We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort to your Saves list
Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This property is much more like a collection of gorgeous condo units than a hotel. We had a beautiful three bedroom end unit that had a massive amount of space. The balconies were enormous - so much so that there was a dining table outdoors that we used for breakfasts and at least one dinner. The quality of the finishes were better than I would ever expect to find in a hotel or condo - top notch in all cases.

Even though we were there in high season, the property felt quiet. Often we had the small pool to ourselves. When we chose to go to the larger pool, it was never busy. The barbecues were usually available when we needed them to cook lunch or dinner. I also liked that the staff prepared barbecue lunches for sale some days. The other on-site amenities were good - putting green, sports field, chairs for the beach, etc. While this is not a beach-front property, there were at least three beaches within a short (10 min) walk, and many more if one chose to drive.

I have to thank Terrin for handling our special requests for our reservation and for recommending a unit which turned out to be ideal for us. Nick, the Manager, also deserves kudos for ensuring that our needs were met from the moment we arrived until the day we left. This property has set the new standard for our definition of an ideal vacation!

This hotel far, far exceeded our expectations. I recommend it wholeheartedly, and absolutely will stay there whenever we return to Kauai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T H, Manager at Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your review:

Thank you for recognizing our exceptional staff. We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to create guests for life. Our accomodations are the finest on the island. Our new building (opening this summer) will accommodate our new luxurious spa. The Koloa Landing Resort Ohana looks forward to your next visit.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    242
    71
    26
    5
See reviews for
540
266
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

**The many many greats of this place**
These condos are amazing. The 1 bedroom spots are just below the million dollar price tag if you wanted one as a residence. We had a 3 bedroom on the top floor with ocean view and indoor/outdoor living area that made you feel like you were in a photo shoot for Conde Nast. Every morning you'd wake up and feel like you were spending a week like the 1% live.

The grounds are spectacular and very laid back. Self-serve BBQs. Two great pools and hot tubs. Putting green (like for adults - nicely maintained), volleyball net, soccer field, and basketball court. Deli/small C-store.

The resort has several resident families of chickens (as do many, I'm sure). They crow in the morning and seem to have happy lives at the resort. It was so fun to see a chicken strut by the pool or be snapping pictures of the landscaping and have roosters in the trees. It's nice they allow the outside in...

There are two trails to the beach - one mostly accessible (cobblestone between paved path and paved road) that lead out to a seawall that has to be one of the best run/walk spots on Kauai. About 5 minutes to the seawall from the resort. About 10 minutes brisk walk to first sittable beach.

There are at least 2 (probably closer to 5) big shopping areas nearby, a market, and many restaurants within a 2 minute drive. The resort also has several bikes out front for the borrow. At least 1 (probably 2) golf courses within a minute or so as well.

The housekeeping, grounds, and deli staff were the nicest and friendliest folks. One housekeeper pointed out the 2nd pool. The nice lady at the deli made us exceptional sandwiches.

And last on the great side - laid back. This place feels like normal people stay here. There isn't that "posh resort" snobbery. There's a very nicely appointed kitchen in your condo. Dishes. Cookware. Two huge gas BBQs by each pool. You come and go and use the resort facilities at your need. Can't say enough about the feel. Good good. It was like they thought of everything you'd need to pack in goods from the farmer's market and then stay a week or two...

**The few almost greats**
The resort does have another phase under construction. Many of the buildings are far away from it and you wouldn't know it. We were one of those buildings. Didn't notice. Didn't care.

Also the front desk is different as a couple other reviewers pointed out. They really pay attention to the current customer (but sort of in a way that makes you feel like you're waiting in a line) and we had this little back and forth about housekeeping credits. But minor - just something you try to grok just a tiny bit.

If I had a spot to make requests - I'd love to see the resort show guests how and where to recycle. We felt guilty leaving for the housekeeper or tossing - a pretty easy fix to provide a bin someplace and instructions. Then - I know every resort nearby does it, but the use of traditional landscaping practices (many blue dots of herbicide in the lawn and in beds) is just a bummer. Monumental task to maintain the beautiful (beautiful) grounds, but I'd gladly pay a bit more to know somebody on Kauai was using more sustainable and eco-friendly landscaping practices.

Room Tip: Room above the pool did have some noise - but all during reasonable hours. It is a very very groovy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The condos are very nice, The best you can think of. When i arived my room wasnt ready so we had to wait. So we went to use the pool. after 2 hours went to the room we were to stay, wasnt even done. The anger part was it was still under constrution. with may months to go. What a waste of vacation time. The front desk never knows anything. When ever you have a question all they say " is all i do is check people in and out". bad service there. The pool pic looks bigger tha it is. Very sallow, you can swim. Alot of sceaming kids.You cant check in till 4 pm and they want you out at 11 AM. So you have to ask yourself about the high room rate not even 24 hours.I think i would stay at a ocean front for that price,

Room Tip: Your room my be undre constuction . check your room number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T H, Manager at Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha backkauai:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the challenges created by our resort improvements and front desk team. We have shared you concerns with the team and improved our communications. As many reviewers have noted, our family pool was designed for all ages to enjoy. We also have a beautiful adult pool with spectacular waterfalls and a Jacuzzi. Our new building will open in May and the luxurious spa will open in July. During this period most of the construction is isolated indoors. We do hope you will visit again soon to enjoy the new amenities and resort improvements.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort

Address: 2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most coveted locations in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Travel & Leisure Magazine ranked Kauai as the #1 Hawaiian Island Destination two years in a row. In 2010, Kauai was #1 in the US as an island destination and #2 in the world, based on the readers choice awards. The rich amenities and luxurious accommodations at the brand new Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort are set among 25 acres of lush tropical oasis. The Resort is located less than a mile from the legendary Poipu Beach and boasts two beautiful resort style pools with meandering lagoons and cascading waterfalls. A paradise of natural and cultural treasures on Kauai´s South Shore awaits you, at Koloa Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koloa Landing at Poipu Beach Wyndham Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.