We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pampered vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Surfing Lessons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A pampered vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

My husband and I wanted to renew our vows for our 30th anniversary. We were bringing our two daughters and their husbands. I found Villas at Poipu Kai online. From that point on, planning our vow renewal was finished. The staff made all the arrangements for us after sending me a extensive list of music, ministers, florist, etc. They even arranged for couple massages on the lanai. Upon our arrival, there was a beautiful arrangement on the countertop with a note congratulating us. All of us were amazed at how beautiful the condo was. We loved that each couple had a master suite. The day of our renewal Sarah guided us to the beach. We were very lucky to find such a luxurious place with an amazing staff. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
94
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

The condo was very large for the 3 of us. Good location. I wouldn't worry about not being on the beach because most places you had to drive. If your kids were older, walking to the beach with your stuff would be easy. We stayed in H212 garden villas. The pool was almost always empty so we had it to ourselves! Condo needs new towels as we didnt want to use them. Overall the condo we stayed in was wonderful however, it needs a good deep cleaning. It is surface clean - just some dusty areas. Dishwasher doesn't work well.
Be weary of being on the bottom floor. We did not have tenants above us most of the stay so it was quiet but a few nights a family was above and I could hear kids RUNNING for hours. Woke up to a baby crying at 5am. Also could hear someone hitting the door stopper over and over. Next time I would not stay on the bottom floor.
Condo did lack a view. If you can get a deal - stay in the Pool Side Villas.
Even though I had complaints, it was a gorgeous condo and we stay again. It was nicer than any Sheraton we have stayed at and cheaper. Washer/dryer was great to have. - Well stocked appliances in the kitchen. 3 TV's, games for kids in the condo and books to read.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

From the minute we arrived, the place was not what we thought it would be. We stayed in building C and there was no close parking.. we had to haul all our bags over a curb and several bumps around 3 buildings to the back to get them to our room. There was no easy access to the pool either. You would think by poolside that you could just walk out and it would be there, but we had to exit the back, then go around our building, to get to the pool. The pool was also much colder than what a typical hawaii pool so. So cold that after 5 minutes our little one was shivering and we all had to get out and run him upstairs to the shower to warm him up. The only thing nice about the place was the room. Although the kitchen dining and living area were squeezed so much together you could barely walk. So with the todler its kind of challenging. The bedrooms though were great, great big bedroom walk in closet and nice shower. But not much privacy since every unit is facing around the same swimming pool and everyone can look into another persons room unless you shut the blinds, which kinda is against the point of poolside rooms. The kitchen was also great and was not missing anything. Still, we were expecting more from the place. There was no maid service at all, we had to take out our own garbages. Although its expected of a condo, the cleaning fee is so high you would expect that they would at least pick up the garbage. If you want to spend the time in the room its great but for everything else, its not up to par. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

This was one of the nicest places we have stayed in on vacation. The facilities are very clean, very upscale in look and appeal, the pool is first class - with rock features and a waterfall hot tub plus tiki torches at night; just an overall 10 for everything. We stayed in one of the top floor condos - 4 bed/3.5 bath - and it had very nice amenities, a very relaxing lanai off the living room and master bedroom, and very up to date appliances (along with slab granite countertops). We have 3 children - ages 12/10/9 - and they loved the pool almost as much as the beach; which is only a short walk away on a nice path thru immaculately kept grounds. Just a first class stay and the management was very helpful and accomodating. I highly recommend eating at Keoki's for dinner - sure its a little touristy but they have good food, good drinks, and a really fun atmosphere. The shopping area is only about a mile down the road and has some nice shops, plus a Starbucks, Roy's, and the famous Puka Dogs. Great location, great facility. I really don't think we could have asked for more - we had a great time and are already planning our next trip and will definitely be staying here again. Also, try Fathom Five for great scuba and snorkeling trips; Smith's Family Lua, and Cap"n Andy's Na Pali Coast catamaran tours.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I was amazed by how clean the place was when we arrived. It is truely 5 stars. The pool and hot tub were great. Everything under the sun was in the kitchen. Even rice cooker. The bathrooms were also 5 star with 2 shower heads. Walk to the beach was only 5 mins on a great walk path. The walk to the Hyatt also was only 5 min. We ate at Keoki's at the shopping village which is a great place to take out as well. The bar side is the best value. Only thing I found distracting is you can hear the people walking on the floor above you. If you don't need an ocean view this is most likely the best place in Poipu.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Excellent kitchen, close to the beach. The staff was amazing during booking, check-in and check-out. I would recommend booking directly through Ann or Sara. The lanai was complimented with great furniture for sunsets. We had the four bedroom and there was plenty of room for 8 adults.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Our condo at the Villas at Poipu Kai was beautiful. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need to prepare any type of food. The bathrooms were great with nice tile showers and two shower heads and a very nice separate tub. The entire condo was clean and well organized. We loved the lanai and spent a great deal of time sitting out there admiring the beautifully landscaped grounds. My two sons certainly enjoyed the pool and hot tub even though the ocean and great beach was so close. They seemed to spend all day in the ocean and the evenings in the pool and hot tub.

We are glad we booked directly through 'Villas at Poipu Kai' because they had management on site which were very helpful in printing boarding passes and recommending various activities such as boat and helicopter trips. They also gave us some great ideas on restaurants. The people staying next door to us booked with another company and there was no one available on the property to help them.

I would definitely recommend 'Villas at Poipu Kai' to anyone planning a trip to Kauai. I hope to return often.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.