrooms, which was awesome. The bed was super comfortable, too. We slept great.

Each room has a private entry--after you exit the elevator, there is only one room to enter. This makes for a very private and quiet experience. It also means you can leave beach, pool and footgear on the "porch".

There is no restaurant on site, but the market offers some deli type food and ice cream. There is a bar service to the pool.

The beach club, located on site at the pool, rents everything you could ever need from Boss Frogs or Snorkel Bobs--snorkel gear, chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, etc. The beach towels are large and plentiful.

It is worth noting that it seemed off season and the help was a little shoe string, especially with housekeeping.

But all the employees were wonderful. Especially Koa, who ended up being our unofficial bellman/barman/concierge. He was awesome. He delivered our bags, delivered our drinks, got to know our kids. If you go, ask for Koa. Koa will take care of you!

All in all, this was a top drawer vacation. We would stay here again, for sure.

I would have given five stars except for the construction area, which was unsightly. But I think as they finish the building, the property will be unparalleled in that area of Poipu.

In terms of things to do: Don't miss Brennecke's, in Poipu. If you have kids, the beach directly across from Brennecke's is like a natural kiddie pool. We saw turtles there.

We shopped at Sueoka's in Koloa, which we felt was better than Big Save.

Room Tip: Buildings 1, 2 and 9 will give you a great view of Poipu, but with the construction area. Building 3...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a program where if you agree to only have full housekeeping every three days, they give you a $50 credit in the market. Worth it.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent stay and service. Beautiful newer location. Not on the beach but within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with warmth and hospitality by Ashley, and made to feel so special. When I inquired about the location of our room, and I requested a higher floor, she went above and beyond to accommodate us. And the result was incredible. We stayed in unit 6-202 and it has the most amazing lanai overlooking the adult swim pool. The pool was always quiet, even when a few people were there, so we spent many mornings and late nights enjoying beverages out there.. the kitchen is well equipped with utensils and small appliances, and we used the stove, oven and microwave just about every evening as we enjoyed cooking our meals instead of eating out.. the restaurants in the area of Poipu are a little touristy, and didn't seem to offer much traditional Hawaiian food, so we decided to visit the local grocery markets and sample local cuisine on our own. (you must visit Ishihara's Market in Waimea for samples of fresh Poke!) The rooms in the condo are spacious and comfortable, and our beds were to die for at the end of long and fun days of exploring the island. We also used the concierge service for recommendations on other activities, and we used our $50 credit from choosing the 'Save Kauai' green option towards renting our snorkel gear for the week right on site at the main pool. Everything was so convenient, and Ashley made sure we enjoyed our stay. I think Ashley sets the bar very high for customer service, and she deserves to be recognized for her excellence. I hope the management at Koloa Landing truly appreciate her as well!

Room Tip: bldg 6 for adults. we stayed in 6-202 and had a partial ocean view overlooking the adult pool. ver...
See more room tips
Green Features: we participated in the hotel's 'Save Kauai' green program and very much appreciated the efforts that Koloa Landing makes towards saving the environment by reducing waste and offering recycling bins around the property.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort

Address: 2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Family Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most coveted locations in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Travel & Leisure Magazine ranked Kauai as the #1 Hawaiian Island Destination two years in a row. In 2010, Kauai was #1 in the US as an island destination and #2 in the world, based on the readers choice awards. The rich amenities and luxurious accommodations at the brand new Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort are set among 25 acres of lush tropical oasis. The Resort is located less than a mile from the legendary Poipu Beach and boasts two beautiful resort style pools with meandering lagoons and cascading waterfalls. A paradise of natural and cultural treasures on Kauai´s South Shore awaits you, at Koloa Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Wyndham, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.