We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good fusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yum Cha Asian Eatery - CLOSED

Yum Cha Asian Eatery
2250 Ainako Street & Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
808 742 1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Let your taste buds delight in the delicious flavors of Asian Fusion cuisine. Choose from tempting selections of small plates, soups, salads and entrees, ranging from well-known Asian favorites to our chef’s own unique creations. Choose from a variety of dim sum dishes or mix it up as Vietnamese blends with Chinese that merges with Thai and Japanese for a taste sensation. Cap off your meal with sake or a specialty martini and be sure to save room for our eclectic desserts.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pretty good fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Strange location-- a golf clubhouse. However, this makes the most use of space so it's probably practical for the hotel. Good food. Pretty good service. It is overpriced Asian food but it's at a resort after all. What else would one expect at a Hyatt?! We would return as we enjoyed the food and would love to try out some different menu items.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    56
    34
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blacklick, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good value and variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

If you like to enjoy Asian food in a family style dining atmosphere, this is the place to go. Go hungry, because you will get allot of food for your money.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Sadly, my husband had the stomach flu on the day of our wedding and we both just weren't feeling up to par on the first few days of our honeymoon. BUT we were able to pop over to yum cha at our resort only to find the food was delicious and not expensive at all. Of course the view is amazing and a great alternative to the typical beach scene. Try and go when the sun is setting so you can see the sunset over the golf course.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bland flavor, fatty chicken”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our chicken satay appetizer was very bland but edible. Our main dish was also a chicken dish and the chicken was so fatty we couldn't finish it. We could have had a better meal at the take out Asian place down the street from our house. They did remove the main dish from our bill and they even sent up a nice basket of snacks to our room in an attempt to make things right. Maybe it was just an off night for them but we didn't return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love Yum Cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Always a stop when we visit Kauai. Love to mix the fried rice with the grilled chicken salad; sounds strange, but it works. Consistently good food.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum Cha Asian Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yum Cha Asian Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.