We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Meal While in Poipu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merriman's Poipu

Merriman's Poipu
2829 Ala Kalanikaumaka Street #G-149, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)
(808) 742.8385
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Merriman's Poipu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Koloa
Cross street: Poipu Road
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal While in Poipu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Four of us visited this restaurant in mid September. Some reviewers mentioned poor service and over priced food, but for us, this was one of the best meals we had all week (and it was our second day on the island!).

Our waiter was very nice and quick to help with our questions and our menu and other generalities about Poipu. We shared the Onu poke, which was so good I wish we could have a pound to take back with us! We also shared the fresh bread and jam, also delicious. Each couple shared a salad, which was on special for that day, so not on the regular menu. For dinner, I had crispy mahi mahi and my husband had the crusted mongchong. We both had the small portions to make sure we had room for dessert, but I think next time I would order the full size and take dessert home! It was so good, I didn't want to stop eating. The fish were prepared perfectly as were the sides. If you can't choose what to eat you can choose two small portions for a "duo" plate.

For dessert, the table shared the chocolate purse and the malasadas. Umm, okay, so GOOOOOOD! The chocolate purse was so so, but those malasadas were rich and delicious and yummy!

So, we thought the restaurant hit the mark, or at least it did on the evening we dined. We nearly headed there again during our stay, but opted for the more casual restaurant downstairs. It can be a romantic evening for couples or enjoyed with a small group to celebrate. I would not really recommend small children.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    168
    89
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful setting and great food. Convenient to those staying in Poipu. Good drinks and great service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, but below our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After visiting Merriman's on Maui on a previous Hawaii visit, my expectations were high for this visit on Kauai. Overall though the experience was disappointing based on those expectations. Kauai's Merriman's has a nice view of the sunset and you can see the ocean, but it is not an oceanfront view. Service started off very good but we couldn't decide if the server was trying to leave us alone to be uninterupted or if he just wasn't interested in serving our table. We ordered a round of cocktails upon being seated and we were not offered a wine list or additional drinks for the rest of our visit. The fish entrees we both ordered were good, but not great. The fish was cooked very well but based on the price the whole dish should have been more interesting. We will stick with visiting Merriman's on Maui instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Merrimans Fish House vs. Merriman's Gourmet Pizza & Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After reading these reviews I realized some of these reviewers don't know exactly where they dined. The downstairs Merriman's Gourmet Pizza & Burgers has a nice menu with burger's and pizzas. The bar is cool and cocktails are super tasty! Great for large parties, families and kids.

Where as, the upstairs, Merriman's Fish House is fine dining with super fresh fish, nice wine list. If I were you, I'd check out the menus here: www.merrimanshawaii.com. You will see what Merriman's is about and understand that their pricing is very fair and they support local fishermen and farmer's, offering organic, gluten free and even vegan choices. It's a great "special occasion" restaurant that offers great food! I loved the Kehole Lobster Mac & Cheese, Kalua Pork quesidillas and the Crispy Day Boat Mahi, sooooo yummy. Give my compliments to the Chef. :0) Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knox
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Over Priced but Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place was close to the condo we rented. No view of ocean because it is in a shopping area. The service was Ok, not terrific but not bad. Same with the food. We had the Tuna pizza, with raw wasabi sauce ( Very tasty). Fresh fries with Cilantro, typical but too $$. The lamb burger was really good if you like lamb (not popular on the islands). Bottle of wine was $26 and very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Poipu also viewed

 

Been to Merriman's Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merriman's Poipu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.