We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kuhio Shores #314 & 315: Perfect Beachfront Condos

Corner Window View from Dining Room
Corner Window View from Dining Room
Corner Window View from Dining Room
The beach outside #314
Surfing at the Kuhio Shores Poipu Beach
Kuhio Shores #314 kitchen
Kuhio Shores #314 Corner Windows With Sunset View
Poipu
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linda F
Auburn, Washington
1 review
“Beautiful Condo, can't get any better than this!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This was such a great place to vacation! Mel was so pleasant and easy to work with through the rental process, he is very prompt at returning calls and emails. We enjoyed the oceanfront, property, it is out of the hustle and bustle yet close to Lihue if you want to shop, beautiful location.

The condo was well equipped with all that you would need. If you need a handicap accessible condo try #315. We enjoyed sitting on the lanai to watch the turtles, surfers and gorgeous sunsets. It was so relaxing just listening to the wave’s crash. For fine dining try the Beach House restaurant next door, excellent! For casual dining try Chicken in a Barrel and Brick Oven Pizza, they are both very good! The Kauai Coffee Plantation is a must for coffee lovers, coffee, ice cream and gifts.

We can't wait to return to Mel & Pearl's condo!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alohart
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful ocean views and sounds in a convenient Kauaʻi location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

For those who value staying as close to the ocean as possible, Kuhio Shores 314 might be the place for you. Unlike many other Kuhio Shores apartments, 314 has a west-facing corner window in its dining area from which beautiful sunset views can be seen. From its ocean-facing dining area windows and spacious lanai, whales (in season), sea turtles, sea birds, surfers, and stand-up paddle boarders can be seen.

The apartment, furnishings, and kitchen equipment are clean and perfectly acceptable but are not as new, modern, or complete as some other apartments. But then the rental rate isn't as high as some apartments, so you tend to get what you pay for.

The WiFi Internet signal was strong and the bandwidth, fast.

The owner sent the front door key and lockbox combination to us via mail. A second front door key was in the lockbox, so we had 2 front door keys available during our stay which was nice since we were two couples. The owner promptly returned our security deposit upon our departure.

When we plan to return for a Kauaʻi vacation, we hope that Kuhio Shores 314 will be available.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Very close proximity to the ocean
Liked least: Not as many pots, pans, plates, bowls, etc., as we would have liked
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MBaringer
Red Wing, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A block from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Hale Momo was wonderful. We were a group of 3 couples and 2 singles. We rented the entire house and everyone was thrilled. The house is good size and we had plenty of room. When we called with a problem they fixed it right away. The bedrooms are large with comfortable beds and we had no problem sharing the bathrooms. We could walk to the park, the beach, and the restaurant. It was private and quiet (except for the roosters). We all said we would stay there again. Driving through the Tree Tunnel is beautiful. We did laundry and the kitchen has room for more than one cook and was the gathering place for all 8 of us.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beds, the light, and the location
Liked least: The roosters and the number of steps into the house
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
hmb1000
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Beautiful, tranquil, ocean panorama to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This gorgeous condo gives a protected view of the Pacific lapping to the short just a few feet away from the building. Sitting in the living room one can see nothing but the ocean in all directions. Regularly little need for AC; breezes pass through the unit cooling it quite naturally. Amenities are all in good working order; quiet environment at the building; great restaurant within walking distance for lunch or dinner. Shopping quite accessible. Worth it all for the view alone!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The terrific view.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jake-chic...
chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great location, great condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

we had a great stay here - plenty of room for 2 couples and a baby. kitchen had good and plenty of equipment and was well stocked. comfortable bedrooms/bathrooms, spacious living space. location can't be beat - both sunrise and sunset visible from the lanai and windows. walking distance to several beaches, 5-10 minute drive to other bigger beaches. great place to visit many kauai sites. laundry down the hall ($3.50/load including soap). owner mel was always available for questions via phone or email (altho sometimes he seemed like it was a bother). we would certainly stay here again and would recommend.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2013
Aloha Thanx for your most positive review Sorry i seemed "sometimes like a bother" but on your next visit I will be the essence of "patience" Glad you enjoyed my condo Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
pataiki1
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This condo is heaven on earth. Clean, modern, perfectly furnished and decorated! Our two weeks flew by and we felt we had magically found the best home in the best part on the best island the state of Hawaii has to offer!

Thank you so much - Pearl & Mel - we're already planning our next visit!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Hearing the ocean and feeling the tradewinds - Pack light! You'll only need a tshirt and swimsuit
Liked least: Having to leave :-(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lisa H
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
“The Best Place to Stay on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The location of the condo is absolutely perfect...right on the water, steps from great snorkeling, and walking distance to wonderful shopping and restaurants. The condo itself is clean with all the necessary amenities and has beautiful views from inside and outside on the lanai. We can't wait to return to #314 again some day!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything...especially watching the sea turtles and hearing the waves!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2012
Mahalo Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$265
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Melvin K
8183471463
Speaks English
Listed since : Sep 2009
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 113 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing