We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Of the Best in Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Salt

Red Salt
2251 Poipu Rd, Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)
+1 808-828-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Poipu
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Contemporary, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Koloa
Description: Red Salt at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort on Kauai combines the ideal elements for dining in Hawaii. The beautiful oceanfront setting is enhanced by a contemporary open design, and the large picture windows showcase the ocean and pool views. The diverse menu celebrates the fresh seafood and produce available in Hawaii, while the casual yet sophisticated atmosphere ensures that dining at Red Salt will be a memorable experience.Red Salt offers an ideal setting regardless of time of day. A daily Breakfast Buffet combines traditional American fare with fresh tropical fruit, breakfast bakery selections, assorted juices and an omelet station. The Dinner menu offers contemporary upscale cuisine. Lunch is served poolside and we also offer guest room dining 24 hours a day.
Westmont, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Of the Best in Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Kauai has some great restaurants but we found this one to be the best. The service was the best of any restaurant we have ever been to. Brian was exceptional. Our kids wanted a soda the restaurant did not serve and he went to the store in the hotel and got the soda. He even split a martini with two small martini glasses for our wives.

Highly recommend the beet salad. The 7 spice seared ahi could be cut with a fork and cooked perfect. The 12 ounce wagyu New York steak is exceptional with three dipping sauces and well worth the price. The root beer float is the best desert on the island. We went twice during our stay it was so good.

Don't be concerned that there is no beach view, there is plenty of beach to see during your stay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    192
    76
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good food, exceptional service. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wife and I had a 830pm dinner reservation which proved to be quite late for Kauai. When we left at 10, we were one of two tables still in the restaurant.

Shrimp trip appetizer was small but tasty.

We had the lobster ravioli was good, not the best we've had. Lobster tail was a bit tough.

Also had the pork which came highly recommended and was quite good. Not mind blowing coming from a self proclaimed foodie.

They did wow us with the cotton candy cloud dessert at the end.

Overall, nice dining experience. Not mind blowing but good.




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fine dining on Kauai.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The only better restaurant is the Beach House. The outlook is “so so” but the overall atmosphere and food is great. We started out our dinner poorly with a male waiter but fortunately he passed us off to a lady waiter and she was great. It can get a liitle noisy here from corporate dinner groups but it is worth it. I always order the pasta here, but most people go for the fish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very nice dinner! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Red Salt was our first dinner on Kauai. The food was very good. Also the service and atmosphere was great! A must while visiting Kauai.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river, new jersey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Since we were staying at the Koa Kea Hotel we ate at the Red Salt quite a few times. We had breakfast there everyday and dinner 3 times. The servers for all meals were very courteous and knowledgeable of their menus. I had a different breakfast each day along with their buffet. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. One morning I had the breakfast burrito and not able to finish. The soufflé pancakes were I think the best. the dinners were a little pricey, however the food was excellent. Brian was the best server because he was the most professional and did an excellent presentation while explaining the menu and serving dinner. I had a different fish each of the 3 nights because they severed it in a different way and it was excellent. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Salt also viewed

 

Been to Red Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.