We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapaki Joe's Poipu

Kalapaki Joe's Poipu
1941 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI (Koloa)
808-742-6366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Koloa
Description: Very good, reasonably priced food and drinks. Good service. New location
Hamilton, MT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Really good food, good drinks. Our server was very good! Prices were very reasonable. Well worth it!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    170
    102
    48
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poipu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oil, and not the good kind”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had the Coconut Shrimp and Fish and Chips. The Shrimp had little taste, the fries were limp and greasy, the fish oozed oil with not much fish in the middle of the breading. I hadn't been in this restaurant for over a year - thought I'd give it another try ... never again.
The best thing about this bar/restaurant is the view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritzville, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food with really decent prices for Kauai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Our family of seven ate here our last night while vacationing on Poipu Beach only a minute away from our resort. First of all, great food! We had two appetizers. Everyone absolutely loved the chicken lettuce wraps. Yum! The coconut shrimp were good with a yummy sweet sauce. Dinner entrees we ate were a Mahi Mahi dinner shared amongst two of us, cobb salad, fish and chips, and their known famous fish tacos. Everyone really liked their meals except the fish and chips had too much breading for us. Outstanding view of the ocean in the background. Too bad the owners don't make something of an outside seating even though its really all outside and open air deck would be nice since the evening was beautiful. We all felt that it was a bit loud in there but I guess it is a sports bar. The prices are very very good with no complaints at all. I don't understand their poor reviews at all here unless its changed over the years to the better. The service was good but if you ask for separate checks be aware your meal all come out at different times, (which our waitress warned us) which we've never had that before. It seems like there would be a simple way to tag the order as all together just with a simple no. on the slip. The service and drinks were all good. We were traveling with our young granddaughter of two and so it was nice to have that comfortable couch and Big Screen TV seating area to move her to for something different than sitting in her high chair. Thanks for a nice last evening
out. We'll for sure return! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a sports bar with great food. Fast service, fair prices, and a large variety on the menu. If you are in Poipu, this is a good spot to eat.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast with tennis and the ocean in view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were touring the south side of Kauai and found KJ's by chance as we drove along the beach road. We have a KJ's near our resort in Lihue but had not eaten their yet. This place is overlooking the tennis courts and has a great ocean view beyond. The menu is diverse with classics like omelets and a few local favorites. The service was very good and we got directions to a local beach as we left. P.S. The restrooms are very clean! Overall this is one of the great breakfast places on Kauai.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Joe's Poipu also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Joe's Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapaki Joe's Poipu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.